We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquility with wonderful Caribbean views”
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Mill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquility with wonderful Caribbean views”
Reviewed 10 January 2006

Checking into this wonderful, charming hotel, I felt my blood pressure drop 20 points. What a peaceful, relaxing hotel for a quiet tropical getaway!!!

The staff was extraordinarily friendly and sincerely wanted to please my wife and me. They're very well trained and most have been there a number of years. The restaraunt is located in a 300+ year old sugar mill and the chef provides a variety of very good meals at reasonable prices. All hotel rooms, dining room and lobby are tastefully decorated with the watercolors of the owner who has a wonderful eye for Caribbean landscapes. Most hotel rooms seem to have outstanding views of Jost Van Dyke. The pool is adequate and the beach is small but well maintained. Snorkeling is OK, but not great, off the beach.

We would recommend this very highly to couples. Looking forward to our next visit to the Sugar Mill Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    79
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
79
414
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 December 2005

If you're expecting pampering and every amenity, the Sugar Mill is not the place for you. However, if you want stunning architecture, comfortable and clean rooms, a small, boutique feel and a retreat to revitalize yourself, then make the Sugar Mill your home.

Not being a big fan of tropic locations, I had low expectations when my wife and I checked into the Sugar Mill. We arrived in the evening, right as the kitchen was closing (9pm) and they held it open for us, even providing time to unload into our room, etc.

The next few days were great. Like I stated before, it was a retreat. Almost vacant beach, no overcrowding at the small hotel, amazing food.

While still not a fan of hot weather, I give the Sugar Mill my highest compliment in saying that I'd come back again. A true revealation.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD/DC Area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2005

We just returned from our second trip to Tortola and a repeat stay at the Sugar Mill. The 4 night package made a long weekend get-away very "do-able". Tortola and the surrounding bvi is an amazing and absolutely beautiful place. The Sugar Mill can act as your personal day trip and activity planner or leave you to your own peaceful stay. The food, as always, is absolutely amazing and a must! The staff are very friendly and there to help you in any way they can. The addition of internet availability at the main bar makes it easy to stay connected at home, if need be. The location of the Sugar Mill, 20 minutes by car to Road Town, offers a great spot for general island exploration and access to the West End Ferries, Soper's Hole and The Jolly Roger (good food on its own) and "easy" routes to Cane Garden Bay, Brewer's Bay, Smuggler's Cove, Sky World and other amazingly beautiful sites. The Sugar Mill makes a great home-base while taking in everything the bvi has to offer; Jost Van Dyke, Virgin Gorda (the Baths AND Savannah Bay), Anegada, Peter & Norman Island, Soper's Hole, Road Town, and East end with its gorgeous Long Bay, Trellis Bay and The Last Resort. The knowledge of the Sugar Mill staff with the rest of the bvi is also invaluable and has surely made our trips more enjoyable than they would have been otherwise. I have seen some focus on the sizes of the rooms and pool as well as the beach at the Sugar Mill. Frankly, if you plan to go to Tortola and stay in your room and at your hotel pool, save some money and stay at a Holiday Inn Express. Tortola has dozens of beaches to experience and the rooms are clean and comfortable. As for the Sugar Mill's pool, it is perfect; we enjoyed a few late night swims all by ourselves - after enjoying the unbelievable, indescribable, absolutely mouth-watering Key-Lime Pie. We will be back without question. Thanks again Sugar Mill

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RIMMILLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2005

My husband I stayed here for 10 days last year. We decided upon the Sugar Mill as it looked small and cute and the reviews were all pretty good. We stayed in a double room that was simply furnished with a view of mainly the busy road and a little of the sea if you craned your neck! The bar and restaurant were Ok but lacked any kind of atmosphere and the food was over-rated. Some of the staff were helpful and the up keep of the hotel in general was OK. The pool area is small and the 'pool bar' was never open. If a beach is important then you need to consider that this really has no beach and the beach side restaurant is very simple and the service is quite slow and has limited hours. I need to point out that this is probably the best hotel on Tortola which is quite underdeveloped therefore lacks any kind of sophistication but it depends what you are after. I wasn't very impressed with The Sugar Mill and woudl not consider visting again.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SG1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.6 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
3.7 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
11.0 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Property: Sugar Mill Hotel
Address: | Apple Bay, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sea side boutique hotel with a world standard restaurant. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. All our rooms have balconies or terraces and panoramic sea views. From January 2016 our refurbished rooms will include free wi fi, refrigerators, safes, dressing gowns and slippers, iron and board, hairdryers, flat screen TVs , mobile device charging points, luxurious new european bedding and new tropical designer furniture. We have on site the BVI's Number One fine dining restaurant offering fresh lobsters, succulent steaks, crispy belly pork, rack of lamp, scallops in champagne sauce and other mouth watering fare served in the dining room which has been restored from the Rum House of a 400 year old sugar mill. We also have a casual beach restaurant right alongside the hotel. Our small secluded beach offers luxurious loungers and umbrellas with bar and snack service right at your bedside. Alternatively our fresh water circular pool is set among swaying palm trees with a help your self honour bar. Check out our new for 2016 our Five Star All Inclusive option. Everything you need for a perfect vacation at one fixed price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and West Indies so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing