We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet little hotel with lots of character”
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Mill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Had wonderful stay for first time visit to Tortola. Beach is swimmable with a reef close by with pelicans and brown boobys diving for schools offish. Pool is small but adequate. Rooms are well sized and nice with mini kitchen and complimentary bottle of very nice rum. However the bed linens and pillows need an upgrade. We ate three meals here most days and every meal was fantastic especially the carribbean breakfast of black beans and fried plantains as well as Pete's hot stuff on the cheeseburger and the jerknribs at the beach. Dinner changes nightly and each night was fantastic. Kitchen was very accommodating to my gluten allergy.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnDaRoadAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2011

The Sugar Mill is awesome! Everything was really perfect - the staff was wonderful and genuinely friendly, and were totally prepared for us. Rooms were beautiful and the location is terrific, soft breezes, lovely little beach. The food was to die for. We met alot of really nice people there also - very laid back and friendly crowd. It appears to be the nicest location in Tortola. We will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancesonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

This hotel is fine, but it is dated. Things are just a little run down, so it's not a 4- or 5-star place. Still, it's cozy and has a nice character and charm that might be nice for a day or two.

Issues for us were things like a broken A/C, sheets that don't fit, an old bed that is not comfortable and made it hard to sleep. The water flow from the showers is a trickle. It was not bad, again, but just needs to be upgraded to modern hotel standards for rooms, pool chairs, etc.

Also, the service was pretty good for BVI (where things tend to be pretty slow), but still at a hotel that wants to be the best in the islands, the service needs to come up a notch or two. We asked for a Taxi to the airport, for example, but instead got a shuttle that was driving around picking up other people instead of just taking us to the airport (and then got ripped of for an extra $10). They should have relationships with a reliable taxi company and not ask guests to share a ride with other resorts when paying taxi fares. Thus the three star.

On a massively positive note, the restaurant was fabulous. You can read my review of that here: http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g147354-d1046399-r96172979-The_Sugar_Mill_Restaurant-Tortola_British_Virgin_Islands.html

Wifi worked well.

For sure spend a dinner at the restaurant, but maybe keep the stay at the hotel short.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gsbdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

My husband and I just returned from a very relaxing 7 nights at the Sugar Mill. Our first trip to the BVIs, the Sugar Mill was an excellent home base for exploring Tortola and plain and simple relaxation. We found a "7 nights for the price of 5" deal on the website, which ended up being a great value for the high season.

Rooms: We spent the first 6 nights in the Plantation House Suites (Room 142) which is on the second floor with a beautiful view of the water. It's right across from the beach (maybe 20 feet?) and we loved listening to the waves as we fell asleep or sitting out in the front porch hammock in the mornings. There is a road between the property and the beach, but it never bothered us. The Plantation House Suites are the closest rooms to the ocean and I think our room had the best view on the entire property. The rooms are as advertised on the website, very clean and comfortable. There is a TV with US cable channels and a small kitchen with a coffee machine and a fridge. The hotel provides bug shampoo and body lotion (no conditioner) and bug spray. The last night we stayed in the Cottage, which is probably the same size as the Plantation House suite with a larger kitchen area and an outdoor shower. The view isn't as good, and its right next to the pool, so less private, but it has a great wrap around porch. Between the two, I think the Plantation House is more special.

Meals: Short and sweet, the food is delicious. We tried breakfast and dinner at the Sugar Mill and lunch down at the beach, and enjoyed every experience. The owners of the hotel were food-writers once upon a time and wanted to make the restaurants stand on their own merits, and they are truly excellent. We noticed that the locals would eat there as well for special occasions, too, which is a good sign! I thought several of the appetizers were memorable, including the pumpkin/black bean soup and the curried lentil soup.

Service: The service is laid back (e.g. the reception is behind the bar) but good. I am five months pregnant and several of the women (Charmaine, Abiola) went out of their way to ask me how I was feeling every day and make me feel right at home. One evening, I was ill (from food we ate off the grounds of the hotel) and they helped my husband take care of me in every way, giving him ice, ginger ale and moral support! They also helped us to plan a day sail on the White Squall to Virgin Gorda, figure out the ferry schedule and arrange a rental car which was delivered right to the hotel ($69/day). Overall, they are hands-off until you need something, and then more than happy to help in any way.

Transportation: Highly recommend you rent a car (but you don't absolutely need it for a short stay). The best beaches are not directly in front of the hotel, unless you are a surfer and then you'll be happy staying in Apple Bay. We thought the best near-by beach was Smuggler's Cove, followed by Long Bay. You could take cabs to get there, but it might add up. The roads can be steep with potholes here and there, but its pretty easy to get around. A car also gives you flexibility to go to Road Town, Soper's Hole (the harbor area) for dinner or groceries or try some of the other nearby restaurants like Banana Keet, which has one of the most spectacular views I've ever seen.

Flights: We flew into St. Thomas and took a ferry from Charlotte Amalie to the West End in Tortola. It was a long day of traveling because the ferry departed late. If you have a layover at the ferry station, you are within walking distance to downtown Charlotte Amalie (four blocks) so you can go do a little shopping/grab lunch. Give the hassle of the ferry, next time, I would consider flying into Tortola through San Juan. There are no direct flights to Tortola from NYC, unfortunately.


Other thoughts:
- The crowd at the Sugar Mill tends towards "older" couples and by that I mean in my late twenties, I was on the young side by a few decades. We wanted something low-key because it was our babymoon, so it didn't bother us. However, if you are looking for more night life, water sports, lots of action, etc, I wouldn't recommend staying here.
- The beach right in front of the hotel is small but definitely very lovely. We enjoyed watching the pelicans nose dive into the water for fish right in front of us. It's a bit rocky, but the waves are mild and it is possible to snorkle right there. Apple Bay, just down the road (5 minutes) is the best beach to surf on the whole island and we enjoyed watching the surfers there morning to night.
- Long Bay is just right down the road, within walking distance if you're in decent shape and can make it over a hill. It's a nice, long, white sand beach with a reef fairly close in for snorkling.
- There is a small market within walking distance near Sebastiens on the beach (between Sugar Mill and Long Bay) that has beer, soda, water, snacks, etc. It's only about a 10 minute walk.

After getting to know Tortola a bit, clearly Sugar Mill is the most charming hotel in the area. I am feeling totally relaxed after a 7 night stay and would recommend it to anyone looking for a laid back, low-key vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elli2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

we spend our christmas holiday at the Sugar Mill Hotel. A fabulous hotel with outstanding staff. Sharon and her team made us very welcome and were happy to organise any trip we wanted. The restaurant serves wonderful food. Not cheap, but if you want peace and tranquility with fabulous views and consistently good food we would thoroughly recommend this hotel. On returning to the UK my husband declared it was the best holiday he has had in years! praise indeed from a demanding middle aged man. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLs58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

After 3 days on St John we arrived in Tortola ready to explore however the Sugar Mill had other plans for us. The room was simple and lovely, the view from the balcony was stunning and the food was great. We went to sleep with the the balcony door open and listened to the waves as there was no need for air conditioning. The staff anticipated and met our every need and we found ourselves hanging out on the little beach in front of the hotel and dining in their restaurants for most of our meals. Although we had a car and did some exploring, we primarily relaxed and for once, came home from a vacation not needing a vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank millede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Stayed at The Sugar Mill for our 10th anniversary and we were not disappointed. The room was spacious and comfortable and the staff was fantastic. The restaurant, bar and pool were fantastic and the hotel was great for romance, but would also be great for small families as well.

On our next visit to the BVIs, we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BMc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
9.1 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
388 reviews
0.8 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
733 reviews
11.0 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Address: | Apple Bay, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range: £84 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sea side boutique hotel with a world standard restaurant. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. All our rooms have balconies or terraces and panoramic sea views. From January 2016 our refurbished rooms will include free wi fi, refrigerators, safes, dressing gowns and slippers, iron and board, hairdryers, flat screen TVs , mobile device charging points, luxurious new european bedding and new tropical designer furniture. We have on site the BVI's Number One fine dining restaurant offering fresh lobsters, succulent steaks, crispy belly pork, rack of lamp, scallops in champagne sauce and other mouth watering fare served in the dining room which has been restored from the Rum House of a 400 year old sugar mill. We also have a casual beach restaurant right alongside the hotel. Our small secluded beach offers luxurious loungers and umbrellas with bar and snack service right at your bedside. Alternatively our fresh water circular pool is set among swaying palm trees with a help your self honour bar. Check out our new for 2016 our Five Star All Inclusive option. Everything you need for a perfect vacation at one fixed price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and West Indies so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing