We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome unwind in the BVI!!”
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Mill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We recently flew to Tortola to take a 7-day sailing charter with 2 families (8 total--4 adults, 4 kids) & wanted to fly in early to spend two nights in Tortola to unwind and get ready for the trip...we chose the Sugar Mill based on reviews here....What a perfect choice! From the minute we arrived, we were in heaven...such a unique, beautiful property...very well-maintained...old-world charm, beautiful foliage & comfortable rooms. We had two families and two large rooms overlooking the pool with connecting large front porch where we could eat together & hang out. Each had its own enclosed outdoor shower which was amazing! The kids loved the pool. Their Beaches restaurant/bar across the street had great lunch...with their own little cove for great snorkeling...we felt like we were on our own private island. Dinner in the main restaurant had great ambience & delicious food! (Use bug spray before dinner --it's open air building--as the sand fleas this time of year will get your legs) This was the perfect place for a couple days of unwinding. The only negative was that it was far away from other activities (which we didn't care about), but if you are staying for a week, you would want a rental car or be prepared for lots of taxi rides ($$) to other areas of Tortola. This is on the West end of the island. We will definitely be back on our next trip!

Room Tip: Rooms with outdoor showers overlooking pool are great. And they have small kitchen.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCTraveler769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
There are newer reviews for Sugar Mill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Sugar Mill Hotel and were very happy there. We had a lovely room with a true island feel and a beautiful view of the ocean. It was a bit of a climb to our 3rd floor room so a lower floor might be a better choice for someone not particularly fit. The pool was pretty and had hammocks around for a little siesta. The beach was small but very nice and not at all crowded when we were there in June.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed our two night stay before moving on to Virgin Gorda. If you want glitz and infinity pools this isn't for you, but for relaxing and enjoying the island life it was perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Unfortunately, my wife and I were only able to spend one night at Sugar Mill in June. Wow, what a terrific place! The rooms are very nice and spacious, the staff is tremendous and the view is great. It is quiet, peaceful and very relaxing. I would not hesitate to stay there again. In fact, we would go out of our way to do so!

Room Tip: We had pool view and it was great. I don't think there is a bad room on site though.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Sugar Mill in April/May, for a 2 week mixture of work and holiday. It was fantastic.
We decided to stay there based on Trip Advisor reviews and personal recommendation, and were not disappointed. The hotel is the most relaxed and friendly, but also professionally run, place in which you could wish to stay. It is not a uniform 5 star hotel at all, but very individual, and that is what gives it it's particular charm.
Having driven all over the island, we realised what a lovely area Carrot Bay is, very different, and well worth the drive from the airport. Returning each day was a renewed thrill.
Sugar Mill is in a wonderful location, the rooms,food, facilities, pool and staff made our first visit to these special islands so memorable. The breakfasts served overlooking the bay whilst watching pelicans diving into the sea were for me the best part of the day -with such a deliciously varied and superbly presented menu. I never did catch the perfect dive with my camera though - so need to return!
We stayed in one of the deluxe suite for 4 nights, with lovely ocean views and large airy room, then for the rest of our stay in the pool suite 103, with lovely veranda and 'outside' shower. Both beds were very comfortable.
(My review for the excellant restaurant is written separately.)

Room Tip: Deluxe studios are a short walk up a path, and have very good ocean views with high ceiling and an a...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kingedward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My wife and I are just back after spending 10 days here. The Sugar Mill is thankfully about as far from the hustle and bustle of Road Town as you can get. When you get there you're rewarded with a view of Jost Van Dyke that is fantastic. Our unit was very large. It had a full kitchen, a living room, extra large bedroom and a balcony with chairs, table and even a hammock.

Although the beach at the Sugar Mill is fairly small and close to the road, they do have a nice lunch restaurant on the beach with chairs. The Sugar Mill's location is ideal for exploring the island. It's a short 15 mins drive to Cane Garden Bay (Great beach), 5 mins to Long Bay, and 15 mins to the ferries at West End.

The service is excellent. They remember your name and are quick to offer well timed suggestions. Such as; extra beach towels, snorkeling gear, flippers, directions, ferry schedules and much more.

Their restaurant is the best on the island and priced accordingly. However; the food is high quality, prepared exquisitely, with again that great service, and is worth a visit or two.

Room Tip: Get the deluxe villa. Large with great views
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CaptainPismo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I like this hotel is very nice and The rooms are comfortable !!
The restaurant is very good.Try the chocolate decadence... Good
!
Great service!
Nice view.
Beach in front Just cross infecte street!.
Big bathroom!
Lots of mosquitos!
Also some cute lizards...

Stayed: June 2014
4  Thank Maiu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is outstanding and exceeded our expectations. After I booked the room, the staff responded promptly to my emails and arranged everything we needed prior to our stay, including a taxi at the airport and cheese/fruit plates since we arrived after the restaurant was closed. Although this hotel is far from the airport, it is still cheaper than taking the ferry from St. Thomas. We loved our poolside room, the secluded beach, the inviting pool, the friendly and helpful staff, and the food. We had dinner two nights in the restaurant, and the food was amazing. If you want somewhere to chill out, this is the place. We took a ferry from Road Town to Virgin Gorda to the Baths one day, and we walked to a nearby restaurant and mini-mart one night (Sebastian's on the Beach). It is expensive to take taxis around the island, but we were happy swimming and snorkelling right there. An option is to rent a car if you want to venture out more. We would highly recommend the Sugar Mill for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProfDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
9.1 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
388 reviews
0.8 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
733 reviews
11.0 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Address: | Apple Bay, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range: £230 - £539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sea side boutique hotel with a world standard restaurant. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. All our rooms have balconies or terraces and panoramic sea views. From January 2016 our refurbished rooms will include free wi fi, refrigerators, safes, dressing gowns and slippers, iron and board, hairdryers, flat screen TVs , mobile device charging points, luxurious new european bedding and new tropical designer furniture. We have on site the BVI's Number One fine dining restaurant offering fresh lobsters, succulent steaks, crispy belly pork, rack of lamp, scallops in champagne sauce and other mouth watering fare served in the dining room which has been restored from the Rum House of a 400 year old sugar mill. We also have a casual beach restaurant right alongside the hotel. Our small secluded beach offers luxurious loungers and umbrellas with bar and snack service right at your bedside. Alternatively our fresh water circular pool is set among swaying palm trees with a help your self honour bar. Check out our new for 2016 our Five Star All Inclusive option. Everything you need for a perfect vacation at one fixed price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and West Indies so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing