We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June 2014”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tortola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mongoose Apartments
Ranked #1 of 7 Tortola B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“June 2014”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here for a week in late June. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the garden/patio area. The room itself was very spacious and comfortable, with all the amenities that we could need (satellite TV (including HBO and several other film channels), wifi, walk-in closet and a kitchen (with oven/hob/fridge/etc) and a breakfast bar. There were also plenty of fans to help deal with the heat! Sandra was very nice and very helpful. The reception was well stocked with books and information on the island. The hotel itself was a quick walk to the beach (2 minutes), which was beautiful. At the time we were there the beach and bars/restaurants were not too busy (as it was the start of the off season), but having driven around the island this was probably the liveliest and also the prettiest beach on the island. We had a great time and would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleoboulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
57
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a wonderful time, the accommodations were excellent!!! Sandra is so nice everything is clean and well maintained. Our bed was so comfortable! Kitchen well equipped, balcony was perfect for our morning coffee!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlowerGirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We are staying here now and have really enjoyed this apartment. It has a comfortable living room, fully supplied kitchen, ceiling fan in the living room and bedroom, two standing fans and air conditioning in the bedroom that is an additional $10 a day. The air conditioning is not to be used to cool the entire apartment so we keep the doors to the bedroom closed at night and sleep comfortably but it hasn't been a problem not to have air conditioning in the main living area.

The owner, Sandra (Elroy was off island while we stayed so didn't get to meet him), is friendly, laid back and accommodating. There are beach towels and loungers available and the place is stocked with plenty of insect repellent. There are also a couple of coolers available, which is great for bringing some cold ones and a packed lunch to the beach! The office is stocked with plenty of books so if you finish yours, you can trade it in for one of theirs.

The beach is a nice 5 minute walk down a lush road. It is nice to be tucked quietly back off the main road with only the sound of frogs, birds and other creatures of the night. We stayed at another popular place just 4 months ago and our main complaint was hearing the music all hours of the day.

My boyfriend and I both agreed that we would stay here again in a heartbeat! Great place!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #4. It is a top floor corner unit so more windows, which is nice in the Caribbean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXWindJammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Mongoose Apartments enjoy our stayed ,apartments very clean, linen are of very good quality and smell good :) however there some things that the owner need to work on , there a Mongoose welcome book with information about enjoying your stayed however some of the things mention in this Mongoose welcome I find it to be false it said that every second day there is maid service, we stayed there for five days and only had maid service only one day of our stayed so we were left with damp towel and stinky trash in our room, the one day we had maid service the cleaning lady did a fantastic job its was so nice to come back to a clean room, bed well made, clean fresh smelling linen and no stinky trash

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pasty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I'm writing this review from the balcony of my room at Mongoose Apartments. Second floor up. Room number 1, just above the office.
And I can honestly say, with all certainty, that there is no better place to stay in Tortola.
First there's the location.
Cane Garden Bay is beautiful. The crystal blue waters, the perfect white sand and the lush rolling green hills are all steps from your door. Far less busy then Road Town and far more accessible then the West End. If you're trying to figure out where to spend your time in Tortola, look no further then Cane Garden Bay.
The apartment themselves are fantastic.
The rooms are big and spacious, not to mention immaculate.
Our host, Sandra could not be any more accommodating. She's friendly, outgoing and extremely helpful. If you've got a question, she'll bend over backwards to find the answer. She helped arrange everything from island hopping day trips to local cab rides.
I simply can't say enough about her or about the Mongoose Apartments.

There are no negatives to staying here.
If you're the type of person that complains about bugs or the sound of roosters in the morning, then don't come to the Caribbean. Stay home and watch the travel channel.

Come to the BVI.
Come to Tortola.
Stay at the Mongoose.

Tell Sandra I said "hi".

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Raindog789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We chose Mongoose for our three week BVI stay in large part because of the uniformly high ratings (and detailed comments) from past customers. We were not misled by the wealth of prior reviews. This was probably the most peaceful, pleasant, and picturesque vacation we have ever experienced. Cane Garden Bay really worked out as a great base to work from. I did a lot of scuba diving and was able to drive (slowly) over the hill to Nanny Cay in about 20 minutes for a typical morning 2-tank dive without any traffic issues. I took Sandra's suggestion to use Blue Water Divers and was very pleased with the service and pricing. Ask Sandra for directions to the infamous road known as the "elevator shaft". While it is steep and an adrenaline rush, it is so convenient for avoiding the morning traffic rush in Road Town itself. Note that there is also a less steep more Westerly road connection that also avoids Road Town. My wife loves to cook local foods and we were able to find local fishermen (ask for Albert) in Carrot Bay (about 7 minutes drive to the West) and a local organic farmer (Rose) who frequently sells her heirloom tomatoes, eggplant, cucumbers, and other items from a road side table. Everyone is so genuinely friendly ! It's hard to drive for more than a minute or two without somebody waving and wishing you a nice day. Having a car really helps if you want to visit more than just a couple of nearby beaches. We rented a 2-door Suzuki Jimmy from Del who you can easily reach by walking down the beach. We paid just $315 per week. Gas sold for about $4.60 per gallon. We touched just about all the noteworthy beaches and because the distances are so relatively short, we probably only used a total of 10 gallons of gas. We did the scenic ferry trip to Virgin Gorda and the "Baths" were indeed every bit as impressive as the web photos predicted. We took a day sail to Jost Van Dyke with the Aristocat folks and that was loads of fun. There are other vendors doing essentially the same trip (snorkeling, rum drinking, food on board prepared by the crew, and the finale of the crazy busy "Soggy Dollar" bar with yet more rum drinks. The weather and sea were very kind that day, so all went well without a hitch. We flew to Anegada (both ways) ($99 per person) and rented a car for $65 (Sandra arranged it). Nice and extra quiet flat coralline island. Flying in a very small plane was almost like a helicopter ride and allowed for really super photo opportunities of the meandering coastlines and many small islands. We had a particularly nice lunch (Neptune Treasure) of seafood (lobster curry, smoked marlin pate, conch fritters, steamed local trigger fish). That was one mighty fine (and large portioned) meal for a fare price (approx. $75 including 2 drinks and service charge). There are fancier places to eat but I doubt the food would taste any better (assuming you really like seafood). Overall, I can safely predict that the BVI and Mongoose will be seeing us again. Thanks so much to Sandra, Elroy, and Michelle.

Room Tip: We had room number 8 which is the upstairs apartment in the new building. We looked out at mango tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Our sixth visit to cane garden bay and the mongoose apartments. The rooms are just as clean as they were 12 years ago. Now with microwaves. Kitchens are well equipped, grills outside are clean and ready to use. Huge comfortable beds, room safes,closet space and plenty of entertaining space. Balconies are roomy and private with lovely views.The owner is helpful in planning any activities you have in mind. With one email inquiring about rental cars, A reservation was made and a driver was waiting for us at the ferry dock when we arrived to take us to our rental car. There are also loungers floats and kayaks right on the beach for mongoose guests personal use. Hands down the BEST place in Cane Garden Bay.


Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortola hotels
2.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
2.6 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Heritage Inn
The Heritage Inn
#12 of 25 in Tortola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
3.6 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.2 mi away
Icis Villas
Icis Villas
#10 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mongoose Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mongoose Apartments

Property: Mongoose Apartments
Address: Cane Garden Bay, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience peace and tranquility and stay in one of our eight, tastefully furnished, one bedroom apartments. Each apartment has a private balcony, living room, fully equipped kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. The design is traditional West Indian, the colors are tropical nestled within landscaped grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mongoose Apartments Hotel Tortola
Mongoose Apartments Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing