We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven at Lighthouse Villas, Tortola, BVI”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lighthouse Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Just home from my second stay at Lighthouse Villas. The owner, Malcia, provides several comfortable, welcoming condos with beautiful views overlooking Cane Garden Bay. The condos are all painted crisp white with blue trim and furnishings, providing the perfect calming backdrop for your stay. Fully furnished with full kitchen, TV and walking distance to the grocery store, post office, laundromat, and several restaurants and bars. The beach is right across the street. Cane Garden Bay is on the opposite side of the island from the airport and the capital city, Road Town, so renting a car is a good. This will allow you flexibility to drive to other beaches on Tortola or to other areas of the island where you can catch a water taxi to other islands. Malcia knows everyone in town so she can suggest places to go, things to do, day sails, etc.

Room Tip: The top (third) level has the best views of the bay, highest price, and VERY steep steps to get ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesaGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

Malcia's place was great and she was most helpful. Cost effective, clean, functional and well located ... all things you need in a vacation rental. Do not go here if you have mobility issues - while close to the road, it is a steep driveway (with steps) to Lighthouse and if you are in an upper floor the stairs are steeper than normal steps (approaching that of a ladder). This did not pose a problem for us and once in the room everything was better than expected. Things worked (until a rainstorm took out the TV signal - but out of the control of Lighthouse). In the 3 nights we were there we ate out once - a "Pig out" at Myett's ... suckeling pig cooked in a sand pit - and ate on the balcony overlooking a placid CGB with its yachts becoming silouettes as the sun set. WOW.

Room Tip: It is a trade off between view and number of stairs ... room 3b, a studio on the 2nd floor with a ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianTrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We arrived on Tortola from the busy, commercialized island of St Thomas. We were greeted at the ferry dock by some friendly locals who asked if we were supposed to be renting a jeep from Jerry's even though we took the later ferry than we had planned. In no time a wonderful lady was there with our jeep and we were on our way. We arrived at Lighthouse Villas and although the rooms are a little dated there is something really magical about this place. Maybe its the white french doors framed with white billowy sheer curtains that open on to the balcony overlooking the most beautiful blue sky & sea dotted with sail boats. Across the road, just a few steps is Sailor's Rest. The most amazing little restaurant where I could have sat for hours watching the sailors coming and going from the pier. The sunsets we watched from here were breathtaking. The food was fantastic as well and we were treated like family.
There was also an outdoor community area on the first floor of villas that my husband and I had all to ourselves. I LOVED this place and like another poster am wanting to keep under wraps. I can't wait to return!!.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlicesDaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Almost afraid to give away the secrets of this place, so I will hold back a little. We recently
had the pleasure of staying several nights at the Lighthouse Villas. Mrs. Bean and her wonderful
staff were so nice and helpful. It was really difficult to leave. CGB (Cane Garden Bay) is one
of the most beautiful beaches I have visited. Mind you, this is not the Ritz, but that was not the
type of hotel experience we were looking for. Rooms are clean, views outstanding from the
third floor penthouse suite, and we loved our breakfasts at the Sailor's Rest, located at the
foot of the hill, and close to the dinghy dock. Be prepared for the steep climb with luggage,
which is one way to get some exercise when off the boat or beach. Cannot wait to return!!

Room Tip: Penthouse suite views are spectacular and worth the walk upstairs. Older couples may want to stay o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank medartist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Nice clean well-kept penthouse apartment with stunning views, facing west, perfect for watching the sunset over St. Thomas and Jost. A short stroll to the sandy beach for the day. Take your breakfast on the balcony and watch the pelicans and frigate birds swooping the sea. Two weeks here flies by and the hussle and bussle of the world is a distant memory. Malcia and the girls work hard to make your stay comfortable.

It's informal here so you can pack light (bring plenty of DEET), try if you can to come with hand luggage only - particularly if your flying with lax LIAT airlines (Luggage In Another Town!) they have an odd sense of Customer Service.

Would love to come back again, well worth hiring a Jeep as the other bays are well worth a day trip!

Room Tip: Penthouse and studio apartments are well worth the extra for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stay at the Lighthouse Villas every time we go to Tortola. Very nice rooms with great views of Cane Garden Bay Beach and neighboring islands. The owner Malcia is super nice and goes out of her way to make sure you have everything you need to be comfortable. Villas are within walking distance to the beach, bars and restaurants of CGB. Great price, nice rooms, awesome location!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great, but the rooms on higher floors give a little better view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We spent 10 nights at the Lighthouse Villas in May of 2011. The BVIs appealed to us due to their stunning beaches. More specifically, Cane Garden Bay appealed to us because we were within easy walking distance to restaurants and a supermarket. (We considered staying at the Sugar Mill, but not only was it a good deal more for an ocean view room, it’s remote location was a drawback. (two restaurants on the premises…you’d have to take a taxi elsewhere) We also thought that the beach at Cane Garden Bay was one of the prettiest on the island. Taxis are very expensive, but driving on the island at night is quite a challenge, so we chose only to rent a car for one day trip. After looking at what the options were in Cane Garden Bay, we felt we made the best choice for our preferences.

We stayed in one of the two units on the third (top) floor with a fantastic view. The bedroom area was very large, clean and modestly decorated. There are white sheer curtains on the French doors and windows, so if light is an issue in the morning, it would be a smart idea to bring sleeping eye masks. The kitchen and bathroom were OK, but could be modernized. The refrigerator and microwave were very useful. We purchased groceries at the local supermarket (Bobby’s Market Place) and ate all of our breakfasts and most lunches on the balcony…soaking up the view. A few repairs were obviously needed in this unit. The cable service to the small TV worked sporadically, but we were told that this was typical. Watching TV wasn’t a big deal, other than it was nice to catch up on the news (etc) once a day. Hopefully the repairs/replacements that needed to be made have been taken care of for future guests. The air conditioner became quite noisy during the night, so I wore earplugs to drown out the sound. The second bedroom was quite small and probably would only be appreciated by a family who needed a separate bedroom for young children. The king sized bed took up the room from wall to wall, so there was no walking space around it. We used this room to store our luggage and other things.

We encountered quite a bit of rain during our 10-day stay. This was good news for the islanders…as they needed the rain. Not so good news for vacationers. We’re thinking that maybe all of the rain increased the mosquito population because it was the only real issue we had during our stay. We used mosquito spray at night but I still went home with quite a few bites. I have read where folks strongly suggest you to bring mosquito spray or they complain about being ‘eaten alive’. Normally, I am not that susceptible to mosquitoes, but they loved me at The Lighthouse Villas! The housekeeper did spray the room one day per our request, but unfortunately that didn’t solve the problem. Every time we went into the bathroom and reached for a towel, it disturbed a group of mosquitoes so they’d start flying around again.

In response to comments from previous reviews, there is not a dog on the premises, but there is definitely one in the neighborhood who barks a lot in the morning. (no one seems to care or quiet him down) And yes, the roosters crow early in the morning, so if you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs. For others who sleep soundly, it’s not a problem! Between the air conditioner noise, heavy rains on the roof, roosters crowing and dogs barking it would be good to have earplugs on hand in case any of this bothers you. On the other hand, the room air conditioner and the fan may drown out the other noises just fine!

The driveway up to the Villas from the main road is steep. The first portion has steps built in, which makes it a little easier coming up and down on foot. The second half of the driveway is quite steep. Take your time and be careful and you should be fine! Once you get to the Inn, if you are on the third floor (like we were) you have three flights of stairs to climb. It was a good workout and may have burned a few calories! The tough part was getting suitcases up and down from the taxi. Malcia was kind enough to drive us up from the main road to a parking space at the Inn, so upon our arrival, it was just lugging the suitcases up the stairs.

Malcia was very welcoming as were her housekeepers. The two young ladies who work across the street at Sailor’s Rest were the sweetest and greeted us every day by name. I can picture them waving good-bye with big smiles on their faces, as we left in our taxi.

Speaking of taxi service, we highly recommend asking for Del at Del's Jeep Rentals ([---]). He will serve as your taxi driver and he also has a car rental agency just up the road from The Lighthouse Villas. Del was polite, kind, and dependable and will answer any questions you have about the island.

As for restaurants, the ones in the small village of Cane Garden Bay are all very casual. We ate at Big Banana Paradise, Myette’s Grill, Elm Beach Bar & Grill (for their Friday night BBQ), Stanley’s (great burgers at lunch!) and Captain Ty’s. All were good, but Captain Ty’s was our favorite. It’s not located in the center of the village, but an easy stroll down the beach, basically across from Callwood’s Rum Distillery. Captain Ty fishes each day and his ‘catch of the day’ is the favorite. “Dining tables” are actually the banister/snack bar overlooking the beach and there are stools for chairs. It’s worth a visit! Because of the expense of a taxi to and from restaurants, we carefully chose where to dine outside of Cane Garden Bay. We thoroughly enjoyed Banankeet Café’s outdoor atmosphere and awesome view as well as their meals. Sebastian’s on the Beach was another a great choice. Cruzin’ Bar & Grille and Palm’s Delight were also good. Quito’s was just re-opening the week we were there and we did not get to dine there. It’s directly below The Lighthouse Villas. Be forewarned that it can be noisy on the nights Quito has special events, like their ‘Black and White’ party. It can be very noisy into all hours of the night!

Because of the time of year we visited, cruise ship passengers weren’t a problem, because cruise ships were on Tortola only 2 of the 10 days we were there. Yes, it definitely changes the ambiance of quiet little Cane Garden Bay, and if it had been a daily occurence (which I assume it is in high season) we would have felt a little ‘cheated’ in having to share the beach with so many tourists.

Side trips for the day to Jost Van Dyke (White Bay) and Virgin Gorda (The Baths) were highlights. Although Julian (Baby Bull) will take you to these islands on his small boat from Cane Garden Bay, his ‘service’ fluctuates…depending on many things. (kiddingly referred to as “Captain Tomorrow” by another couple who finally got to take a trip with him to Jost Van Dyke) You might be better off booking day trips to other islands through a commercial catamaran or using the ferry service in Road Town or West End. (Again, you will have to pay for a taxi to get you there and back, if you haven’t rented a car)

Many reviewers comment on how expensive Tortola is, but it would be more accurate to say that this depends on what you where you stay, where you eat and what activities you decide to do. Meals and tasty rum beverages in the town of Cane Garden Bay were reasonable, and although the groceries were somewhat expensive, they were in line with what the cost would be if you were on any island…including the Hawaiian Islands. The only thing we noticed that was quite inexpensive (and unavoidable) was transportation…be it a taxi or a rental car. But getting out and about and exploring the island is half the fun! Snorkelers and beach bums shouldn’t miss Smuggler’s Cove! Brewer’s Bay is very quiet, but also provided good snorkeling. The best snorkeling we experienced was at The Baths on Virgin Gorda, but our snorkeling adventures were somewhat limited around the BVIs.

Room Tip: Bring effective mosquito repellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MStangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
2.6 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
7.5 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
99 reviews
14.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse Villas

Address: 540 Malcia A. Rymer Bean | C/O Rush - It, 00801, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Tortola
Price Range: £113 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lighthouse Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
suite styleIf you have ever dream of Time Sharing on Cane Garden Bay Tortola BVI.It can now become a reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lighthouse Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Villas Hotel Tortola
The Lighthouse Hotel
Lighthouse Hotel Tortola
The Lighthouse Villas Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing