We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”
Review of Myett's Garden Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tortola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Myett's Garden Inn
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Carrsville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My husband and I had visited Cane Garden Bay for a day trip from a cruise 3 years ago. We loved it so much that we decide to go back and stay there. We rode the ferry over from St Thomas after staying there for 3 nights. When we got to Myetts, we never left until it was time to go home. We stayed in the room facing the water. The room was clean and spacious. It had a great air conditioner and the bed was very comfortable. We ate all of our meals in the restaurant. The food was very good and you couldnt beat the view right there on the water. The sunsets were spectacular! The staff was very accomodating and Kimmy was great! Our last night there was the weekend of the music festival. While we enjoyed the music, it was SOOO loud and went on until 3 in the morning. We were very glad that was our only night of that. Except for that, it was without a doubt the most relaxing vacation we have ever had. I'm not really one to repeat where we go on vacation, because there are so many places I want to go, but I think we will definitely make an exception in this case!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachgirl19572013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    58
    14
    11
    0
See reviews for
27
130
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

If I had to pick three adjectives to describe Myett’s, it would probably be “peaceful,” “eclectic,” and “beachy.” If you want to stay on the beach in Cane Garden Bay (and trust me, you do) then Myett’s is where you want to be. Our room was large and comfortable (one king bed, fold out sofa, dinette, dorm fridge, sink) with a nice balcony. The bar and restaurant are open air with good views of the beach—you could easily spend the afternoon drinking rum punches in the bar or just taking them to the beach chairs by the water 20 feet away. The staff is friendly and helpful. Kimmy and Cheryl are the mainstays in reception and are super helpful and friendly. If you need to know anything from the weather, to the local vibe, to what you need to bring; ask them. I e-mailed Kimmy several times before we arrived for information—always got a quick response. Within short walking distance is “Bobby’s,” a small story where you can stock up on beer, rum, food, etc.; a laundry right next to Bobby’s; the Callwood rum distillery (the only rum distillery on Tortola and the tour is only $2/pp); several bars (The Elm, Tony’s); and a great restaurant named “Quito’s.” If you have a mask and snorkel, walk up the beach 100 feet past the dinghy dock at Quito’s, look for two white empty plastic beach bottles tied together, and swim to them. In 20 feet of water is a submerged barge with plenty of fish—bait fish, white snapper, tarpon, puffers, and much more.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CHXBeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, VA
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My family stayed there for 3 days in April and the room was spacious and cool. CGB can be humid and hot during the day but the evenings are cool generally. Breakfast was always good although the morning service is a bit slow (sluggish?). C is a lot of fun and is always right there with your drinks. Been a lot of places and the dinner can be world class, totally. Vicharr has been there for awhile and was very friendly and helpful with the dinner menus. Sandman is a class act and fun too. We will definitely be back next year. It has everything we could want or need for a great time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HokieHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Spent three nights here in March. Not grande luxe, but they 'have it all together' in a way that creates a very pleasant, relaxed atmosphere. Nice rooms - clean, attractively decorated, with powerful modern a/c units as well as ceiling fans. Large casual restaurant opening onto the beach with good menu and live music in the early evening. Helpful staff behind the desk. Driver will meet you at the airport (separate charge; be aware that taxis on Tortola are not cheap, renting a car can make more sense). The free wifi worked well in the restaurant but not in the bedrooms; there are hotel computers you can use to print out your boarding card for the flight home. For its overall appeal, Myetts well deserves the 'excellent' rating other reviewers have given it.
Jeremy Stone

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This was our first time staying at Myett's. First of all, what a beautiful place. Cane Garden Bay is gorgeous. The hotel itself is very small. If you are looking for a big resort with lots of amenities, this is not it. If you are looking for a place that has large rooms that are clean, Myett's is it. The staff is very pleasant and easy to deal with. Myett's is very relaxing. It is my idea of a Caribbean resort. No cable, a few little quirks (shower pressure not good and don't drink the water), but overall, a very nice place. The food was very good and not too pricey for the Caribbean. One of the few drawbacks, cruise ships. When one of the large boats come in, the beach does get crowded around 10 am. But typically by 3:30, you have the place to yourself. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center, just get in the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Having stayed at Myett's twice (Nov 2010 and 2012) both times for a few nights coming off a charter, I can echo the comments by others.
I can't think of anything I'd want to change about it (OK. maybe the cruise ship day trippers).
The hotel has been constructed with sensitivity to its environment and feels like its part of the jungle with trees growing around and through the structure of the building.

The rooms are clean, very comfortable, spacious, cool, and airy.
The welcome and service is warm, friendly and helpful but not over bearing.
The restaurant has a good selection for breakfast, lunch and dinner and the food is well prepared, the staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
On the last night of the most recent stay we went to the Banakeet for dinner and I managed to leave my camcorder under the table, only realising when I returned to Myett's.
The staff immediately contacted the Banakeet to confirm it was still there and one of the waitresses, who was off duty at the time, drove up to collect it for me and returned it within 20 minutes!!

With only a small number of rooms but in that location, I don't know where you'd find anything to match it....I've certainly not.
I'm just concerned that with all these positive comments they'll get so busy they'll not have any availability for when we want to go back!

Room Tip: The rooms above the gift shop are larger than those on the reception side but that's a relative...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We enjoyed being at Myetts so very much while we were staying in a villa at Cane Garden bay. The staff were just so very nice especially Kimmy who I can sincerely say was such a true pleasure to have met, so helpful in every way I shall always remember her as a big part of our happy time spent at Myetts. The food was the best we ever had while in the BVI and the music every night at happy hour was special, how I miss those wonderful cocktails always served with a smile, I send a big thank you to everyone we met during our visits there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Espiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortola hotels
2.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
401 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sugar Mill Hotel
Sugar Mill Hotel
#2 of 25 in Tortola
643 reviews
3.7 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
285 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
2.7 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myett's Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myett's Garden Inn

Property: Myett's Garden Inn
Address: Cane Garden Bay, Tortola (Formerly Myett's Garden and Grille)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tortola
#2 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming spacious air-conditioned rooms nestled in tropical gardens, on a spectacular white sand beach, clear blue water accompanied by romantic sunsets every day. Excellent restaurant, Day Spa, Gift Shop, Recreational Beach Equipment Rental, and Guest Services on property. Received the Trip Adviser Certificate of Excellence for several years in a row. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myett`s Garden And Grille Hotel Tortola
Myetts Garden And Grille Tortola
Myett's Garden Inn Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing