We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay at the Sugar Mill”
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I stayed a few days after enjoying our family on a bare boat charter for some alone time. We stayed here before about four years ago and both stays were very pleasant. I don't understand how anyone can give this hotel/resort a less than good review.

The rooms are quiet and nicely appointed, the walkways are easy to traverse, and the food is positively stellar! We found all the employees we interacted with to be helpful, nice and very friendly. Sharon is doing a great job running the place! The ladies at the beach grill, Suzanne in particular, are all so nice! The chef even told me how to make the delicious coconut shrimp.

You do need to make reservations at the restaurant, I thought it would be automatic, since we were staying there, but once you know...no problem. We chose a specific table we wanted on the view side of the restaurant and had the most amazing duck I have ever eaten. And, I got to meet the chef and tell him just how wonderful it was.

Get a grip you complainers, we checked out other places afterward just to check on the costs for what we expected and there will be no question, we'll book the Sugar Mill on our next trip. Also, we wanted not to stay in the heart of Road Town, we wanted a more private atmosphere.

Room Tip: Didn't know there is a fitness center...? And we didn't use room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We came to Tortola years ago on a cruise and wanted to visit the area again. We were glad we did.

Its very small and quaint and homey. This is not a large luxury resort (no hot tubs, no fitness center, pool is very small ), so please be warned if you are expecting that, you will be disappointed. The rooms are slightly outdated, but not bad at all. Dinners at the restaurant were excellent. The service level for everything is still excellent, people are friendly and warm and accommodating. Especially considering everyone is on "Caribbean time", we didn't encounter any issues except breakfast which could be served faster in my opinion. Overall, we spent 7 nights here, which I feel is a little long. maybe 5 or 6 would be better.

Be prepared to know what type of vacation you are signing up for when you go to Tortola though. We used this place as a base for taking ferries to other islands and for exploring Tortola. So we didn't spend our days at this hotel, and I wouldn't recommend doing that, as the beach here, while beautiful and nice is not really a layout, hangout all day type of beach.

You need a rental car to get anywhere, there are very few things to do at night in the vicinity of this hotel. The streets on Tortola are not well marked and the tourist map is just not good, so we were always driving around to do anything.

Have the rental car company pick you up at the ferry terminal, do not use a cab. We made the mistake of using a cab one night to drive us to Bananakeet and it was $50 round trip.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank designkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at SM in April 17-20th. Our check in was pretty smooth, and we soon found out that our great hostess works as concierge, bar tender, receptionist. Her name is Theresa, and she managed to do check in, a great rum punch, and dinner resernations all at once.

The hotel has that small boutique feeling, that you won't find on a resort. Plus they also treat you as family. We were explained how restaurant work for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We had to wait until hotel's helper arrived to show us to our room, but with a great rum punch and nice beach view we can't complain.

Our room all the way on top of the hill, with a nice view. No TV, but we didn't miss it. :) Air conditioner did make some really loud and weird noices the first night. We just didn't use it as it was very breezy, screen windows, and nice ceiling fan. Decoration is very tropical, your regular rattan type and tiles. No fancies here, but a great view, welcoming ambiance and overall conditions are good.

Breakfast was great, mango pancakes yummm, dinner was good also. I think breakfast is priced accordingly, dinner a bit expensive but still good. I would not say overpriced because lobster dish was $40, and this is average price for lobster. There are other good restaurants in Tortola, but you do need to have at least one meal at the SM. The chocolate cake was really awsome.

One night at their lobby/reception area there was a sort of one man orchestra, who played all type of songs. Very entertaining and relaxing.

I would recommend this hotel for couples looking for some relax ambiance, nearby places, and great hostess.

Room Tip: If you want a great view, ask for rooms at top of hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beach_Orquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Thanks to everyone at the Sugar Mill for such a warm welcome on our recent visit to Tortola. We were greeted by the General Manager and Operations manager and felt very special. I am looking forward to going back there soon.

Room Tip: Only visited the beach front restaurant so can't comment on the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent two nights here after chartering a sailboat for a week. We had all intentions of enjoying other spots on the island, but had no desire to leave after we arrived. Service was great, from the point of making a reservation (Evroy was so responsive and courteous), to the wonderful attentiveness and care provided by the servers during breakfast, lunch and dinner. Loved the world-class dinner menu that changes daily. The 7-year olds loved the pool and beach, and especially the location of the beach bar!! Thank you Sugar Mill for rounding out our vacation with special memories. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorenroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We spent 6 wonderful nights at the Sugar Mill and did not want to leave. The service we received from the moment we arrived to the moment we left exceeded our expectations. Everyone on staff at the Sugar Mill was professional, friendly and very accommodating. We noticed that we were not exclusive to the wonderful hospitality. All guests were treated to 5 star service from all staff. We felt appreciated and welcome. Our room was spacious & very clean with a very comfortable King size bed. High ceilings with a ceiling fan. We rarely used the air conditioner. The tropical breezes and sounds of the waves lulled us to sleep every night. The kitchenette had a microwave, small fridge and coffee maker. A nice sized bathroom with a walk in shower. The accommodations are separate from the historic mill. They are all new and very well maintained but offer the same charm as the mill. All very unique private and quiet. We had amazing views of Jost Van Dyke and other surround BVI islands. The sunsets were spectacular. We purchased the meal plan for breakfast and dinners. Every meal was amazing!!! The restaurant has a large selection of excellent wines at very reasonable prices. We recommend taking the meal plan. You will not find a better restaurant on the island. The restaurant is often visited by celebrities - Jimmy Buffett, Kathy Lee Gifford, Peter Jennings to name a few. I will be posting another review on the restaurant. The grounds are filled with tropical foliage found on the island that is well maintained by grounds keeping staff. The pool was crystal clear, pool decks and chairs were constantly cleaned. Two comfortable hammocks are found in the pool area. Large beach towels provided. I loved relaxing laying in the hammock while sipping one of the many wonderful drinks prepared by the staff. The beach was raked every morning. Good wifi available for free around the property made it easy for us to communicate with our family at home via FaceTime on our iPads. The beach restaurant has a good selection of choices for lunch. We had a few delicious cheeseburgers and salads enjoying the view. Our plan included a 3 day car rental. We appreciated the convenience of having the car prearranged for us. The car was new and clean from National. We enjoyed exploring the island and beaches by car. Our favourite spots were Cane Garden Bay and Smugglers beaches. We had lunch one day at Pussers @ Soper's Hole. We enjoyed eating lunch watching the boats in the marina. We also shopped in the boutique stores and found some great souvenirs. We are confused by the comments by "Peitro 1961" and "Deborah T". The Sugar Mill is a historical site dating back to around 1640. It's laughable that "Peitro" said that it needs "updating". Pietro and Deborah should choose a large All Inclusive Resort with swim up bar in Cancun for their future vacation instead of a hotel that has been awarded the high distinctions the Sugar Mill has. The Sugar Mill is Fodor’s choice hotel for Tortola, it was named "One of the Twelve Most Romantic Dining Rooms in the World" by Concierge.com , one of the "Top 10 Hotels in the Caribbean” by a Condé Nast Traveler readers’ poll. We have travelled to many places in the world. The Sugar Mill exceeded our expectations. Please take the time to read all of the 5 star reviews posted on trip advisor for a accurate reviews. Thank you Sharon and all the employees at the Sugar Mill! We have wonderful memories from an amazing vacation. We left saying goodbye to new friends. We will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. We had second floor room with spectacular views. The resort is very quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canepalmbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Lovely studio type room with refrig and microwave. Spacious and open accommodations with fantastic ocean views of the surf. Bathroom was quite large with double sinks and walk in shower. Perfect spot after a sailing vacation. The small sandy beach has lounge chairs and covered tables. The reef is easily accessible for snorkeling. Small lunch restaurant sits right on the beautiful beach. Breakfast and dinner restaurant are in the historical building built with cobblestones. Food is wonderful! If you are here on a Friday night be sure to see if they have Anegada lobster on the menu. The best part for us was the hammock on the balcony which we greatly enjoyed. Listening to the surf and watching the surfers was amazing. We should have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Higher floor for fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJaneSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
9.1 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
1.6 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
4.2 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
133 reviews
9.4 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Address: | Apple Bay, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
#1 Spa Hotel in Tortola
Price Range: £184 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sea side boutique hotel with a world standard restaurant. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. All our rooms have balconies or terraces and panoramic sea views. From January 2016 our refurbished rooms will include free wi fi, refrigerators, safes, dressing gowns and slippers, iron and board, hairdryers, flat screen TVs , mobile device charging points, luxurious new european bedding and new tropical designer furniture. We have on site the BVI's Number One fine dining restaurant offering fresh lobsters, succulent steaks, crispy belly pork, rack of lamp, scallops in champagne sauce and other mouth watering fare served in the dining room which has been restored from the Rum House of a 400 year old sugar mill. We also have a casual beach restaurant right alongside the hotel. Our small secluded beach offers luxurious loungers and umbrellas with bar and snack service right at your bedside. Alternatively our fresh water circular pool is set among swaying palm trees with a help your self honour bar. Check out our new for 2016 our Five Star All Inclusive option. Everything you need for a perfect vacation at one fixed price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and West Indies so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing