We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of a kind”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Heritage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Heritage Inn
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I had stayed at The Heritage Inn for around 10 days in July 14' with another two people. The actual apartment was very good, with room service every day or two, bar a sunday. You get the basics, oven hobs, fridge. TV in the living room, couches etc. The bedrooms were very clean, both had air con and the balcony looked onto a fantastic view.

There is also free wifi within the hotel which was a bonus. Only slight downfall was where it was situated, you were up so high that it was hard to get around without a car, but that shouldn't put you off staying at the hotel as I'd definitely stay here again.

Could have done with some vending machines for night for drinks and small foods, as the closest shop was Bobbys, which was quite a trek away, without a car.

All in all, very clean and well looked after hotel and the price was reasonable, considering the view also! (stayed at the top apartment over-looking the sea)

Room Tip: Ask for the top apartment, number 3, its the highest one up with the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank d_GLA90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    32
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
60
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margate NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Where do I start. First of all this hotel is an extremely good value as has been recognized on Tripadvisor. The view from the hotel and the restaurant is spectacular, and I mean....Incredibly spectacular (please check my pics and they don't do it justice). The food at the Bananakeet Restaurant is as good as there is on Tortola. The service and hospitality that you will receive from the owner Chris and GM Rosa and the entire staff is as good as it gets in the BVI. We have now stayed there four times and will go back again and again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danpan066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

After reading the reviews (and they are good) I can honestly say that this property is better than what I read. The views from over 500 ft. above the sea, make for glorious unobstructed sunsets. You can identify many islands on the water and the open feel on this cliff side hotel and restaurant will warm your heart. The laid back vibe and friendly staff make your stay very comfortable and relaxing. Both owners Rosa and Chris, treat you like royalty and their instincts for how to assist you, are spot on. They will go out of there way to help in any sorts of plans, dinner reservations, directions, activities, etc.

The food at the Banana Keet Restaurant on their property is excellent. Several patrons have commented on how good the food was and we certainly agree. Additionally we relaxed drinking Painkillers and swam in their freshwater pool, while watching the sun go down. On the flip side, we woke up with sun skirting over the top of the mountain lighting some sections on the steep hillside, which makes for some excellent photography.

The property is clean, in many aspects, that is very important to me. If you are on a budget, this property provides excellent value and WILL NOT DISAPPOINT. I am already thinking of a return trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Heritage Inn. The view alone is enough to make this spot worth it, but Rosa really put it over the top. Very friendly and willing to help in anyway she could. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The views from our balcony and the views from the restaurant were spectacular. It's a special place to be at sunset. Nearby is Cane Garden Bay which is an excellent place to eat, drink, standup paddleboard, swim, and more. The thing that sticks out most in our minds about our time at The Heritage Inn though is the staff. Rosa, thank you for going out of your way to make our trip special. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Heritage Inn after our 10 day sailing charter. It is a small, quaint property, located at the Banankeet Restaurant, which is an excellent restaurant and terrific bar. Chris and Rosa were incredibly gracious and went out of our way to make reservations, provide taxi service, recommendations, etc. during our stay. Our rooms were comfortable, each with a bedroom, living area, bathroom and kitchenette. Best part was the balcony - nothing like watching the sunset while sipping cocktails. We also woke to rainbows every morning. A car is definitely needed - and driving on Tortola is not for the faint of heart. Heritage Inn is located on the north shore which is convenient to the best beaches on Tortola. if we had been there for a week, would rather have stayed closer to the beaches.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

I must say the draw for this hotel is the amazing view. Other visitors make a point to visit the BananaKeet bar and grill for viewing the sunset. The food is very good. The suites are spacious though dated. The less obvious strength of this hill side property is the friendly and caring management and staff. We arrived after restaurant closing. The office was closed, but we were greeted by resident managers, Kelsey and Chris, who saw to us having a meal. They also recovered my camera which I left in our taxi's last run, even tough I didn't know the name of company or driver. A great place to call home while on Tortola.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kenny_Good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortola hotels
1.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
2.1 mi away
Icis Villas
Icis Villas
#10 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#7 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
3.5 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Inn

Property: The Heritage Inn
Address: Windy Hill | Carrot Bay, VG1130, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heritage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Inn is just what you want if you are looking for the total getaway. The Inn is located on the hilltop of a sleepy village: Carrot Bay, on the north side of Tortola. These comfortable apartments offer probably the most breathtaking views on the island: "voted Best sunset view in the BVI!" 180 degrees east and west and overlooking Jost Van Dyke, Sandy & Green Cays and three Tortola bays. This locally owned inn is quaint and quiet. Each suite has a private view-facing balcony and is furnished with a fully equipped kitchen, living room and AC king-size bed in bedrooms. Three suites have two bedrooms for family or friendly vacationers. Six, clean and comfortable, one bedroom suites also offer enough space to just forget your cares and hang out for a week. The views are so beautiful that most guests just "gape" for the first few days. In the summer the sun sets directly over the water. It is so beautiful that the locals go up for sunset cocktails at the BananaKeet Cafe on the poolside veranda to watch the sun setting over the awesome horizon. It's no wonder the slogan reads... the Higher you Get... the Better the Views!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Hotel Tortola
Heritage Hotel Tortola
The Heritage Inn Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing