We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rhymer's”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tortola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rhymers Beach Hotel
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We have stayed at Rhyme's three different times , with a 4th coming up in March 2013. We have been very pleased with the hotel , nothing fancy , but the staff is friendly and helpful. The location is terrific , step right onto the beach .Great bars and restaurants in Cane Garden Bay

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

This was a great hotel. I stayed here a while ago on a school trip, the location is amazing (right on the beach, steps from the water!) and the views are great. The rooms are a little dingy but that is the experience. One very nice thing is the kitchenette, working fridge and stove, but DO NOT drink the water. It isn't harmful but tastes AWFUL. A little ways down the road is a small grocery store, you can buy bottled water there for relatively cheap prices (be wary of milk products, they do not last long.) Also down the road is a bakery that is very good, and the beach is lined with amazing restaurants. All in all it was a great trip and I would recommend it to anyone visiting.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the deck are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I have stayed in Rhymers over the years and I love it. This is not a fancy place but the employees are very warm and make it the best experience. The hotel is located in the center of Cane Garden. This hotel is not classy but it's worth experiencing. I just stayed for 9-days and didn't want to leave. Our room had a small kitchen which was great for quick lunches or breakfast during the week and refreshments.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lourdes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Rhymers. We had a second floor room near the balcony. Although this would not be considered a luxury hotel by any stretch of the imagination, it was clean, and the staff were friendly. We didn't run into any problems with ants, roaches, or noisy chickens that some of the other reviewers mentioned. Yes, there are chickens roaming around, but that is the Tortola. We stayed at Rhymers a few nights, and then moved over th Myatt's a few doors down. In my opinion, the quality of Myatts compared to that of Rhymers did not justify the difference in price, and I regretted not staying at Rhymers the whole time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Cane Garden Bay great. Hotel right on the water. Rooms dingy, dirty, full of ants and roaches. Moved to new room but the same. Bright lights in hall all night but no curtains effective to darken the room. Cobwebs galore. Stay away.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

You don't stay here for the luxury, you stay here because it's right on the beach, cheap as beans, reliably clean, and has an acceptable level of service from the staff. If that's all you need for a happy vacation then Rhymers is the spot for you.

We stayed one night at Rhymers before catching the morning ferry for our week-long stay at Cooper Island Beach Club. As others have said, Rhymers is nothing fancy. It's the antithesis of fancy. What you are paying for is a reasonably clean room, a bathroom, and access to the beach. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, arranging our taxi for the morning, helping us find the switch for the bathroom light (which was in the kitchenette). We spent a lovely afternoon lazing on the beach and watching the pelicans fish. The next morning was Cruise Ship day, and we were entertained during breakfast watching the staff steer tourists to their beach chairs and collecting their $.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This is our second stay at Rhymers Beach Hotel and again we had a terrific time!!! The rooms are clean and functional. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Leona is the BEST!!! This is NOT a 5 star hotel. BUT it is very clean, reasonably priced and in the most beautiful location. The food in the restaurant is great and the bush whackers have lots of rum!!!! We will be back again!!!!!

Room Tip: do not be afraid to talk to the staff about changing rooms if you are not satisfied. They are extre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mystryst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortola hotels
2.9 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
131 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
2.7 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel
Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel
#4 of 13 in Road Town
176 reviews
7.5 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
293 reviews
3 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhymers Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhymers Beach Hotel

Address: Cane Garden Bay, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Price Range: £41 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Rhymers Beach Tortola
Hotel Rhymers Beach
Rhymers Beach Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing