We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“felt like family!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Long Bay Beach Club
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
St. Thomas VI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“felt like family!”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

found a special for the summer and decided to take the plunge!

from the time we arrived, and we met althea at the front desk everything was super! we got in early, but they prepared our room for us ahead of time and mr. robinson (i later found out he is the manager!) took the time to put our bags on the little golf cart and whisk me up instead of making me wait for someone else. very kind, and he was always somewhere at hand with a smile and checking in to make sure all was going well.

cooled off at the pool bar with cheryl, 'miss sweet and sour'... she's much more sweet, trust! she regaled us with tale after tale, and greeted and kept track of all the visitors at the swim up bar with aplomb. most were there to see HER, having visited year after year. one even checked in via a relative's ipad to tell her that she was sorry she could not make it this time, and she missed her! i don't know what she does to the food but standard grill fare was always delicious. if she did not have it at the bar, she made a call and did her best to satisfy everyone.

speaking of which, any little request you had, if a member of the staff heard you and it was not within his or her purview, they'd just make a call and see what they could do. if it was possible, they made it happen.

realizing that we were there during 'low season' we expected things to be okay but were surprised to find that the grounds were impeccably kept, staff members were by and large cheerful, and service was excellent. the meals at the restaurant were a-one superb as well. from breakfast to lunch to dinner, we were always pleased with the presentation, the service, and the flavors.

we enjoyed the gym (2 of the machines were out of order but there was plenty there and we got our workouts in!), hiking nearby belmont estate, and much lounging and relaxing. we were not there long and mostly relaxed... should we have desired more activity, car rental, island tours and marine excursions were right there on property.

it was a memorable vacation, one i am so glad we took. thanks to the entire staff and management, we felt like family.

Room Tip: decide what you will want to do most, and pick a room near the pool, the beach or in the hillside ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katchandkeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    285
    118
    65
    41
See reviews for
94
365
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

I wouldn't stay here again. It's a very expensive hotel, food mediocre to poor. Staff downright unfriendly. A couple of them did not even answer us at the dinner table. Strange situation there. Drinks were weak and unimpressive. Staff pushed and pushed a time share deal that took up a whole afternoon. Avoid at all costs. Cleaning ladies were downright rude when we left our room late. No, no place for a vacation and very, very overpriced! If you are there, go to the Bomba Shak - that was great fun.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackievanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Long Bay Beach Club, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Long Bay Beach Resort and Villas. We value our guests' feedback as a way to continuously improve our guests' vacation experience. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay.

We host hundreds of very happy guests each week, and we consistently earn excellent reviews. This is because we work very diligently to deliver a relaxing, stress free vacation in a beautiful setting, with some of the friendliest staff in the Caribbean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I just came back from Long Bay Beach resort and let me tell u, I will 100% be returning. My girlfriend and I had the best trip I've ever been on. I've stayed at this resort before but this time it just felt different. We stayed in one of the resort's beach front cabanas and had the most beautiful view you could ever imagine. Every morning we woke up to the sun rising over the water which just priceless to see. Every night to would watch the sun set. All from our own personal deck. Long Bay is located on its own little corner of tortola so its very quiet and romantic. The beach in my opinion is the beach beach on the Island. The water is crystal clear. We saw fish jumping and sea turtles swimming infront of us as we ate breakfast. The food there is amazing aswell. We ate breakfst and dinner there everyday. We even had lunch there a couple of time while swimming. The resort has a fantastic swimming pool with a swim up bar. I could write about this place for hours but Ive gotta go back to work. To sum everything up, with the very friendly staff, extremely clean room, gorgeous beach and views, this is withuot a doubt the best vacation I've ever been on thx to the Long Bay Beach Resort. I will see you again!!!

Room Tip: Beachfront cabana!! View and the sound of the ocean while u sleep. AMAZING!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brett p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Pros: With the exception for the General Manager Hugh, Long Bay has a very friendly and service oriented staff. The remaining staff, especially Fabian, was great! Always willing to help and fulfill our requests. The views are great and overall staying here was a very good experience.

Cons: First - Those damn roosters! They start crowing about 4:00 A.M.! Staff say they are trying to capture them, but I highly doubt that as the traps on site are TIED open! At the swimming pool there were always 4-6 hens with 6-7 chicks each, wandering around "begging" for scrap food. Regarding the G.M. "Hugh", several times we got the impression the he was going out of his way to avoid talking to us. On one of our last days there, at breakfast and within earshot and in front of several other customers, the G.M. in a very loud voice, openly disciplined and berated an employee. Very unprofessional! The facilities were nice, not great but nice. Pool needed cleaning and probably resurfacing. Hot tub was taped off and inaccessible all week. The beach was littered with leaves and twigs from the trees and the beach loungers were either half buried in sand or so filthy no one would want to sit in one. In fact one chair was bouncing around in the surf appearing to be attempting an escape from Long Bay. I would have thought they would have tried to keep the beach much cleaner and as impressive as it could be. The only other gripe we had was lack of eating choices. Breakfast was very good, but we were told by several that the dinners were not very good. The pool bar was nice for lighter fare, but was only open from about noon until 5:30 pm. The only other option is to hail a taxi or rent a car to go to another restaurant on the island.

Room Tip: After walking up 60+ steps to get to room 304 from the lobby, avoid the bed in 304 at all costs! It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boarderpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is our fifth stay at Long Bay. Always extraordinary stay at this resort on a beach front casitas. Excellent services on room and restaurant. The sunset was great. At the end of the road there is a beach called Smugglers Cove. Excellent for enjoy with your companion.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Octavio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My wife and I have stayed at LBB four times and we love it. We chose a beachfront villa with balcony (Unit 592) and with a beautiful view overlooking the sea. Spacious room, large and very clean. Staff was very friendly. Don't miss going up to the pool area at happy hour. Great pool bar and conversation. Restaurant has improved plus you are near several others (by car) to include Sebastian's, Bomba Shack (not for the faint at heart but certainly one to experience) and our all time favorite, The Surgar Mill. Once you stay at LBB, we don't think you'll stay at any other resort on Tortola.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CTK888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This place is really beautiful in every possible way. The site is really spectacular and the grounds are beautifully kept with many lovely flowering plants and trees which I really liked. The staff is very accommodating and friendly so that by the 3rd day we were chatting with waitresses and others who were there to serve us food, drinks etc. Everything is well planned out and I came to enjoy my walks to the 1748 Mill House where breakfast, lunch and dinner were served. At first I was a little disappointed that food wasn't nearer to our rooms but it became a nice little habit to walk over there for a bite. The meal plan is well done : there's a couple of pasta nights (very well prepared) and a night or two of especially local fare and other nights where we could order a la carte off a regular menu so that with those choices you didn't become bored with what the restaurant had to offer. The food was very good. It became a really pleasant experience to sit seaside and look at the beach at different times of the day while waiting for our food or a drink... the location of the restaurant is sweet. If you're into this kind of thing, there are chickens with their baby chicks wandering about especially at the pool - it seems to add a note of both hilarity and charm to an otherwise straight laced spot. One final remark which may sound petty but eventually seemed to matter to both my daughter and I was that the beach which beautiful is also quite rocky. It made hanging out in the water less appetizing for us. Lots of people would not think twice about the rocks in the water but to us, it was less appealing.

Room Tip: I wish I had stayed by the beach but it was more than I wanted to spend. We stayed by the pool which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megmelville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
397 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.0 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
282 reviews
11.8 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
4.4 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Beach Club

Property: Long Bay Beach Club
Address: PO Box 433, BVI, Tortola (Formerly Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Long Bay Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful, mile-long stretches of white sand beach in the Caribbean, Long Bay Beach Club is truly the gem of the British Virgin Islands. Guests enjoy terrific accommodations including Beachfront Rooms and Suites. The resort amenities include the historic beachfront 1748 Restaurant & Bar, tennis, amazing beach and much more. Fantastic location on Tortola's much sought after West End, just minutes from Soper's Hole Marina. Popular excursions include sailing, diving, sightseeing, and shopping. Great restaurants, bars, and nightlife nearby. Perfect for couples, friends, and families. Also ideal for those seeking a land / sea vacation that includes sailing and hotel stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Long Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Tortola
Long Bay Beach Resort And Villas
Long Bay Beach Hotel
Long Bay Beach Resort Villas Tortola
Long Bay Resort Tortola
Long Bay Beach Club Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing