We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Beach Front Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Long Bay Beach Club
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Beach Front Resort”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My husband stayed here for 2 nights after a charter. We rented a beachfront Cabana. Check in was smooth and reception had someone bring our luggage to our room, which we very much appreciated. Though the room was not renovated or updated, it was clean and well kept. We had a king size bed, minifridge, coffee maker and a flat screen TV with cable. Overall, we were very pleased with our room. The cabanas are right on the beach, you literally walk down the stairs onto the beach. Long Bay, in my opinion, is one of the most beautiful beaches on the island, so waking up to that each morning was priceless.
We ate at the restaurant once for lunch, once for breakfast and visited the bar one night for a few drinks. The lunch food was just OK, breakfast was good – service was wonderful. Drinks were tasty, but the bartender seemed inexperienced and took a very long time to make our drinks (well beyond the allotted “lsland time”). Not that it bothered us, we weren’t in a rush to go anywhere anyway! Overall, I think the food needs some improvement and that the bar needs to commit to being a real bar…this is vacation…everyone wants cocktail!
We’ve been to Tortola a few times before and we were familiar with Long Bay Beach Resort and had heard about the restructuring it had undergone. I think it’s a huge improvement, I love that they’ve dedicated their resources to the beachfront. I will, without a doubt, stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMarie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    285
    118
    65
    41
See reviews for
94
365
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Very nice location with comfortable and spacious oceanside rooms at least where we stayed. Housekeeping and desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Dining and bar were not so good. Many menu items not available, waitstaff were friendly but slow and inefficient. Often difficult to find a bartender. Best to plan most meals elsewhere but there is nothing walkable from this location.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms get better breeze and some have open ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul19010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Long Bay Beach Club, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Value Guests,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Long Bay Beach Club. We appreciate your taking the time to provide us with feedback.

The Long Bay Beach Club was recently re-opened after renovations and rebranding to create a more romantic and intimate beach club-style atmosphere.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the dining and bar service. We have a full premium bar available at all times. Our restaurant menu has been crafted to offer a wide variety of local and international favorites. We do understand that dining is subjective but our goal is to always deliver outstanding cuisine and service to our guests.

We do hope that when considering another sun-filled Caribbean vacation we may once again host you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west haven, ct
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I chose Tortolla for our honeymoon and after searching for a place to stay, we chose Long Bay. When we booked originally Long Bay was still the resort etc. I was a little nervous about the place after I read some so-so reviews. I am happy to say that we had a wonderful time at Long Bay. The view from the cabana was beautiful. The staff in the front lobby, namely Leslie and Althea were extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was cleaned every day and they always checked in with us to see if everything was fine. For a "home base" Long bay is fine. The restaurant was ok..at best. I agree with other reviews that if the management worked on the restaurant(food could be better) and arranged for some nightly entertainment, people might stick around more in the evening instead of venturing out. We would have!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thedreamjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The resort is close to failing. The management told us that it was in receivership for the 5th time. The pool and villas were closed over the holidays. Only the beach front cabanas were open. Half of those were very old, totally worn out and up on stilts.

The food was simply bad. The "premium"bar was unstocked and what they had was low end.

The help was indifferent. The service was incredibly slow (30 minutes to get coffee in the only restaurant every day at breakfast).

Random phone calls @ 4am. Rock hard mattresses.

The New Years Eve celebration was one of the worst DJ's I've ever heard. We hoped that it would be bad enough to be funny, but no such luck.

It's also on the opposite end of the Island from the airport, making it nearly an hour ride.

It's a shame because it is a beautiful beach.

Even at a bargain basement price I couldn't recommend it

Room Tip: New beachfront cabana the older ones are a dump
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hhishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, General Manager at Long Bay Beach Club, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Long Bay Beach Club. We appreciate your taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please know that we strongly disagree with this review. We do sincerely appreciate our guests’ feedback, even when pointing out ways in which we can improve; but we feel this review is inaccurate and unfair.

The resort is still an Elite Island Resort property and is not in receivership We had a brief closure for renovations and re-branding to create a much more romantic and intimate beach club style atmosphere centered on the resort's unparalleled beachfront location as well as the highly personalized service The resort now consist of 40 rooms and offers its most popular room categories: beachfront deluxe suites, beachfront rooms and beachfront cabanas all of which were opened during this period.


Long Bay Beach Club’s amenities have also been simplified to focus on providing a superior beach club experience. Remodeled on-property offerings include the 1748 Restaurant & Bar, personal check-in service, tennis courts, a gift shop and the reception and guest services desks. The original swimming pool and pool bar have been discontinued, but a new swimming pool will be added near the beachfront rooms by mid-2014. Also, a new massage treatment cabana will be installed near the beachfront rooms in November 2013.

Our guest comment cards praise the food and we only serve premium liquor. During the Christmas holidays our guests enjoyed entertainment by a variety of very well known and liked musicians which our they enjoyed immensely. Our New Years Eve celebration was quite the success with most guest dancing well past midnight.

We have created a very special boutique style resort in a spectacular setting and look forward to welcoming you once again for an amazing and memorable Caribbean vacation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skippack, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Honeymooned here with my wife 20 years ago and happy to report Long Bay was better than we remembered. Simple Caribbean elegance. Wonderful gracious friendly service. We ate breakfast each morning and it was fresh, delicious and perfectly portioned. Beach is awesome, secluded and so picturesque. Had a local show us where it was easiest to wade deep into the surf. If you are looking for swim up bars, all you can eat buffets and constant activities , look elsewhere. Looking for unspoiled beauty, good food, wonderful accommodations, and a perfect place to completely unwind, read a book, and connect with your spouse or family--go to Long Bay Beach Resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinCarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reed City, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at Long Bay Feb 2013. We tried to get a beach front cabana but they were booked so we got an ocean view about half way up the hill. If you're older, I'd ask to have a room closer to the bottom of the hill to prevent exhaustion when walking. We passed a few couples that appeared to be struggling with the long steep walk. We're early 30s so this was no big deal for us. We enjoyed the welcome party when we arrived but felt a little out of place since we were one of the only younger couples there. Everyone was very friendly and we booked a catamaran trip to Yost Van Dyke through the resort. Our room was great, very clean, and had a great view. We really enjoyed our stay there but spent most of our time out exploring the rest of the island in our rental Jeep (we recommend Jerrys). At night we wished there would have been more to do, maybe some live music? Either way, we liked our stay at Long Bay and loved Tortola.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at Long Bay Beach in May 2013 for the 4th time. We always look forward to being there. Several people have written saying they were disappointed, there's nothing to do, advertised a pool and it's not there, only one restaurant not 3 etc. Hearing this I picked up the phone and called Hugh the GM to ask him what was going on and what had changed since we were there in May. Yes there have been some changes. Long Bay Beach Resort is now Long Bay Beach Club. The main reception area has been moved down the hill and placed next to the 1778 restaurant on the beach. The pool located above the reception and below the various condo units on the hillside is closed. LBBC did not own the pool...it was part of the condo association. Essentially, LBBC is now everything on the beach side of the road to included the restaurant, cabannas and deluxe villas (Unit 592 is still our favorite) . So yes, LBBC is smaller than it used to be but still great. Their restaurant is a good one for all meals but there are others in the area from which to choose. A little funky but Sebastian's is right over the hill. Sugar Mill ($$$$) is right down the street (drive or take a cab) and others not too far away. BTY, if you're staying in Tortola or especially LBBC for any time, please rent a car. Great driving island. I'd recommend Jerry's Car Rental not too far away from West End Ferry Term. The very best thing about LBBC is the BEACH. Incredible! To enjoy the water more, you need to walk about a quarter of the way down the beach where there is no more coral. If you go out just in front of the restaurant it's tough on your feet. Great walking beach. I'd love to be there right now. Enjoy the peace and quiet, remember this is not Atlantis. And by the way, the construction vehicles going along the road has nothing to do with LBBC. Someone is building a house on the side of the hill and this is their access to the building site. Only a temporary thing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTK888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
396 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.0 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
282 reviews
11.8 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
4.4 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Beach Club

Property: Long Bay Beach Club
Address: PO Box 433, BVI, Tortola (Formerly Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Long Bay Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful, mile-long stretches of white sand beach in the Caribbean, Long Bay Beach Club is truly the gem of the British Virgin Islands. Guests enjoy terrific accommodations including Beachfront Rooms and Suites. The resort amenities include the historic beachfront 1748 Restaurant & Bar, tennis, amazing beach and much more. Fantastic location on Tortola's much sought after West End, just minutes from Soper's Hole Marina. Popular excursions include sailing, diving, sightseeing, and shopping. Great restaurants, bars, and nightlife nearby. Perfect for couples, friends, and families. Also ideal for those seeking a land / sea vacation that includes sailing and hotel stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Long Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Tortola
Long Bay Beach Resort And Villas
Long Bay Beach Hotel
Long Bay Beach Resort Villas Tortola
Long Bay Resort Tortola
Long Bay Beach Club Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing