We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mongoose Apartments
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$294
US$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fort Burt Hotel(Road Town)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sea View Hotel(Road Town)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
119
8
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
119
8
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walkcane garden baylounge chairscatamaran sailingquiet end of the beachbars restaurantslarge kitchenrental carwealth of informationthe air conditioningbeautiful beachsandraloungersbedroombeachesbviisland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My wife and I really wanted a different vacation, somewhere that we felt like we could explore. The BVI is great for that and you are able to escape the commercialism of some of the other islands in the Caribbean. The mongoose apartments are a very nice alternative to a big hotel but the lack in amenities are very obvious. The room was great, double doors that you could open and experience the island air, and plenty of room. The kitchen was well stocked with cooking necessities as well as the bathroom. Our bed was comfy, however if sleep is a problem for you this may not be the place to stay. The roosters are cute for the first and maybe second day but after that get rather annoying. We did opt to pay for ac because it was quite warm when we were there in march and that ac didn't blow cold air. These are probably the biggest two problems that I noticed but I am super picky about room climate and noise because of insomnia. There were some bugs in the room, but this is somewhat to be expected with the openness that is desired.

The location is only a few hundred yards from the beach which happens to be a great spot. There were virtually no people on the beach for most of the days that we were on the island, except for the day the "cruisers" were docked. Sandra was very helpful with information about when we should do our exploring to avoid the masses.

If you go, do yourself a favor and rent a 4x4 vehicle and drive around the island. Some of the best beaches that we found took a bit of exploration. Driving isn't that hard, don't read to much into the reviews about it. Also make sure you go to Banana Keet for dinner at sunset. Definitely a sunset I will never forget and probably never duplicate.

Overall I think the Mongoose apartments are pretty darn good, however, for what you did actually get in relation to other properties I think they are a bit overpriced. If you are looking for that place off the beaten path this might be the place for you.

Room Tip: We were in the room on the top floor on the right when your looking at the main property. slightly better view and further from the roosters
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank samstuardracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We took our first international family vacation and stayed 10 nights here at the mongoose. Sandra was so friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and quiet, and well equiped for us to make our own meals. The mattress in our suite was so comfortable, I didn't have any problems sleeping. The internet had, for the most part, a strong signal and the power went out a few times, but this is not to be unexpected and not the fault of the hotel.
The most beautiful beach is just a walk down the driveway an across the street. Make sure you look for the crabs resting in there borrows and the herron that tries to nab them for a meal!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JLM1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

After our bareboat sailing week in BVI, we decided to stay a week longer on Tortola. Having been to 18 other Caribbean Islands over the years, this was our first visit to Tortola. Mongoose Apartments turned out to be a very good choice. We stayed in #8 which is very modern, very clean, very well appointed and its veranda on the second story offers complete privacy overlooking a tropical garden of mango, banana and bread fruit trees. Cane Garden Bay beach is a short walk away and the beach is very nice. Guests can relax on the owners' fenced in garden which is right on the beach. Lounge chairs, floats, and kayaks are provided free of charge. A very big plus was that about five restaurants, a small supermarket and a coin operated laundry were all within easy walking distance. Sandra, a Canadian ex-pat, took the time to make us feel right at home.

Room Tip: #8 gives you complete privacy
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smokeylinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We have just returned from our 6th visit to the Mongoose Apartments on Cane Garden Bay and as usual we had a fabulous time. These apartments are large, with a very comfortable bed, large living area and ample cooking facilities. With Bobbys supermarket a short walk away we dined in every other night after sunset drinks at Myetts - I recommend the Bushwacker! Every time we return there have been improvements and this time there was an Ipod dock so we could enjoy our music in the apartment. Sandra was an excellent host as always giving advice on trips to other islands. Michelle keeps the rooms spotless. We returned to Sky restaurant happy to see Alan still there and with both Japenese and Indian menus which were outstanding. We were married on Cane Garden Bay in 2007 and will continue to return to our favourite place in the world as often as we can afford.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sally_Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

We stayed with Sandra for 2 weeks in January and enjoyed the entire experience immensely. It was our first time to BVI so we spent a lot of time simply soaking up the sun and relaxing in Cane Garden Bay. From the first contact we had with Sandra she was the epitome of accommodation. She arranged for a sleeping bed for our infant son and arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the airport. The rooms were everything we expected. Not a four-star resort but that wasn't what we were looking for. Clean, well-appointed with authentic Caribbean artwork, well-equipped for making your own meals. All of the guests we shared Mongoose with were like us, laid back and just there to enjoy the warmth and beauty of the islands. We even had our next-door neighbors over for drinks one night. Put the blender through its paces that night.

Sandra has a wealth of knowledge about the local area and can arrange trips off-island when she knows the local beach is likely to be overcrowded with cruisers. She also knows the local restaurants and can recommend which, among those available, to choose from and also make the reservations for you. The fare around Cane Garden Bay is good but generally not great. Our best meal, and this one truly was fabulous, and highly recommended by Sandra, was on our last night at the Bananakeet Cafe which is a strenuous 1/2 hour walk from or a leisurely 10 minute cab ride from Mongoose. We had spicy tuna rolls, coconut shrimp and ribs with margaritas and passion fruit daiquiris and key lime pie for dessert all delicious and $100 for the whole shebang. We also had Sunday brunch there which we highly recommend. A surprising 'find' was the Sky restaurant which was also located near Cane Garden Bay. Previous reviews on tripadvisor had suggested that, while the food here was good, the owner, was incredibly rude to his guests. We did not find this to be the case and, instead, found Alan to be rather charming and the sushi was almost as good as any we've had elsewhere.

One word of advice about the BVI. When Sandra warns against the sand flies and mosquitos, she isn't kidding. By the second day there I was covered with welts. Thereafter we obtained some mosquito repellent and went on a nightly hunt to rid our apartment of mosquitos before closing all the doors.

We will definitely be back the next time we are in BVI.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjperry15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews