We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Myett's Garden Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tortola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Myett's Garden Inn
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

My husband and I stayed at Myetts for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly and the food was very good and you have the option of getting appetizers at the bar if you don't want a big meal. The rooms were basic, but clean. The a/c was refreshing after 3 nights without it on Jost Van Dyke. Cane Garden Bay is a great spot if you are looking for a some nightlife. The beach was okay but I prefer Long Bay or Marina Cay so we left CGB most days. The location was a good base to explore the island. Our room was by the guy referred to in a past review that had medical issues, but he was nice and did not cause any disturbances.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lehighvalleytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    54
    14
    10
    0
See reviews for
24
124
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
saratoga springs, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

Myett's was a great, fun place to relax on one of the most breathtaking beaches I have ever seen!!! Our room was great, could hear the ocean's waves crashing from our window! The bar is great..great breakfast and blood mary's to happy hour and great wings.
Great location for beach bars...music every night on Cane Garden Bay. Everyone is so friendly and my boyfriend and I are counting the days until we return.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j2k29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

Myett's was the perfect place for us relax a couple days on land after a week of sailing. Great sunset location right on the beach in Cane Garden Bay, a fun bar with live music at during happy hour, a nice restaurant and very friendly and helpful staff.

We stayed in two adjoining suites and the photos on their website don't really do them justice. They're quite a bit roomier than they appear.

Unfortunately one of us got ill and needed to go the hospital in Road Town on the day we were supposed to fly out. The owners really helped us out by extending our stay and tracking down some airline numbers so we could change our flights. One of the owners, Sandman, even stopped by the hospital to check on us and offer assistance. Service and concern for customers like that is FAR from the norm in the BVI. And we really appreciated it. We'd definitely stay at Myett's again next time we get to Tortola.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _BK7238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

They know their business which is service. All staff was understanding the customer is first. Food at the restaurant was outstanding as well - exceeded expectations.

The room was recently renovated and needed a few touch ups still. Grill for the bathroom fan was missing. Cover plates for an outlet was missing. Paint drips on the floor. I don't hold this against them becuase this seems like regular island level of craftsmanship.

Lots of local restaurants and bars within walking distance. Neighborhood needs a cleanup - a bit too much litter.

Grocery store near by helped keep the food costs down.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c8b8c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

We spent four days with the Rhymer family recently (and I mean family, which I'll explain shortly). Quite honestly the website doesn't do Myett's justice. Our king room (#5) was huge including a little kitchenette (no cooking, but a fridge, utensils, etc.), small table and chairs, double sink vanity, separate shower/ bath and separate toilet. There is a balcony on our second floor unit; the view is of the "jungle courtyard" below (part of the Myett's very tropical ambiance). It was very clean, the AC worked great and the bed was very comfortable. Not fancy, but exactly what we want from a room in the caribbean.

There are a number of bar/ restaurants in the CGB area, but except for breakfast, we ate most meals there. There restaurant consistently serves well prepared island-type food (easy to eat healthy if you want).

CGB beach is beautiful. The only drawback are the cruise ship passengers that descend most days (The front desk knows the advance schedule, including how many ships on that day - plan your days around it) They begin arriving about 10:00 and were mostly gone by 2:00. If you enjoy people watching, you may not care. Once they leave, figure 20 people on a quarter mile stretch of beach.

Finally the "family." Val, Kareem and Sandman (Leon) are the proprietors and they run the property in a very professional manner. There is always primping and pruning going on. The rest of the family consists of non-relatives like Shelly and Sheryl at the front desk; Trish at the bar; Judie in the restaurant and others whose names we forgot were all WONDERFUL!

Nice room, super beach, very tropical ambience, good food and very effecient and friendly staf. How can you beat that?

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skipb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2010

The only negative is that this place isn't really economical... however, nothing is in the BVI. So, with that said, the big rooms, great service, on-beach location and great bar with tasty food.... oh, and snorkeling right down the shore... is unbeatable. Sunsets are spectacular too!

BTW: the old guy who rented out the room overlooking the beach - for like 6 months - would have turrets outbreaks in the middle of the night and we would wake to his yells. Beware and try to NOT stay in the nearby room.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldAdventurer_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myetts, Owner at Myett's Garden Inn, responded to this review, 1 March 2010
We have a very distinquished and respectable elder man who rents our room for the winter. He was having some medical problems during this time and by no means does he ever disturb our guests. This statement should not deter customers from booking any or our rooms. As a matter of fact it will be a pleasure to meet this nice man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

Myett's is simply better than the best. Hotel rooms very spacious, clean and the rum is an added special touch. The owners Val and Kareem, and Sandman are top rate people, we've been coming back since 1992 and each year it just keeps getting better and better!! The gift shop has great quality items, the food at the restaurant is second to none and the bar rocks!! Entertainment here is awesome, we loved every minute of happy hour. Truly the highlight of our trips to the Islands is a visit, and this time, stay over at Myett's. Let the good times roll and keep up the great work!!! We can't wait to come back and play some more!!! Also can't wait to try the spa next trip... I hear it's awesome too. During our stay, there was an "emergency wedding" since the sea was rough, the couple decided to marry on land....they did it in the garden and have to say, the flowers and seeing the staff jump into service, really made the day a success for the couple. They even ended up staying at the hotel for the night. Beautiful memories at Myetts, you won't be disappointed in any way.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bnbyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortola hotels
2.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
3.8 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Icis Villas
Icis Villas
#10 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.7 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
2.9 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#5 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myett's Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myett's Garden Inn

Property: Myett's Garden Inn
Address: Cane Garden Bay, Tortola (Formerly Myett's Garden and Grille)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tortola
#3 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming spacious air-conditioned rooms nestled in tropical gardens, on a spectacular white sand beach, clear blue water accompanied by romantic sunsets every day. Excellent restaurant, Day Spa, Gift Shop, Recreational Beach Equipment Rental, and Guest Services on property. Received the Trip Adviser Certificate of Excellence for several years in a row. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myett`s Garden And Grille Hotel Tortola
Myetts Garden And Grille Tortola
Myett's Garden Inn Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing