We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lighthouse Villas
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

The BVI's appealed to us due to the stunning beaches but also the ability to easily island hop, easier than elsewhere in the Caribbean. Tortola was the best base to island hop, while JVD, Virgin Gorda and Anegada (stunning) were good day trips, we would have found them too quiet to stay for the whole week we were there. Likewise, we considered staying at the Sugar Mill - but it's very much on its own so we were happy to stay in Cane Garden Bay, with a supermarket, choice of bars and restaraunts within easy walking distance of the villas. You do get used to the driving after a while - but I didn't want to drive too much in the dark, so again good to be in CGB. We stayed in the top floor villa, with a fantastic view. The bedroom was large, very clean and nicely decorated so we were very happy with. The kitchen and bathroom were OK but could do with being modernised. Having a fridge came in very useful. Do get some anit-mosquito spray for your stay in the BVIs. Malcia was very welcoming and was happy to answer any of our questions or requests.

Where to go - we liked CGB as a base, but it's not the best beach and get out if there is a cruise ship in town. Smuggler's Cove was our favourite beach on Tortola, then Brewers, which was quiter (both with very good snorkelling on the left hand side as you face the water). We thought Quito's had the best food in CGB. Banankeets was also good, and we timed it to see sunset but also to drive back while there was some light. Did day sails with Aristocat which was fantastic - excellent snorkelling in the Norman Islands.

We would be happy to stay again and look forward to going back to the BVIs and all they have to offer.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    21
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
14
44
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

Stayed in the Lighthouse Villas back in november 2010 after a 10 day trip to disney. We needed a rest after that part of the holiday and thats exactly what we got.

First day was wiped out by the tail end of Hurricane Tomas, this meant the waves in the bay were huge compared to normal, but it didn't bother us.

As for the villas themselves we had the top floor apartment. the views were stunning, we had several sunsets that were postcard perfect. The apartment itself was very clean and well furnished, the internet worked most days, (to the people that moan on here about it not working - its free, so you can't expect too much!!!!), when it didn't the owner just reset the router and it was fine again. The housemaid was in every day, she was very polite and courteous, always saying hello and smiling.

Malcia, the owner, was very sweet. Instantly making us feel welcome, whenever we needed to ask her a question she was around to help. She booked us taxis to restaurants and the airport which made life so much easier.

As for Cane Garden Bay - we loved it, the day of the storm most of the restaurants were closed so we just popped to the well stocked mini-mart and cooked a meal for ourselves.

Rhymers beach bar was great, simple american style food which was good for brekkie and lunch, lovely staff who were really attentive. We paid for a sun bed on the first day we were there, once they realised we were staying in the bay we didn't pay again, this is because the cruise ships come in 3 times a week and, quite rightly, they maximise their opportunity to make some cash when they visit.

Maybe it was the time of year but we didn't find the cruise ship visitors too much of a problem, mostly they turned up at 10.30 and were gone by 2pm. I can imagine in the height of cruise ship season that it might get a bit busy!

Overall we loved it, perfect way to finish our holiday, we would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ougs103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

My family and I returned from Tortola and the Lighthouse Villas last night after an 8 night stay. After looking at what my options for Cane Garden Bay were, I decided to stay at the Lighthouse Villas as the reviews on here were excellent and it looked nice. I am so glad I made the choice I did. We arrived late on Dec 25 and everything was closed. Malcia, the owner, met us and showed us to our beautiful 2 bedroom, 2 balcony villa. It was perfect as I have 2 little girls and everyone was able to have space. We had not eaten dinner and had no food but Malcia offered us her food and drinks from a party she had that day and it was wonderful!

The pool at the villas was great...not sure what the previous reviewer was talking about. It is small but the water was clean and my girls loved it. Malcia does not own a dog so again...not sure what the previous reviewer was talking about. The only noise we ever heard was the waves crashing at night an an occasional rooster in the morning. The music from Quitos never bothered us, although we could faintly hear it from time to time, but not enough to bother us.

Malcia was a gracious hostess, helping us get taxis when we needed them and advising us on food, etc...we went and loaded up on groceries at Bobby's market down the road and we were able ot cook breakfast each morning as well as lunch and dinner, if needed.

Tortola is very expensive so be prepared. You just have to go with it because it is what it is. The rum punch and bushwackers will help ease the pain!

Enjoy the Lighthouse Villas...they really are the best of what is around in Cane Garden Bay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasBostonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

Just spent 3 days here and it was the worst experience ever...the location is horrible as it is right above Quito's, a bbq joint that plays music as loud as possible until 4 am both friday and saturday nights. The owners little pet dog filled in the rest of the possible quiet time with it's constant yapping. The rooms were nice , view beautiful , the internet hardly ever worked and i have just come from the doctor's with a bacterial infection in my ear that could have either come from the stinky water in the rooms or the cloudy water in the "pool"...more like a puddle...skip it and find your quiet elsewhere

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belizefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Lighthouse Villas for four nights at the end of June. We were exhausted when we got there since we had just been married the day before. Malcia showed us our room and it was fantastic with even more fantastic and romantic views from the balcony (we were on the third floor). We grabbed some dinner at one of the local beach restaurants, a quick stroll from the villas, went back and slept for 12 hours! We only awoke once during the night by the sound of the rain outside. There were roosters running around in the morning but they were drowned out enough by the air conditioner. Personally I love the sound of roosters in the morning because it lets me know I'm on vacation! The villa had everything we needed to cook our own meals and with Bobby's market down the road we were in the perfect spot. Everyone in Cane Garden Bay was friendly, and since we were there during the off season, it was never crowded and a few of the locals referred to us as the "newlyweds" though we had never met them before. The only advice I would tell you is to keep the doors shut because the mosquitos are everywhere - bring some off! We are already trying to figure out when we can get back to Cane Garden Bay and the Lighthouse Villas :)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadrunnerhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Lighthouse Villas May 3 To May 14, 2010.This being our third trip to the BVI in the past two years we had a good idea of what we wanted to see and do ,but were looking for the perfect accomadations.( we had stayed at Fort Recovery and at private home in Brewer's Bay on previous stays).Following rave reviews from most Tripadvisor guests comments we chose the our unit and planned our trip. The first few days were perfect, with beautiful views from our Palm Suite,great weather,days on our favorite beaches and a couple evenings grilling dinner in the patio area near the the small pool.. Then it all unraveled when a couple ( and later their extended family), who would be very much at home at a monster truck rally or biker week on the Redneck Riviera checked in and were allowed to run wild. Their first night they brought 4 friends to get drunk , scream ,and trash the pool area. The next night it was more of the same except that now there were 12 people in the pool ,we confronted them to quiet down and almost got into a fight. The third night the party lasted until 3 Am during which time we had to call the Police 3 times. Malcia the owner,who also lives in the unit, did absolutly nothing to stop these people from ruining our's and other guests vacations.She was made aware of all incidents and still never reacted accordingly. It's a shame because the villas are in a beautiful location and her staff keeps the grounds and apartments spotless. No discount on the rooms was ever offered for the lost nights and inconvenience. We still had a great time away from the Villas with trips to Jost Van Dyke and Anegada, a boat rental got us a day on Sandy Cay and Sandy Spit and all of the beautiful beaches on Tortola. The BVI are truly Nature's Little Secret and i wish they had remained unknown to the unruly hoarde.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AcmePro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

We stayed at the lighthouse villas on cane garden bay for the whole of our stay, the villas were lovely, nice and spacious, clean and the most amazing views over the bay.The restaurants and Bars on the beach were great fun and the food good,although pretty much the whole of the island is americanised food. the west indian cuisine has to be picked out carefully we found with the help of the local taxi drivers who are a great source of information. Malcia at Lighthouse is incredibly kind and runs a very good ship! Don't stay put on the bay though Tortola and the other close by islands offer so much although the roads are a bit tricky in places hiring a car is a MUST.. The people of this island are the friendliest west indians ever. they are obviously very proud of their country and bend over backwards to be friendly and welcoming. we will be back hopefully next year!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wah01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
2.6 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.0 mi away
Icis Villas
Icis Villas
#10 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#6 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
6.6 mi away
White Bay Villas & Seaside Cottages
1.9 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse Villas

Property: The Lighthouse Villas
Address: 540 Malcia A. Rymer Bean | C/O Rush - It, 00801, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lighthouse Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
suite styleIf you have ever dream of Time Sharing on Cane Garden Bay Tortola BVI.It can now become a reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lighthouse Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Villas Hotel Tortola
The Lighthouse Hotel
Lighthouse Hotel Tortola
The Lighthouse Villas Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing