We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most magical places ever!”
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Mill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“One of the most magical places ever!”
Reviewed 18 May 2010

My husband I went to the Sugar Mill Hotel on Tortola for our honeymoon, and it exceeded all of our highest expectations. It is a quick 10 minute taxi ride from the West End ferry dock, and from the moment we arrived, every last detail is accounted for. The rooms are clean and beautiful, the outdoor stone showers are INCREDIBLE and the location exudes relaxation and bliss!

The restaurant was amazing, too. The breakfast terrace was serene and gorgeous, the lunch cabana on the beach is perfect, but the most incredible part of the dining experience was dinner. The menu changes every night and each course and meal is better than the next! I promise you that you'll find it unique and amazing!

A few pieces of advice for people reading this review:
1.) Since meals are served at set times, I would recommend picking up some drinks and snacks from a grocery store before getting to the Sugar Mill;
2.) We went sailing on the White Squall 2 and it was the MOST incredible day! I definitely recommend this boat over all other companies!
3.) Go to Serenity Spa in West End. It's a small spa, but the massages we got were awesome and it was very relaxing!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACJ1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    79
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
79
414
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Intimate hotel which exceeded our expectations with beautiful caribbean decor in the rooms and common areas. Extremely well maintained rooms and property with everything you could want at your fingertips (especially the little things like drying racks for bathing suits on the large porch to our room and basins to wash the sand off your feet). We were also automatically upgraded to a pool suite with separate bedroom and living room/bar area without having to ask. The roomy outdoor shower was like bathing in a tropical garden - really unique experience!

Dinner definately lived up to the reviews we read - it was an excellent meal, well paced to allow the time to enjoy the meal to it fullest from appetizer to dessert. We were amazed that after checking in and seeing some of the staff once, when we arrived for dinner they greeted us by name. Lots of places to sit, relax and enjoy the beautiful views from the porches at the main building, your room or the pool. Nice size swimable beach with bar & food. Watching the pelicans dive for their dinner was a new experience while in the BVI.

The Sugar Mill has to be the best on the island and we will definately be staying there again next time we visit.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buncopam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

this place is in a lovely setting, has a pool and their own private beach. Their restaurant is one of the best on the island and the cafe on the beach is excellent. The pictures I've seen on the Web and in their own brochures don't do it justice. The staff was exceptionally friendly!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLovell53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Just back from 6 nights at the Sugar Mill.first time visitor,the staff from the back office to restaurant were all friendly and very helpful. Arranged day sails. The dinners were excellent and Chef Klausen is creative.Try lunch at the beach.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChucksterRhinebeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Me and my Wife have been in Sugar Mill Hotel during our Honeymoon.... simply amazing! The Hotel has a great location - oceanfront - on the NW coast, in Apple Bay. It's a charming place and the restaurant offers a delicious cuisine, a kind of french fusion. If you want to stay out of the crowd in a really caribbean boutique Hotel, well, that's the right place. The Staff is always kind and helpful, offering a lot of different activities. On arrival our deluxe room has been upgraded to an oceanfront suite with no extra charges: It was a woderful surprise.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucasMilan_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anguilla, British West Indies
Level Contributor
161 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Our single night stay was not nearly enough but we were grateful for the brief visit and felt at home immediately. The pool suite was beautifully designed, had lovely, interesting, sea, island, day/night views through gentle palms and was immaculate, meticulously, thoughtfully furnished so that we lacked absolutely nothing. Showering outdoors with complete privacy under the gorgeous sky was, of course, a delight. If you want to avoid overrun beaches, loud and possibly obnoxious tourists and you seek a quiet, intimate, low key experience, "real" Caribbean experience, this is the place!

We opted for the meal plan and filled our empty stomachs with more than ample servings of fresh, carefully prepared feasts for our meals. The competent, friendly staff and a professional chef who catered to dietary needs made dining fun and easy. A romantic dinner replete with our favorite champagne was a perfect way to end our BVI explorations.

We didn't have an opportunity to enjoy the beach across the street as having only 24 hours on island meant we wanted to utilize our time through exploration. As we checked out various beaches and accommodations we had considered, particularly on the north coast, we were so VERY grateful that we had chosen Sugar Mill. Staying elsewhere would have been a huge disappointment and a dreadful way to have ended our vacation.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
142 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights before going on a 1-week yacht charter through the BVI. We had never been to BVI and wanted to explore Tortola. We had planned to cycle around the island but it turned out to be a holiday and all the stores were closed, which turned out just as well because the island roads are very narrow and winding with steep hills, crazy drivers, and they drive on the wrong side of the road (British). Just riding in a taxi was scary enough. The hotel is about a 1/2 hr interesting drive from the airport. It was so nice to get to this lovely little hotel on the water. It's really beautiful and has its own little sandy beach. Our room wasn't quite ready for us so we relaxed in the hammocks by the pool after flying all night. It was the slow season so there weren't many people staying there so it was extra nice. We had a "pool suite" and it was a very, very nice room on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool and out over the ocean to the islands beyond. We had our own private deck with a table and chairs and a fan overhead. You walked into a sitting room with couch and chairs on one side and a bar, stools, and fridge and sink on the other side and a fan overhead. Through a door was the bedroom with a king bed, another fan, and air-conditioning that kept it really cool for sleeping. We had to keep the bedroom door closed so that the room would stay cool and it felt fantastic whenever we came inside because it was smoking hot and humid outside all the time. We had all the fans going so there was always a lovely breeze but the air-conditioning was necessary for sleeping. Off the bedroom was a nice big bathroom and the highlight was the private outdoor shower. At one end of the bathroom was a door leading to this rock-walled shower with plants growing and the sun shining in. It was spectacular.
We found the service at the Sugar Mill to be fantastic. All the staff were so friendly and so helpful. The bar area was really attractive and we had a nice dinner in the restaurant on the 2nd night when the rest of our cruise group arrived. On the 1st night we walked a short distance to another nice restaurant (Sebastian's) on the beach. We passed the famous Bomba's bar but it was the slow season so it was pretty quiet. The hotel pool was really nice and we particularly enjoyed the beach. We were completely entertained watching the pelicans and other diving birds dive-bombing the fish.
The island itself is quite undeveloped. We went into Roadtown to look around and there are some shops and restaurants but nothing special. Restaurant service throughout BVI was not great but the Sugar Mill Hotel gives great service. We were glad we picked this hotel for our 1st 2 nights in BVI but we wouldn't have wanted to stay longer or we would have been bored. We need more activity. This was the nicest place that we saw on Tortola and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank h0lym0ly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.6 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
3.7 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
11.0 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Property: Sugar Mill Hotel
Address: | Apple Bay, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sea side boutique hotel with a world standard restaurant. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. All our rooms have balconies or terraces and panoramic sea views. From January 2016 our refurbished rooms will include free wi fi, refrigerators, safes, dressing gowns and slippers, iron and board, hairdryers, flat screen TVs , mobile device charging points, luxurious new european bedding and new tropical designer furniture. We have on site the BVI's Number One fine dining restaurant offering fresh lobsters, succulent steaks, crispy belly pork, rack of lamp, scallops in champagne sauce and other mouth watering fare served in the dining room which has been restored from the Rum House of a 400 year old sugar mill. We also have a casual beach restaurant right alongside the hotel. Our small secluded beach offers luxurious loungers and umbrellas with bar and snack service right at your bedside. Alternatively our fresh water circular pool is set among swaying palm trees with a help your self honour bar. Check out our new for 2016 our Five Star All Inclusive option. Everything you need for a perfect vacation at one fixed price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and West Indies so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing