We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place to chill before our sailing charter!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Myett's Garden Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tortola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Myett's Garden Inn
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
So CA USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great place to chill before our sailing charter!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Have stayed all over Tortola including villas on the beach, Myetts is a gem, we had rooms 4, 5 and 6 as there were 3 couples, the rooms were beautiful, new, very tastefully chosen furniture, two VERY comfortable beds, refrigerator and coffee maker, really nice!

The Staff was fantastic, even chatted with owners val and Kareem, super people!
There is happy hour basically every night and live entertainment of some sort about every night. The food was outastanding and the wait staff and bar staf very friendly and helpful.
The sunsets are beautiful, Cane Garden Bay is a great setting and Myett's has just the right feel to it.
There were cruise ship visitors one day, kinda a form of entertainment actually, they leave early afternoon and beach is all yours for a sunset stroll.
I rate this as a BVI 5 stars!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 4,5 and 6 are new with new furnishings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saildoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    54
    14
    10
    0
See reviews for
24
124
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, SC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

We needed a place to stay on Tortola Friday night before embarking on a Tradewinds catamaran at 5:00pm on a Saturday. We had not been impressed with the writeups and reviews for most of the places that did not charge an arm and a leg. Myett's was one that stood out as an exception. Both a good and lucky choice on our part.
We arrived at the airport a little after 6:00pm and after clearing customs we grabbed a cab. That was the only "down" part of our experience with Myett's. Not the cab or the driver, but the fact that the ride from the airport was so long (to say nothing of steep and mountainous with incredible switchbacks, etc.) that the bill was $50. Myett's is located in Cane Garden Bay which is in the NW portion of the island, a lonfg way from the airport and from the main town---Road Town.
But Myett's was great. A clean, more than adequate room. No problems with hot water or with the air conditioner. Really liked the restaurant. It overlooks the bay and has a wide variety of menu items at fairly reasonable prices. Breakfast (NOT included in the room charge) was especially good. But what was really great was that the management understood that while we had to checkout by 11:00am, we wanted to hang around to 3:00pm or so. They stored our bags and told us to set ourselves up in the restaurant.. We grabbed a prime table overlooking the bay, had breakfast, read and people watched, had lunch and just hung out. No pressure to buy although we did. Nice.
Cane Garden is a small town, but has a very nice beach. Myett's has refrigs in the rooms with basic tools (bottle opener, wine corkscrew, silverware, etc.). If you are traveling to Tortula and want a great place to stay for a few days and chill out (with or without a family) I would strongly recommend them.

HiltonShay

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiltonHeadWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

We spent three nights at Myett's and were in constant awe of how much we loved it there. We stayed in room number two, which is technically a garden view, but we still had a pretty good view of sunset over the ocean from our balcony. We were there over St. Patrick's Day and a weekend--I'm not sure what the music scenario is every other day, but there was live music/entertainment every night. We loved hearing the music from Myett's and the other bars down the beach from our balcony at night, but if you're looking for "peace and quiet" in the late evening, this might not be for you. Like I said, we loved it. There were two cruise ships in town the day we showed up, so the scene at the beach was extremely crowded, but the next day there were no cruise ships and I was thrilled at how much more remote the beach was. Cane Garden Bay is great--the restaurants play music all day, so you can lay on the beach, order a drink or a burger and listen to the music. We got to watch the sunset every night over Jost Van Dyke and St. Thomas--gorgeous. It's been three weeks since we got back from the Virgin Islands and I can't stop thinking about it!!!

Myett's was fantastic--worth every penny. The room was beautiful and clean, and they had complimentary drinks in the fridge. The bed was very comfortable. There's no tv in the rooms, but you don't go to Tortola to watch tv, so it shouldn't be a problem for anyone. One of the owners drives a taxi so whenever we needed to go somewhere, the front desk just gave him a call and arranged a ride for us. The front desk also confirms ferry times--make sure you let them do this for you! We learned how in consistent the ferries can be. We took a ferry over to Virgin Gorda for a day and that was awesome, too. We also walked a few blocks down the street from Myett's to tour the Callwood rum distillery.

We WILL be going back to Cane Garden Bay someday, and we WILL be staying at Myett's again. Stay here if you can--you will be glad you did!

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kusc0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St, Paul, MN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

If you want to stay on a gorgeous beach, have excellent food, great service, and fun entertainment at your doorstep, then come here. By the time we left after four days, we knew most staff members names and liked every one of them. The room was huge with a lovely balcony, very comfortable bed, and fridge for goodies bought at the local store. They even gave us a complimentary bottle of rum (confiscated at the airport, of course). We ate several meals at the restaurant and were impressed by the quality of the food made on an open grill just off the bar. The bar is what every beach bar should be: wildly casual, full of sailors, offering a daily happy hour. The entertainment was fun during happy hour, especially KapEye. One of our favorite outings was a tour of the island with "Sandman." We love people watching, so the cruisers on the beach were just added entertainment. There are some days when few come, others draw more. But it is only from 10-3, then the beach is all yours again. Actually, it is very entertaining to have people to observe, and it is never overcrowded. This is a really great getaway as once you are here you are here: no public transportation to anywhere. But Sandman can drive you in his taxi if you want to visit another beach or the very unusual Shell Museum in Carrot Bay. As Myett's is on the west end of Tortola, the taxi from the airport is $50, so be ready for that. You will not regret choosing Myett's

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintPauli_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asheville, nc
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

Positives:
1. The staff is the friendliest I have encountered at any hotel anywhere.
2. The six rooms are very roomy and well furnished.
3. On the beach
4 .Restaurant is very good and not exorbitant.
Negatives:
1. Cruise ships bring people to this beach . When they are there its wall to wall people.
2.Surrounding area can be loud past midnight from partying so if you are a late party person this is a positive but for older people like me it is a negative.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

I finally have the time to review Myett's as it should be. My hubby and I got married in the BVI in May 2010. We wanted to relax a little bit before the wedding and decided to stay at Cane Garden Bay. I found Myett's and am sooooo thrilled I did. It was a fantastic time, one which we will never forget. The owner, Kareem, is one of the friendliest and warmest people you will ever meet. Prince, the famous Cane Garden Bay bartender, and his wife are wonderful, kind people. We had so much fun hanging out and laughing on several evenings. Sandman was our driver, and he took us to some really amazing beaches to snorkel and he always had recommendation when we needed them. He was always ready to go when we needed, and he was always happy to drive us to and from the places we needed to go around town.

Unfortunately, our wedding was extremely stressful due to some unprofessionalism at another resort. When my then fiance and I would come back to Myett's after these stressful outings and dealing with a less than helpful wedding planner, Prince, Sandman, and Kareem were there to lift our spirits. Thanks to all of you for that! We always felt special and welcome at Myett's. It truly became our home away from home. We had planned on making the other resort our goto anniversary spot, but Myett'e stole our hearts and we will be back to visit on our anniversaries. They provided us with the spoils of being soon-to-be newlyweds and made up for the problems we were encountering at the other location. We were able to see some remnants of a wedding that took place the evening before we arrived. It looked so adorable!! From what I understand, they make bouquets from local, fresh flowers, which would be absolutely stunning. I would definitely recommend this place for a wedding. You will be so taken care of and have not a care in the world.

Cane Garden Bay is a wonderful place to stay and Myett's is close to everything you need. The beach is to die for and you get to be around locals that know the island very well. The rooms are very roomy and the price is unbeatable for being right on the beach. When we arrived, we found a complimentary bottle of rum in the room (the resort we were married at and had the honeymoon at didn't even bother to do this and it was 6 times more expensive per night), which was nice, and the large kitchenette was great to store food from the local market that is in walking distance. The atmosphere is FANTASTIC at the restaurant, you feel like you are in a little jungle. The food was great as well. We loved waking up in the morning and dining with live music.

What we love so much about Myett's is the full experience from the roomy rooms, to the location, to the friendly and lovable staff and owners. We were there at the end of May, which is the shoulder season. It is a great time to go because there are no tourists coming in from the large cruise ships and you have the freedom to run around and do what you wish with lots of privacy. It was a beautiful and wonderful place. It was the highlight of our wedding and honeymoon- thank goodness we decided to go to BVI earlier so that we could have some wonderful memories for our wedding. Thanks Myett's, we will see you again soon!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank engagedinoct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

Cane Garden Bay is beautiful and Myetts is a great place to stay. We only stayed there one night as we were on a tight budget, but we had a lovely room - really big with a fridge and coffee maker and a complimentary bottle of rum!!!! The staff were really helpful and friendly. The atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming.
The bar and restaurant are to be recommended too. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PICROLITE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortola hotels
2.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
3.8 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Icis Villas
Icis Villas
#10 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.7 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.9 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#6 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myett's Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myett's Garden Inn

Property: Myett's Garden Inn
Address: Cane Garden Bay, Tortola (Formerly Myett's Garden and Grille)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tortola
#4 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming spacious air-conditioned rooms nestled in tropical gardens, on a spectacular white sand beach, clear blue water accompanied by romantic sunsets every day. Excellent restaurant, Day Spa, Gift Shop, Recreational Beach Equipment Rental, and Guest Services on property. Received the Trip Adviser Certificate of Excellence for several years in a row. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myett`s Garden And Grille Hotel Tortola
Myetts Garden And Grille Tortola
Myett's Garden Inn Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing