We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Left My Heart at Lighthouse Villas!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lighthouse Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I Left My Heart at Lighthouse Villas!!”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We arrived on Tortola from the busy, commercialized island of St Thomas. We were greeted at the ferry dock by some friendly locals who asked if we were supposed to be renting a jeep from Jerry's even though we took the later ferry than we had planned. In no time a wonderful lady was there with our jeep and we were on our way. We arrived at Lighthouse Villas and although the rooms are a little dated there is something really magical about this place. Maybe its the white french doors framed with white billowy sheer curtains that open on to the balcony overlooking the most beautiful blue sky & sea dotted with sail boats. Across the road, just a few steps is Sailor's Rest. The most amazing little restaurant where I could have sat for hours watching the sailors coming and going from the pier. The sunsets we watched from here were breathtaking. The food was fantastic as well and we were treated like family.
There was also an outdoor community area on the first floor of villas that my husband and I had all to ourselves. I LOVED this place and like another poster am wanting to keep under wraps. I can't wait to return!!.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlicesDaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    22
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
14
48
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Almost afraid to give away the secrets of this place, so I will hold back a little. We recently
had the pleasure of staying several nights at the Lighthouse Villas. Mrs. Bean and her wonderful
staff were so nice and helpful. It was really difficult to leave. CGB (Cane Garden Bay) is one
of the most beautiful beaches I have visited. Mind you, this is not the Ritz, but that was not the
type of hotel experience we were looking for. Rooms are clean, views outstanding from the
third floor penthouse suite, and we loved our breakfasts at the Sailor's Rest, located at the
foot of the hill, and close to the dinghy dock. Be prepared for the steep climb with luggage,
which is one way to get some exercise when off the boat or beach. Cannot wait to return!!

Room Tip: Penthouse suite views are spectacular and worth the walk upstairs. Older couples may want to stay o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medartist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Nice clean well-kept penthouse apartment with stunning views, facing west, perfect for watching the sunset over St. Thomas and Jost. A short stroll to the sandy beach for the day. Take your breakfast on the balcony and watch the pelicans and frigate birds swooping the sea. Two weeks here flies by and the hussle and bussle of the world is a distant memory. Malcia and the girls work hard to make your stay comfortable.

It's informal here so you can pack light (bring plenty of DEET), try if you can to come with hand luggage only - particularly if your flying with lax LIAT airlines (Luggage In Another Town!) they have an odd sense of Customer Service.

Would love to come back again, well worth hiring a Jeep as the other bays are well worth a day trip!

Room Tip: Penthouse and studio apartments are well worth the extra for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stay at the Lighthouse Villas every time we go to Tortola. Very nice rooms with great views of Cane Garden Bay Beach and neighboring islands. The owner Malcia is super nice and goes out of her way to make sure you have everything you need to be comfortable. Villas are within walking distance to the beach, bars and restaurants of CGB. Great price, nice rooms, awesome location!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great, but the rooms on higher floors give a little better view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We spent 10 nights at the Lighthouse Villas in May of 2011. The BVIs appealed to us due to their stunning beaches. More specifically, Cane Garden Bay appealed to us because we were within easy walking distance to restaurants and a supermarket. (We considered staying at the Sugar Mill, but not only was it a good deal more for an ocean view room, it’s remote location was a drawback. (two restaurants on the premises…you’d have to take a taxi elsewhere) We also thought that the beach at Cane Garden Bay was one of the prettiest on the island. Taxis are very expensive, but driving on the island at night is quite a challenge, so we chose only to rent a car for one day trip. After looking at what the options were in Cane Garden Bay, we felt we made the best choice for our preferences.

We stayed in one of the two units on the third (top) floor with a fantastic view. The bedroom area was very large, clean and modestly decorated. There are white sheer curtains on the French doors and windows, so if light is an issue in the morning, it would be a smart idea to bring sleeping eye masks. The kitchen and bathroom were OK, but could be modernized. The refrigerator and microwave were very useful. We purchased groceries at the local supermarket (Bobby’s Market Place) and ate all of our breakfasts and most lunches on the balcony…soaking up the view. A few repairs were obviously needed in this unit. The cable service to the small TV worked sporadically, but we were told that this was typical. Watching TV wasn’t a big deal, other than it was nice to catch up on the news (etc) once a day. Hopefully the repairs/replacements that needed to be made have been taken care of for future guests. The air conditioner became quite noisy during the night, so I wore earplugs to drown out the sound. The second bedroom was quite small and probably would only be appreciated by a family who needed a separate bedroom for young children. The king sized bed took up the room from wall to wall, so there was no walking space around it. We used this room to store our luggage and other things.

We encountered quite a bit of rain during our 10-day stay. This was good news for the islanders…as they needed the rain. Not so good news for vacationers. We’re thinking that maybe all of the rain increased the mosquito population because it was the only real issue we had during our stay. We used mosquito spray at night but I still went home with quite a few bites. I have read where folks strongly suggest you to bring mosquito spray or they complain about being ‘eaten alive’. Normally, I am not that susceptible to mosquitoes, but they loved me at The Lighthouse Villas! The housekeeper did spray the room one day per our request, but unfortunately that didn’t solve the problem. Every time we went into the bathroom and reached for a towel, it disturbed a group of mosquitoes so they’d start flying around again.

In response to comments from previous reviews, there is not a dog on the premises, but there is definitely one in the neighborhood who barks a lot in the morning. (no one seems to care or quiet him down) And yes, the roosters crow early in the morning, so if you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs. For others who sleep soundly, it’s not a problem! Between the air conditioner noise, heavy rains on the roof, roosters crowing and dogs barking it would be good to have earplugs on hand in case any of this bothers you. On the other hand, the room air conditioner and the fan may drown out the other noises just fine!

The driveway up to the Villas from the main road is steep. The first portion has steps built in, which makes it a little easier coming up and down on foot. The second half of the driveway is quite steep. Take your time and be careful and you should be fine! Once you get to the Inn, if you are on the third floor (like we were) you have three flights of stairs to climb. It was a good workout and may have burned a few calories! The tough part was getting suitcases up and down from the taxi. Malcia was kind enough to drive us up from the main road to a parking space at the Inn, so upon our arrival, it was just lugging the suitcases up the stairs.

Malcia was very welcoming as were her housekeepers. The two young ladies who work across the street at Sailor’s Rest were the sweetest and greeted us every day by name. I can picture them waving good-bye with big smiles on their faces, as we left in our taxi.

Speaking of taxi service, we highly recommend asking for Del at Del's Jeep Rentals ([---]). He will serve as your taxi driver and he also has a car rental agency just up the road from The Lighthouse Villas. Del was polite, kind, and dependable and will answer any questions you have about the island.

As for restaurants, the ones in the small village of Cane Garden Bay are all very casual. We ate at Big Banana Paradise, Myette’s Grill, Elm Beach Bar & Grill (for their Friday night BBQ), Stanley’s (great burgers at lunch!) and Captain Ty’s. All were good, but Captain Ty’s was our favorite. It’s not located in the center of the village, but an easy stroll down the beach, basically across from Callwood’s Rum Distillery. Captain Ty fishes each day and his ‘catch of the day’ is the favorite. “Dining tables” are actually the banister/snack bar overlooking the beach and there are stools for chairs. It’s worth a visit! Because of the expense of a taxi to and from restaurants, we carefully chose where to dine outside of Cane Garden Bay. We thoroughly enjoyed Banankeet Café’s outdoor atmosphere and awesome view as well as their meals. Sebastian’s on the Beach was another a great choice. Cruzin’ Bar & Grille and Palm’s Delight were also good. Quito’s was just re-opening the week we were there and we did not get to dine there. It’s directly below The Lighthouse Villas. Be forewarned that it can be noisy on the nights Quito has special events, like their ‘Black and White’ party. It can be very noisy into all hours of the night!

Because of the time of year we visited, cruise ship passengers weren’t a problem, because cruise ships were on Tortola only 2 of the 10 days we were there. Yes, it definitely changes the ambiance of quiet little Cane Garden Bay, and if it had been a daily occurence (which I assume it is in high season) we would have felt a little ‘cheated’ in having to share the beach with so many tourists.

Side trips for the day to Jost Van Dyke (White Bay) and Virgin Gorda (The Baths) were highlights. Although Julian (Baby Bull) will take you to these islands on his small boat from Cane Garden Bay, his ‘service’ fluctuates…depending on many things. (kiddingly referred to as “Captain Tomorrow” by another couple who finally got to take a trip with him to Jost Van Dyke) You might be better off booking day trips to other islands through a commercial catamaran or using the ferry service in Road Town or West End. (Again, you will have to pay for a taxi to get you there and back, if you haven’t rented a car)

Many reviewers comment on how expensive Tortola is, but it would be more accurate to say that this depends on what you where you stay, where you eat and what activities you decide to do. Meals and tasty rum beverages in the town of Cane Garden Bay were reasonable, and although the groceries were somewhat expensive, they were in line with what the cost would be if you were on any island…including the Hawaiian Islands. The only thing we noticed that was quite inexpensive (and unavoidable) was transportation…be it a taxi or a rental car. But getting out and about and exploring the island is half the fun! Snorkelers and beach bums shouldn’t miss Smuggler’s Cove! Brewer’s Bay is very quiet, but also provided good snorkeling. The best snorkeling we experienced was at The Baths on Virgin Gorda, but our snorkeling adventures were somewhat limited around the BVIs.

Room Tip: Bring effective mosquito repellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MStangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

The BVI's appealed to us due to the stunning beaches but also the ability to easily island hop, easier than elsewhere in the Caribbean. Tortola was the best base to island hop, while JVD, Virgin Gorda and Anegada (stunning) were good day trips, we would have found them too quiet to stay for the whole week we were there. Likewise, we considered staying at the Sugar Mill - but it's very much on its own so we were happy to stay in Cane Garden Bay, with a supermarket, choice of bars and restaraunts within easy walking distance of the villas. You do get used to the driving after a while - but I didn't want to drive too much in the dark, so again good to be in CGB. We stayed in the top floor villa, with a fantastic view. The bedroom was large, very clean and nicely decorated so we were very happy with. The kitchen and bathroom were OK but could do with being modernised. Having a fridge came in very useful. Do get some anit-mosquito spray for your stay in the BVIs. Malcia was very welcoming and was happy to answer any of our questions or requests.

Where to go - we liked CGB as a base, but it's not the best beach and get out if there is a cruise ship in town. Smuggler's Cove was our favourite beach on Tortola, then Brewers, which was quiter (both with very good snorkelling on the left hand side as you face the water). We thought Quito's had the best food in CGB. Banankeets was also good, and we timed it to see sunset but also to drive back while there was some light. Did day sails with Aristocat which was fantastic - excellent snorkelling in the Norman Islands.

We would be happy to stay again and look forward to going back to the BVIs and all they have to offer.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Stayed in the Lighthouse Villas back in november 2010 after a 10 day trip to disney. We needed a rest after that part of the holiday and thats exactly what we got.

First day was wiped out by the tail end of Hurricane Tomas, this meant the waves in the bay were huge compared to normal, but it didn't bother us.

As for the villas themselves we had the top floor apartment. the views were stunning, we had several sunsets that were postcard perfect. The apartment itself was very clean and well furnished, the internet worked most days, (to the people that moan on here about it not working - its free, so you can't expect too much!!!!), when it didn't the owner just reset the router and it was fine again. The housemaid was in every day, she was very polite and courteous, always saying hello and smiling.

Malcia, the owner, was very sweet. Instantly making us feel welcome, whenever we needed to ask her a question she was around to help. She booked us taxis to restaurants and the airport which made life so much easier.

As for Cane Garden Bay - we loved it, the day of the storm most of the restaurants were closed so we just popped to the well stocked mini-mart and cooked a meal for ourselves.

Rhymers beach bar was great, simple american style food which was good for brekkie and lunch, lovely staff who were really attentive. We paid for a sun bed on the first day we were there, once they realised we were staying in the bay we didn't pay again, this is because the cruise ships come in 3 times a week and, quite rightly, they maximise their opportunity to make some cash when they visit.

Maybe it was the time of year but we didn't find the cruise ship visitors too much of a problem, mostly they turned up at 10.30 and were gone by 2pm. I can imagine in the height of cruise ship season that it might get a bit busy!

Overall we loved it, perfect way to finish our holiday, we would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ougs103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortola hotels
2.6 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
407 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
3.8 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
291 reviews
2.7 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
280 reviews
2.9 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse Villas

Property: The Lighthouse Villas
Address: 540 Malcia A. Rymer Bean | C/O Rush - It, 00801, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lighthouse Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
suite styleIf you have ever dream of Time Sharing on Cane Garden Bay Tortola BVI.It can now become a reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lighthouse Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Villas Hotel Tortola
The Lighthouse Hotel
Lighthouse Hotel Tortola
The Lighthouse Villas Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing