We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, great views, nice staff”
Review of The Heritage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Heritage Inn
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Amsterdam, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great views, nice staff”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed in a two-bedroom unit for 4 nights. It was a pleasant experience and we would stay again. The location was perfect for us as it was very close to the best beaches and, of course, the views were pretty amazing. We first stayed in unit 2 but had to later move to unit 3 because our refrigerator/freezer were not properly functioning. The units were both very large, clean, and as expected. The ants could be a problem, but only if you let them be. The a/c units in the bedrooms worked very very well and the fans and breezes kept the rest of the unit livabley comfortable. Parking was very convenient. We were a bit disappointed the pool closed at 6pm and we had to rush back a couple of times in order to take a dip to rinse off and let my son get a little pool time. I understand they don't want guests to use the pool during dinner time but I have been to countless resorts with the same set-up and none restricted use of guests for the sake of dinner. Definitely a minus for us. They provided great beach towels that you could exchange, if needed. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and were very good about making sure our meats stayed frozen through a short power outage and when our freezer was not working. We only had appetizers once at the restaurant but they were very good and the smells coming from the kitchen were always amazing. Overall, a good experience and value.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NYCaribQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    32
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
60
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia,PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This hotel was incredible just for the views alone. Without a doubt the best view I've ever had on a vacation. From our room ( room 8), if you went out on the balcony and looked to the right, there was Jost Van Dyke. You look almost straight ahead, there was St Thomas. You look to the left, the hill towering over you. Almost majestic. We almost dont stay there- my wife was terrified of the drive up to the hotel with all the hills with steep switchbacks, and thought the place was very isolated. Those fears were put to rest by Rosa, who assured her that Cane Garden Bay was just on the other side of the hill, and the worst of the hilly driving was over. Later on we met Chris, and they both gave us good suggestions on what to do with our time there. The rooms were nice- they wer not really rooms but full apartments, with full kitchen, bathroom, bedrooms with AC etc. The Bananakeet restaurant is very popular, with good reason- the food is delicious. One time me and my wife were eating there and a couple just came in to look a the view, and I overheard him say that this has to be one of the best views in the world. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dharry28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed with wife for one night in May, 2013 before yacht charter. Agree with all other reviews that views are magnificent, hospitality outstanding, rooms are not fancy but more than adequate and the restaurant was very, very good. Owner, Chris, was very cordial, walked us to our room, showed us around and was available to answer any questions. Only complaint, minor, was no breakfast on site or within walking distance. (we did not have a car). So be prepared and bring your own or have transportation. Overall, we would stay here again before a cruise. (short cab ride to west end to meet yacht)

Room Tip: bring your own food for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jfinkmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The view, Bananakeet, and free shots at sunset are what most people mentioned when we told them that we were calling The Heritage Inn home on Tortola. We quickly told them that there is much more to it than that! We stayed in room 8 - GREAT bed; spotless suite - so very clean; well equipped kitchen; ceiling fans/cold AC in bedroom; good shower; complete attention to detail in all regards. The pool was wonderful and a great place to chilllax before dinner or drinks. The Bananakeet is a hot spot for locals and visitors alike and the food is plentiful and wonderful.

Prior to our arrival, Rosa mentioned that the kitchen would be closing right around the time of our arrival and asked if we would like to preorder dinner. She sent us a menu to order from and arranged for it to be prepared just in time for our arrival. We were expecting to take it to our room but there were a lot of guests still there so we ate right there. The Pimm's Brunch is delicious - highly recommended!! Spice makes AWESOME burgers (and everything else). We would have liked to order from that particular menu more than just Sunday.

You must have a vehicle - we rented ours (Suzuki Jimmy) from Dede's, who delivered it to the Inn for us - very easy! The location of Heritage is perfectly positioned on the west coast for exploring the bays from Brewers over to Smuggler's and is only 10 minutes by car to the marina at Soper's Hole. Brewers Bay and Smuggler's Cove were our favorites. There are not a lot of road signs/directional signs so it's easier to remember landmarks for turns. Ultimately, it's impossible to really get lost (just turn around and backtrack) and sometimes it can lead to a new discovery!

Besides Bananakeet, our two FAVORITE restaurants were 1) Cruzin' in Carrot Bay (we were there at least once a day - lobster alert!, fantastic wings, yummy pizza on the grill, etc. - those ladies are grillin' it right!) and 2) Fish and Lime (just reopened - formerly Jolly Roger) over by the ferry port. Hands down, the BEST place for groceries/provisions is the Harbour Market (I think that's what it is called) at Soper's Hole Marina. They have everything and also a really good inexpensive specialty deli upstairs. We made a big breakfast in our suite kitchen at Heritage every day.

Chris & Rosa recommended Voyage for day sails/snorkels and they were spot on!! We had the same awesome crew (Adam & Kelly) for both trips that we took. We wish we were on the Mystique trampoline right now sailing between islands in that bluer than blue water with a Painkiller in hand. It was fantastic and Adam & Kelly were fun, entertaining, and provided lots of interesting information. We only found out after our vacation that Painkillers have, like, 400 calories each!!! EEK - but still delicioso!

So - thanks to Rosa, Chris, Bunky, Spice and everyone at The Heritage Inn for making our home on Tortola a comfortable place for great memories! We will be back and highly recommend. Oh! Did I mention the view and the sunsets?

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FloridaGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Once we gained the courage to drive those hills we found an amazing hotel. Upon arriving We were warmly welcomed into one of the cleanest condo units we have stayed in. We think the linnens on the bed were brand new. The colours were fantastic and carribian fun. What a view!! We didnt eat at BananaKeet but did have drinks. the food looked amazing. The live music was a wonderful touch.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fisherking989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Wonderful view and the Bananakeet restaurant is very good. Beautiful sunset view. Chris was a huge help scheduling excursions and lending suggestions on activities to participate in. Fantastic experience. The rooms are nothing fancy but they are clean and comfortable. Your stay here is about the view, not the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelersLV08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We just returned from an 8 night stay at The Heritage Inn, Tortola, BVI. Cannot say enough great things about the Inn, the location, the marvelous staff and Rosa and Chris, all the servers and workers...friendly, warm, helpful-just the A team! Our room was spotless, cleaned daily, and we loved having a little kitchen and a first rate glorious view of Carrot Bay and the turquoise Caribbean. Just can't say enough about it. We will be going back, and with friends! Used Dede's car rental and they were spot on, delivered our car to The Heritage and helpful. Next year we'll get a bit bigger jeep. The hairpins on the one rainy day were a bit much for the smallest jeep rental even w/4W. Otherwise, the driving was a fun "sport" initiation but no match for the Irish! It is a gem to return to many times.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good w/sterling views! Isn't Heaven enough?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortola hotels
1.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
2.1 mi away
Icis Villas
Icis Villas
#10 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
3.5 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Inn

Property: The Heritage Inn
Address: Windy Hill | Carrot Bay, VG1130, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heritage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Inn is just what you want if you are looking for the total getaway. The Inn is located on the hilltop of a sleepy village: Carrot Bay, on the north side of Tortola. These comfortable apartments offer probably the most breathtaking views on the island: "voted Best sunset view in the BVI!" 180 degrees east and west and overlooking Jost Van Dyke, Sandy & Green Cays and three Tortola bays. This locally owned inn is quaint and quiet. Each suite has a private view-facing balcony and is furnished with a fully equipped kitchen, living room and AC king-size bed in bedrooms. Three suites have two bedrooms for family or friendly vacationers. Six, clean and comfortable, one bedroom suites also offer enough space to just forget your cares and hang out for a week. The views are so beautiful that most guests just "gape" for the first few days. In the summer the sun sets directly over the water. It is so beautiful that the locals go up for sunset cocktails at the BananaKeet Cafe on the poolside veranda to watch the sun setting over the awesome horizon. It's no wonder the slogan reads... the Higher you Get... the Better the Views!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Hotel Tortola
Heritage Hotel Tortola
The Heritage Inn Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing