We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quieter part of Tortola”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Long Bay Beach Club
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Long Bay is a great location on the water in a more pristine area of Tortola. Absolutely rent a car (you can do it on-site) because you have to take a cab everywhere and it gets very expensive. There is one walkable restaurant down the road (if you climb take steep hills) and you could even walk further down to the infamous Bomba Shack.

Sand fleas are definitely present, you will get bitten by all kinds of things if you don't wear bug spray. The rooms are clean and tolerable- the beds are a bit old and uncomfortable but all in all the room is comfortable.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a top floor if you are staying on the beach- better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CaribbeanQueen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

If you stay here its easier to rent a car to go into town instead of taking a cab.
The room was big with up to date amenities, including wifi!
Pleasant staff, quiet atmosphere and best beach I saw while I was on Tortola.
I have stayed at other hotels run by Elite Island Resorts and they maintain the same standard of quality no matter what island you go.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dlee4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Long Bay Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Long Bay Beach Resort and Villas. We value our guests' feedback as a way to continuously improve our guests' vacation experience. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay.

We host hundreds of very happy guests each week, and we consistently earn excellent reviews. This is because we work very diligently to deliver a relaxing, stress free vacation in a beautiful setting, with some of the friendliest staff in the Caribbean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights before going sailing and it is certainly a better choice than anything on the South side of the island. Closer to the West End ferry dock than to Roadtown. The beach is really as good as it gets and blissfully uncrowded though swimming access is tricky. There is only one spot on the western side where you can wade in without stepping on rocks but it is doable. Look for the flag.
The resort looks a little worn in spots but quite relaxed and enjoyable nonetheless. I stayed in a deluxe beachfront unit which was fine but it seemed to me that the beachfront cabanas on stilts, which are older and cheaper, had actually a better view and location.
The restaurant offered informal outdoor dining and while not exceptional the food was both good and reasonably priced. For more upscale dining Sugar Mill 15 min walk down the road was recommended. Sebastian's nearby is another spectacularly scenic spot for lunch.
Admittedly, this is not Biras Creek but neither are the prices.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank anachronist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

well situated hotel with friendly staff. food a little 'american' in that it's a quite outmoded health-wise (they don't even squeeze their own juice!), but all in all not completely un-reasonable for this part of the world. the beach is wonderful. an early morning dip at this time of year will almost guarantee the beach to yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kikizaza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

What a treat! I arrived at night, after a rather long journey and I was not looking forward to my stay - Long Bay was suggested when the usual places I stay were booked solid for an international gathering of Rotary Clubs. The $50 taxi ride from the airport [into Road Town is $34 or so] was long and admittedly pretty with lights sparkling on Tortola's hillsides, but as it was dark that was its only attraction [except that I got 'the singing cab driver' who has a lovely voice]. So, up and down, and 45 minutes later, I was ceremoniously handed over to the Long Bay staff who whisked my luggage inside, offered a cooling towel is dispatch journey grime, and the choice of a juice or rum punch.
The rest of the registration was equally painless [registration has been completed by telephone and there was no rewriting of info so common in the Caribbean]. The pleasant receptionist explained the hotel services and supplied a brochure so I could refer to it. The restaurants, the bar, the game rooms, the pool, the transport to other places.
She booked me a cab for my morning appointments, then she had me whisked up a hill behind the reception building to a very pleasant hillside condo unit consisting of a kingsized bed and off to the side a recessed closet with an enclosed toilet and sink on one side and a commodious walk-in shower [rain shower head and lovely tiles] on the other side. A built-in safe is on one closet wall. Three steps down is a smaller open area with a pair of arm chairs and footstools, a bar sink and half size refrigerator. From it one enters the 8 x 8 terrace and looks out at night at some sparkling slights and during the day at the gorgeous bay, some neighboring islands. The accommodations are well built and nicely fitted. Everything is exquisitely clean and shining. The bed is comfortable. The unit has a/c [noiseless and responsive to adjustments by the thermostat] and a ceiling fan. The terrace has a light switch as does the entryway. And the paths leading down to the social areas and on to the beach. Both restaurants are on the sand, one an open air terrace and the other upstairs and a bit more formal [the Italian is labeled 'elegant casual' in the services listing and that sounds right; the open air is totally casual [although in the BVI people do NOT wear bathing suits uncovered except in the water or on the beach - cover ups are fine, though].
You might not want to leave the beach - beautiful white sand one that is long enough for a good walk, planted with enough palm trees for shade is steps [but ecologically helpful steps that keep the dunes] away from the beachfront accommodations.
It is possible there is rude or unfriendly staff about, but I never saw one person without a smile and a kind word.
People are mostly visibly delighted and this means a long walk by the water is often punctuated by a 'Good morning' or 'Good Afternoon' or 'Good Night' [the latter is a greeting here, not a good bye]. And sometimes more conversation. I often offer to take pictures of people who I observe taking pictures of each other and twice this past weekend, couples gushed about how much they really love the place: once on the beach and once at the reception to the spa.
There are beachfront units, quads and single houses as well as the hillside units. Most are owned by people who have the Long Beach rent them out during the times they do not use them. The design is smart, unobjectionable and made for low maintenance - perfectly suited to purpose and climate.

I intend to stay nowhere else when I am not sailing.

Room Tip: choose a hillside unit if you want a panoramic view and do not mind steps. but the beach is gorgeou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank eitravel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

found a special for the summer and decided to take the plunge!

from the time we arrived, and we met althea at the front desk everything was super! we got in early, but they prepared our room for us ahead of time and mr. robinson (i later found out he is the manager!) took the time to put our bags on the little golf cart and whisk me up instead of making me wait for someone else. very kind, and he was always somewhere at hand with a smile and checking in to make sure all was going well.

cooled off at the pool bar with cheryl, 'miss sweet and sour'... she's much more sweet, trust! she regaled us with tale after tale, and greeted and kept track of all the visitors at the swim up bar with aplomb. most were there to see HER, having visited year after year. one even checked in via a relative's ipad to tell her that she was sorry she could not make it this time, and she missed her! i don't know what she does to the food but standard grill fare was always delicious. if she did not have it at the bar, she made a call and did her best to satisfy everyone.

speaking of which, any little request you had, if a member of the staff heard you and it was not within his or her purview, they'd just make a call and see what they could do. if it was possible, they made it happen.

realizing that we were there during 'low season' we expected things to be okay but were surprised to find that the grounds were impeccably kept, staff members were by and large cheerful, and service was excellent. the meals at the restaurant were a-one superb as well. from breakfast to lunch to dinner, we were always pleased with the presentation, the service, and the flavors.

we enjoyed the gym (2 of the machines were out of order but there was plenty there and we got our workouts in!), hiking nearby belmont estate, and much lounging and relaxing. we were not there long and mostly relaxed... should we have desired more activity, car rental, island tours and marine excursions were right there on property.

it was a memorable vacation, one i am so glad we took. thanks to the entire staff and management, we felt like family.

Room Tip: decide what you will want to do most, and pick a room near the pool, the beach or in the hillside ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank katchandkeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

I wouldn't stay here again. It's a very expensive hotel, food mediocre to poor. Staff downright unfriendly. A couple of them did not even answer us at the dinner table. Strange situation there. Drinks were weak and unimpressive. Staff pushed and pushed a time share deal that took up a whole afternoon. Avoid at all costs. Cleaning ladies were downright rude when we left our room late. No, no place for a vacation and very, very overpriced! If you are there, go to the Bomba Shak - that was great fun.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackievanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Long Bay Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Long Bay Beach Resort and Villas. We value our guests' feedback as a way to continuously improve our guests' vacation experience. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay.

We host hundreds of very happy guests each week, and we consistently earn excellent reviews. This is because we work very diligently to deliver a relaxing, stress free vacation in a beautiful setting, with some of the friendliest staff in the Caribbean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
9.9 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
389 reviews
11.8 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
8.1 mi away
Turtle Bay Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
#13 of 25 in Tortola
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Beach Club

Address: PO Box 433, BVI, Tortola (Formerly Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas)
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range: £208 - £512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Long Bay Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful, mile-long stretches of white sand beach in the Caribbean, Long Bay Beach Club is truly the gem of the British Virgin Islands. Guests enjoy terrific accommodations including Beachfront Rooms and Suites. The resort amenities include the historic beachfront 1748 Restaurant & Bar, tennis, amazing beach and much more. Fantastic location on Tortola's much sought after West End, just minutes from Soper's Hole Marina. Popular excursions include sailing, diving, sightseeing, and shopping. Great restaurants, bars, and nightlife nearby. Perfect for couples, friends, and families. Also ideal for those seeking a land / sea vacation that includes sailing and hotel stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Long Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Tortola
Long Bay Beach Resort And Villas
Long Bay Beach Hotel
Long Bay Beach Resort Villas Tortola
Long Bay Resort Tortola
Long Bay Beach Club Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing