We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Romantic Setting”
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Mill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Romantic Setting”
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Stayed at The Sugar Mill for our 10th anniversary and we were not disappointed. The room was spacious and comfortable and the staff was fantastic. The restaurant, bar and pool were fantastic and the hotel was great for romance, but would also be great for small families as well.

On our next visit to the BVIs, we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    79
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
80
418
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We just returned from 7 nights at the Sugar Mill Hotel on Tortola, BVI. We stayed in the deluxe room on the second floor #2-121 and the view out our window was amazing. The room looked freshly painted and the decor was tastefully done. I'm a bit of a freak when it comes to cleaning and I couldn't find a speck of dirt anywhere. The room was spacious and had pretty island watercolor prints on the walls painted by the owner. It was a very comfortable king bed (pillows were flat and not so comfortable!) and had 2 very large side tables, a 3 drawer bureau, a vanity, and large closet with plenty of hangers. The room also included an iron and ironing board which we didn't use because the tropical air just steamed out the wrinkles! The room has A/C and a ceiling fan which kept the room and us very comfortable. The large bathroom was nice and clean and modern with a large open tiled walkin shower. The new soft fluffy towels were awesome. They provide large beach towels everyday, too. We had a kitchenette that included a small refrigerator, a microwave, toaster, coffee maker, and a small sink. The cupboard had an assortment of glasses, dishes, pots, and utensils. Each day our coffee, tea bags, sugar and creamers were replenished. The room also has a small round table with 2 comfortable rattan chairs where we sat and had our coffee and toast each morning. There's a large balcony with 2 chairs and small table. The view is Jost Van Dyke in the distance and the sounds are the ocean waves! We could also see a portion of the large, deep, clean, circular pool with patio area. The staff is very friendly and hospitable. We had done alot of leg work prior to the trip (reading TripAdvisor of course!) so we didn't really ask for any assistance with our day trips and excursions. We ate only once here-we had breakfast our first morning and the food was good and of course the diningroom and atmosphere was divine. I guess we just got busy exploring other areas of the island with our rented car which is a must on this very hilly island. The roads are narrow, steep, windy, and you drive on the left. The recent hurricaine and rains left many potholes to maneuver!
Within a couple of days of our stay we realized that we'd made the best decision in choosing our hotel- The Sugar Mill was excellent!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

I have been coming to the BVI regularly since 1983. I have visited and stayed at many hotels here. The Sugar Mill is hands down the best in the BVI. It is sophisticated, peaceful and beautiful. The rooms are spacious, bright and extremely comfortable. The hotel personnel go well out of their way to make you feel special. And I can't forget to mention the restaurant - one of the best, if not the best, on Tortola. There is no way you would be disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wjurewitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel, in
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We recently spent 4 nights in Tortola at the Sugar Mill. We have traveled quite a bit in the Caribbean and were so happy to discover the Sugar Mill. The service was excellent. Our room was very nice and comfortable with a small living area and separate bedroom. The pool was very enjoyable at the end of a hot day. We thoroughly enjoyed the Sugar Mill restaurant; eating breakfast and dinner there each day. A varied menu with excellent food. The staff was very friendly. This hotel is definitely on both the recommend and return list.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnysail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We just returned from our trip to the BVI. The Sugar Mill was lovely, set in lush surroundings with friendly and efficient service. Over five days we enjoyed many evening meals in the hotel restaurant because the food was excellent. No shortage of gourmet selections here, there were new and creative specials every night. A big plus was having our rental car brought to us at the hotel, the concierge arranged this for us and saved us a lot of time. This hotel is close to Sage Mountain if you like to hike, and about 30 mins from Road Town if you want to explore other dining or stock your own kitchenette. The Bamba shack is a short walk down the road and small grocers are close by for snacks, beer, and sunblock. The balcony view here is fantastic we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAwanderer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We stayed with Sugar Mill our first three nights of our three week trip to the British Virgin Islands and our last night in Tortola. We have traveled quite a bit over the years and I can say that the Staff of Sugar Mill is among the best. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very quaint and comfortable, with spectacular views. The restaurant is exceptional. The service and food is the best in the BVI. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BVIsailing53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2010

I stayed at The Sugar Mill while conducting business in the BVI recently. My wife and I quite enjoyed our stay there. Normally, when I go to Tortola, I stay at Long Bay Resort, just down the street. I think The Sugar Mill will be my new first choice. The service was the best you can expect for the Virgin Islands. They were extremely accommodating and helped us arrange many of our activities to keep us occupied in our free time.

Our room provided us with an amazing view of the ocean. We also enjoyed relaxing by the pool. The beach was nice, but the constant sound of cars and trucks passing made it hard to relax. Aside from that, it was a peaceful place to watch the sun set and on clear days we could see many of the surrounding islands.

We ate most of our meals at the hotel restaurant. It is considered one of the best on the island. I can see why, After eating at The Dove and Jolly Roger on our first two nights, we ate the hotel on the third night, and every night after that. The menu is not as big as most places, but it changes every night. My favorite was the short ribs, which were done with a caribbean twist. My wife is a vegetarian and each night she was provided with a new option, which was nice. The service at the restaurant was also very good.

If you are ever in Tortola and are looking for a nice quiet place to stay, be sure to check out this little hidden gem.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virgintraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
9.1 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
282 reviews
1.6 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
0.8 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
723 reviews
11.0 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Property: Sugar Mill Hotel
Address: | Apple Bay, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sea side boutique hotel with a world standard restaurant. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. All our rooms have balconies or terraces and panoramic sea views. From January 2016 our refurbished rooms will include free wi fi, refrigerators, safes, dressing gowns and slippers, iron and board, hairdryers, flat screen TVs , mobile device charging points, luxurious new european bedding and new tropical designer furniture. We have on site the BVI's Number One fine dining restaurant offering fresh lobsters, succulent steaks, crispy belly pork, rack of lamp, scallops in champagne sauce and other mouth watering fare served in the dining room which has been restored from the Rum House of a 400 year old sugar mill. We also have a casual beach restaurant right alongside the hotel. Our small secluded beach offers luxurious loungers and umbrellas with bar and snack service right at your bedside. Alternatively our fresh water circular pool is set among swaying palm trees with a help your self honour bar. Check out our new for 2016 our Five Star All Inclusive option. Everything you need for a perfect vacation at one fixed price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and West Indies so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing