We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service!”
Review of Myett's Garden Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tortola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Myett's Garden Inn
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2010

They know their business which is service. All staff was understanding the customer is first. Food at the restaurant was outstanding as well - exceeded expectations.

The room was recently renovated and needed a few touch ups still. Grill for the bathroom fan was missing. Cover plates for an outlet was missing. Paint drips on the floor. I don't hold this against them becuase this seems like regular island level of craftsmanship.

Lots of local restaurants and bars within walking distance. Neighborhood needs a cleanup - a bit too much litter.

Grocery store near by helped keep the food costs down.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c8b8c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Myett's Garden Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2010

We spent four days with the Rhymer family recently (and I mean family, which I'll explain shortly). Quite honestly the website doesn't do Myett's justice. Our king room (#5) was huge including a little kitchenette (no cooking, but a fridge, utensils, etc.), small table and chairs, double sink vanity, separate shower/ bath and separate toilet. There is a balcony on our second floor unit; the view is of the "jungle courtyard" below (part of the Myett's very tropical ambiance). It was very clean, the AC worked great and the bed was very comfortable. Not fancy, but exactly what we want from a room in the caribbean.

There are a number of bar/ restaurants in the CGB area, but except for breakfast, we ate most meals there. There restaurant consistently serves well prepared island-type food (easy to eat healthy if you want).

CGB beach is beautiful. The only drawback are the cruise ship passengers that descend most days (The front desk knows the advance schedule, including how many ships on that day - plan your days around it) They begin arriving about 10:00 and were mostly gone by 2:00. If you enjoy people watching, you may not care. Once they leave, figure 20 people on a quarter mile stretch of beach.

Finally the "family." Val, Kareem and Sandman (Leon) are the proprietors and they run the property in a very professional manner. There is always primping and pruning going on. The rest of the family consists of non-relatives like Shelly and Sheryl at the front desk; Trish at the bar; Judie in the restaurant and others whose names we forgot were all WONDERFUL!

Nice room, super beach, very tropical ambience, good food and very effecient and friendly staf. How can you beat that?

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skipb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2010

The only negative is that this place isn't really economical... however, nothing is in the BVI. So, with that said, the big rooms, great service, on-beach location and great bar with tasty food.... oh, and snorkeling right down the shore... is unbeatable. Sunsets are spectacular too!

BTW: the old guy who rented out the room overlooking the beach - for like 6 months - would have turrets outbreaks in the middle of the night and we would wake to his yells. Beware and try to NOT stay in the nearby room.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldAdventurer_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myetts, Owner at Myett's Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2010

We have a very distinquished and respectable elder man who rents our room for the winter. He was having some medical problems during this time and by no means does he ever disturb our guests. This statement should not deter customers from booking any or our rooms. As a matter of fact it will be a pleasure to meet this nice man.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

Myett's is simply better than the best. Hotel rooms very spacious, clean and the rum is an added special touch. The owners Val and Kareem, and Sandman are top rate people, we've been coming back since 1992 and each year it just keeps getting better and better!! The gift shop has great quality items, the food at the restaurant is second to none and the bar rocks!! Entertainment here is awesome, we loved every minute of happy hour. Truly the highlight of our trips to the Islands is a visit, and this time, stay over at Myett's. Let the good times roll and keep up the great work!!! We can't wait to come back and play some more!!! Also can't wait to try the spa next trip... I hear it's awesome too. During our stay, there was an "emergency wedding" since the sea was rough, the couple decided to marry on land....they did it in the garden and have to say, the flowers and seeing the staff jump into service, really made the day a success for the couple. They even ended up staying at the hotel for the night. Beautiful memories at Myetts, you won't be disappointed in any way.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnbyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

We got married in the BVI in November and had quite the flotilla of 10 catamarans. My fiance and I chose Myetts (not many venues can accommodate 70+ people). We had the best time! The cruise ship was in that day so there were a few tourists hanging around, but Myett's kindly set aside space for our guests and did a nice job setting up the tables and arrangements. They cleared all the tacky sun chairs and umbrellas off the beach which helped the wedding planner arrange an "aisle". The food was awesome (heavy appetizers) and the music they arranged worked for our crowd. The staff was terrific and handled our rum-filled crowd graciously. Our room that night was also great (AC!) It had everything but a TV, which is perfect. I would suggest this place for any event, or a short trip but be cautious of the cruise ships. Their beach is beautiful but there are other, more remote places I'd pick over a cruise-ship packed beach (not so pretty... but great people watching!) Cute gift shop too!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okoboji_capt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We recently travelled to the British Virgin Islands with another couple. Our main mission was to charter a yacht and spend a week visiting the islands. In order to acclimate ourselves to the area, we decided to spend the first few days on Tortola and found a slice of heaven at Cane Garden Bay. Valerie and the staff at Myett's were as nice and helpful as could be. We rented a car as the cab fares would have easily been as much and would not have given us the freedom we enjoy. There are only 6 rooms and ours were very nice, clean and comfortable. The rooms are nestled into a canopy of trees so you can barely see the water which is only steps away, but coffee on the balcony was so relaxing. The only issue was the noise from the locals, who seem to party all night long, at least on the weekends. Quitos up the beach goes late into the night and while you couldn't really hear the band from the room, the spill over crowd wandering the beach got a bit raucus. I would recommend a driving tour in Tortola as there is a nice eco trail and rain forrest at the top of the mountain. (The restaurant at the trail head there, which was in the tour book as recommended, has no real view and didn't seem appealing to us.) I would recommend Myett's highly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merfco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We arrived at Myetts Cane Garden Bay on August 1, 2009. Having been to Cane Garden Bay before I knew this was the best place to stay in the area. However I read some reviews and became a little nervous. Here is the scoop:
1) Expectations: Set them low and high at the same time. Cane Garden Bay and Tortola for that matter are not very developed. I am sure there are some very nice resorts somewhere on the island but this is not the place to go if you are looking to be waited on hand and foot and have a brand new room. If you are looking for that DON'T GO. However if you are looking for simplicity, an escape from the busy life, the ability to make friends with the locals and natural beauty this is your place!
2) Rooms: The rooms are spacious but somewhat old. However they take very good care of them and keep them very clean. The maid comes daily and replaces everything, including your sheets (if you request it). Upon arrival you will find a complimentary bottle of rum and coke in your fridge ( a very nice gesture). In the room you have one tv, bed, fridge, sink, counter, table, and couch. The cable tv does not work but the tvs have built in dvds and they have a ton of dvds down in the front office. But lets face it....you are not coming here to watch tv!!!!! This is not a huge hotel and I would guess there are only 10-15 hotel rooms.
3) Staff: To understand the staff you need to understand the people of the Carribean. They are very laid back, yet respectful and nice. If you treat them with respect they will do the same. This is not just at Myetts its all over the island. If you are staying for a week, you will definitely come to know the staff and the locals, which I found especially fun. I feel as though we have a place in the islands where we know people and they know us, which will be great when we come back. The desk staff are very courteous and helpful. They have a free phone for you to use and will always be willing to assist with arranging cabs and other transportation. I spoke to them daily and they always remembered my name and always had a smile!!!!!
4) Food/Bar: The food at Myetts was good but not GREAT. Honestly I think it is the best you are going to do on the island though. Be warned it can get pricey to. My reccomendation is to go across the street to Bobbys and buy your breakfast food (cereal, OJ, toast et cetera) and that will save you a ton right from the beginning. If you are planning on staying in the area for lunch, Bobby's also sells Deli meats. Its honestly a fully stock grocery store, you can GET ANYTHING THERE. The food anywhere on the island is just OK and it is all pricey but I definitely would rate Myetts as the best. The bar is great! Drinks are cheap and the happy hour specials are awesome. Two bartenders handle the place, Prince and Karen. They warm up to you once you get to know them a bit. I thought they were great and tought me a lot about the island and culture.
5) Cabs: They can be pricey and cheap. They don't use meters, for the most part they just make up the prices. Myetts has two drivers Sandman and sometimes Prince. Sandman we were told was expensive. However I didn't find him unreasonable and I thought he was fun to talk too. Figure $20-$25 to go to Road Town or West End. Prince (yes the bartender) however was my favorite driver because if you get to know him he will give you a thorough tour of the island and is never in a rush. He taught us a lot about Tortola and even took us to the Bomba Shack for a drink.
5) Weather: It rains every day and every night but only for a little bit. Its actually a relief from the hot sun. The sun is intense and the heat can get to you. BRING PLENTY OF SUN BLOCK and apply every two-three hours.
6) Time of Year to Go: September to early October is Hurricane season so be careful, plus a lot of stuff is closed. End of October to mid may is the peak tourist season and everything seems to be open and packed. However I much prefer June - August. This is the quietest time of year and you can't be guaranteed that everything is open but you can be guaranteed to have a quiet, peaceful vacation. On certain days we were the only ones on the beach...how awesome is that.
7) Day Trips: Tortola is a small island and Myetts is in a great location. While visiting be sure to walk down the beach to Quitos one evening (hopefully he is playing). During the day you can take a ferry trip (Use Speedys in Road Town) to Virgin Gorda and the Baths, check out the Caves, Indians, Willy-T and White Bay (all can be done by contacting the charter company BlueSailBVI.com) contact them about a week out and make arrangements with Captain Bill. He is great! Its a small company with a lot of knowledge. It will cost you about $80 for a full day but that includes the locations, snacks and beer, water and soda. Also make sure you head over to Smugglers Cove. Don't drive yourself, take a cab and make sure you get a number from the driver or call Myetts when you are ready to leave. There is so much more to do but I feel as though these are the highlights.

Conclusion:
Sorry for all of the typos!!! Tortola is awesome, and Myetts is an incredible place. I love it and look forward to going back. Seriously ignore the bad review. I don't feel like those are typical experiences. If you are looking for 5 star luxury don't come here and don't go to Tortola. If you are looking for natural beauty, some of the best looking beaches in the world, crystal clear water, tons of sealife and friendly people this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Firemansta151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortola hotels
2.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
7.5 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
293 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
388 reviews
2.7 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
283 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Heritage Inn
The Heritage Inn
#9 of 25 in Tortola
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myett's Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myett's Garden Inn

Address: Cane Garden Bay, Tortola (Formerly Myett's Garden and Grille)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tortola
#2 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range: £67 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming spacious air-conditioned rooms nestled in tropical gardens, on a spectacular white sand beach, clear blue water accompanied by romantic sunsets every day. Excellent restaurant, Day Spa, Gift Shop, Recreational Beach Equipment Rental, and Guest Services on property. Received the Trip Adviser Certificate of Excellence for several years in a row. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myett`s Garden And Grille Hotel Tortola
Myetts Garden And Grille Tortola
Myett's Garden Inn Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing