We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at Myett's”
Review of Myett's Garden Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tortola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Myett's Garden Inn
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed at Myett's four nights in Nov 2011. What can we say, we had an awesome time. The beach is beautiful and really I could spend the rest of my vacations there. The staff is extremely friendly and were very helpful especially when it came to helping us book a rental car and getting around the island in general. We enjoyed nightly cocktails at the bar and even some yummy food (the stacked burger is to die for!). As far as noise, we were never bothered by any loud music. There was some music during happy hour; I enjoyed opening the windows and listening to it while we got ready. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cavvygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

So glad we stayed at Myetts, everyone there was great and you cant beat the location! The room itself really surprised us, huge, clean and updated!

Food at the restaurant and happy hour was fantastic!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurenvuitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I stayed here for four nights this month and simply loved my stay. My room was oceanfront with a private deck overlooking the beach. The bed was comfy, the shower was hot and I even had a mini kitchen- all for about $100 a night.

The hotel is located on one of the most beautiful beaches in the entire Caribbean- Cane Garden Bay. It's the kind of beach that you can just float in the water all day.

The restaurant has excellent food, and the bar makes a terrific bushwacker. Tell Vishaal that I sent you. The new pastry chef, Christie, is very talented and her desserts are decadent.

The staff is super friendly, the service is excellent and it's a very safe and beautiful location.

I loved that there's a boutique (where I bought two dresses) and a spa (where I got my hair trimmed and enjoyed a facial too!).

I'll most definitely stay here again! Recommend it 100%!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GGSlatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I almost hesitate to write a review for fear of not having room available for me on my next trip. ;-)
Myett's is a very relaxing place to stay especially before of after a bareboat charter. The property is beautiful, located right on the beach with a bar and restaurant overlooking the bay. The staff is friendly and the accommodations are clean and fresh. I will return at every opportunity.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Beautiful, tropical hotel and restaurant on the beach in Cane Garden Bay. Huge, clean rooms and friendly staff. Shelly at the front desk makes you feel "at home" from the moment you arrive. The food at the restaurant is terrific and fairly priced. Service was first rate from everyone in the restaurant, bar, housekeeping, gift shop... We met the owners and they were genuinely happy to have us as their guests. Hotel provides beach chairs and umbrellas. It's in the heart of CGB, so everything is easy walking distance. There is a Bobby's Market one block away. We go to Tortola often and plan to stay at Myett's on future trips.

Room Tip: All are good, we had three couple in three great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed at Myett's for 4 nights from July 5-9, prior to our sailboat charter in the British Virgin Islands. The hotel had a cab waiting for us at the airport, which turned out to be Sandman, one of the owners. He gave us a great night tour of the island on the way over to Cane Garden Bay and the conversation was interesting. We found it very easy to engage most of the locals we met in conversation, something that as Canadians we don't often do! Everyone was so very warm and welcoming.

Myett's is about a 40-minute taxi ride from the airport, which will cost you $50. It's $27 to get back over the mountain to Road Town. The drive was well worth it, because the atmosphere over in Cane Garden Bay was paradise compared to the chaos of Road Town.

We had a "garden view" room, which was on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the centre courtyard. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. We turned it off when we weren't in the room and it took no time at all to cool back down when we returned. Our room also included a small fridge which was a great place to keep snacks and drinks so that we could nibble throughout the day. (The local grocery store, Bobby's, is an easy walk across the street.) The room included a free starter coffee pack and a free litre of Myett's cane rum. Welcome to the Islands!

Our friends stayed in an ocean view room but found the music from the bar and smoke from the grill a bit of a problem in the evenings. The music was finished by 11:00 each night, though.

Accommodations on Tortola are expensive but we felt that Myett's gave us very good value for our money.

Myett's is one of the nicest restaurants on Cane Garden Bay: we ate there 3 nights during our stay. It was the only restaurant offering live entertainment (July is the low season for the BVI) and the only restaurant that was full almost every night: make a reservation to get ocean-side seating!

This hotel is directly on the beach: you walk through the restaurant to get to the sand. Cane Garden Bay is one of the most beautiful beaches in the entire BVI: a long stretch of powdery white sand, no rocks or coral until you are very far out and beautiful, calm water with very few waves, even when the weather was very stormy on the other (Road Town) side of the island. Wonderful for couples, families, kids, swimming & sunbathing.

If you're a strong swimmer, the snorkeling is excellent out on the reef to the left hand side of the bay. (Where the sailboats are NOT anchored.) Thousands of fish and beautiful coral, all in less than 20 feet of water, great visibility. It took about 15 minutes of swimming around the edge of the bay to get out to the reef, so this is not a good place to snorkel for people who are unsure of themselves in the water.

If we find ourselves back in the BVI, we will definitely return to Myett's!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lindaslair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We actually stayed in the Cane Garden cottages which are run by Myetts and are a stones throw away from the main restaurant/hotel. The cottages are situated in an old sugar plantation and are very private. A short walk across the street and down by a graveyard takes you to a beautiful beach. The cottages are fairly basic but are clean and comfortable and if you like to get back to nature - perfect place to stay. Within waking distance are a couple of shops, great bars/restaurants on the beach. We ate at Myetts restaurant virtually every night, the food is brilliant, the location right on the beach is spectacular and the people couldn't be nicer. I would say the only down sides were the cockrel who started crowing at about 3.00am every morning and the mosquitoes. But what can you expect and a small price to pay for being in such a beautiful location.

Room Tip: Avoid the beach on days when cruise ships are in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miraby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortola hotels
2.9 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
132 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
3 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
2.7 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
284 reviews
3.7 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myett's Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myett's Garden Inn

Address: Cane Garden Bay, Tortola (Formerly Myett's Garden and Grille)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range: £65 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming spacious air-conditioned rooms nestled in tropical gardens, on a spectacular white sand beach, clear blue water accompanied by romantic sunsets every day. Excellent restaurant, Day Spa, Gift Shop, Recreational Beach Equipment Rental, and Guest Services on property. Received the Trip Adviser Certificate of Excellence for several years in a row. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myett`s Garden And Grille Hotel Tortola
Myetts Garden And Grille Tortola
Myett's Garden Inn Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing