We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sugar Mill Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Frenchmans(West End)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elm Beach Suites(Road Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Icis Villas(Tortola)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
653 results
Traveller rating
545
80
19
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
80
19
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool suitenew ownersoutdoor showerplantation houseall inclusive packagejost van dykebeach restaurantsmall beachcocktail partylunch restaurantsuzettechef bernardboutique hotelpicnic lunchfellow guestsisland tourday sail
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
310 - 315 of 653 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We recently flew to Tortola to take a 7-day sailing charter with 2 families (8 total--4 adults, 4 kids) & wanted to fly in early to spend two nights in Tortola to unwind and get ready for the trip...we chose the Sugar Mill based on reviews here....What a perfect choice! From the minute we arrived, we were in heaven...such a unique, beautiful property...very well-maintained...old-world charm, beautiful foliage & comfortable rooms. We had two families and two large rooms overlooking the pool with connecting large front porch where we could eat together & hang out. Each had its own enclosed outdoor shower which was amazing! The kids loved the pool. Their Beaches restaurant/bar across the street had great lunch...with their own little cove for great snorkeling...we felt like we were on our own private island. Dinner in the main restaurant had great ambience & delicious food! (Use bug spray before dinner --it's open air building--as the sand fleas this time of year will get your legs) This was the perfect place for a couple days of unwinding. The only negative was that it was far away from other activities (which we didn't care about), but if you are staying for a week, you would want a rental car or be prepared for lots of taxi rides ($$) to other areas of Tortola. This is on the West end of the island. We will definitely be back on our next trip!

Room Tip: Rooms with outdoor showers overlooking pool are great. And they have small kitchen.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCTraveler769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Sugar Mill Hotel and were very happy there. We had a lovely room with a true island feel and a beautiful view of the ocean. It was a bit of a climb to our 3rd floor room so a lower floor might be a better choice for someone not particularly fit. The pool was pretty and had hammocks around for a little siesta. The beach was small but very nice and not at all crowded when we were there in June.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed our two night stay before moving on to Virgin Gorda. If you want glitz and infinity pools this isn't for you, but for relaxing and enjoying the island life it was perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Unfortunately, my wife and I were only able to spend one night at Sugar Mill in June. Wow, what a terrific place! The rooms are very nice and spacious, the staff is tremendous and the view is great. It is quiet, peaceful and very relaxing. I would not hesitate to stay there again. In fact, we would go out of our way to do so!

Room Tip: We had pool view and it was great. I don't think there is a bad room on site though.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Sugar Mill in April/May, for a 2 week mixture of work and holiday. It was fantastic.
We decided to stay there based on Trip Advisor reviews and personal recommendation, and were not disappointed. The hotel is the most relaxed and friendly, but also professionally run, place in which you could wish to stay. It is not a uniform 5 star hotel at all, but very individual, and that is what gives it it's particular charm.
Having driven all over the island, we realised what a lovely area Carrot Bay is, very different, and well worth the drive from the airport. Returning each day was a renewed thrill.
Sugar Mill is in a wonderful location, the rooms,food, facilities, pool and staff made our first visit to these special islands so memorable. The breakfasts served overlooking the bay whilst watching pelicans diving into the sea were for me the best part of the day -with such a deliciously varied and superbly presented menu. I never did catch the perfect dive with my camera though - so need to return!
We stayed in one of the deluxe suite for 4 nights, with lovely ocean views and large airy room, then for the rest of our stay in the pool suite 103, with lovely veranda and 'outside' shower. Both beds were very comfortable.
(My review for the excellant restaurant is written separately.)

Room Tip: Deluxe studios are a short walk up a path, and have very good ocean views with high ceiling and an airy feel. Pool suite overlooks the pool, the bedroom and sitting rooms are separate and therefore smaller than the deluxe suite, but there is a large veranda and wonderful 'outside' shower.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kingedward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My wife and I are just back after spending 10 days here. The Sugar Mill is thankfully about as far from the hustle and bustle of Road Town as you can get. When you get there you're rewarded with a view of Jost Van Dyke that is fantastic. Our unit was very large. It had a full kitchen, a living room, extra large bedroom and a balcony with chairs, table and even a hammock.

Although the beach at the Sugar Mill is fairly small and close to the road, they do have a nice lunch restaurant on the beach with chairs. The Sugar Mill's location is ideal for exploring the island. It's a short 15 mins drive to Cane Garden Bay (Great beach), 5 mins to Long Bay, and 15 mins to the ferries at West End.

The service is excellent. They remember your name and are quick to offer well timed suggestions. Such as; extra beach towels, snorkeling gear, flippers, directions, ferry schedules and much more.

Their restaurant is the best on the island and priced accordingly. However; the food is high quality, prepared exquisitely, with again that great service, and is worth a visit or two.

Room Tip: Get the deluxe villa. Large with great views
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CaptainPismo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews