We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful holiday/30th anniversary get-a-way.”
Review of Agape Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tortola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Agape Cottages
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Agape cottages are well placed at Cane Garden Bay. Spacious, airy and well equipped, they are delightful for travellers who like something a little quirky and off beat -in a nice way! Donna and Tom are perfect hosts and David is an inspiration to folk of all ages. We had a great stay and would love to visit again sometime. A vehicle is a must and possibly Agape would not be the best choice for people with limited mobility. Cane Garden Bay also has much to offer and is one of the most pictueresque locations on Tortola. Recommend Sailors Rest to eat - lovely food.
Thank you all for making our visit so memorable. Sue & Ray.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MulehouseSKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

It would be hard to say enough about the people that run this place. Great hospitality and environment! We really enjoyed this quiet island and place - where you can experience enough of true island life in a comfortable and friendly way. Don't come here if you are looking for the luxury resort type setting, but if you want something very nice, clean, great people to work with, and a much more local atmosphere - this is a great place. Close to nice beaches and fantastic food from local businesses. Food and beaches within walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Eldon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Our daughter and son- of in-law had been to Agape Cottages 7 years ago and spoke so highly of Donna, Tom and their Dad and the cottages themselves that my husband and I decided to go there to celebrate our 40th anniversary. It was awesome, and we felt as though we were part of the Abrerara family!!! From Paul our taxi driver to the people around Cane Garden Bay, our daysail on the Aristocat,swimming, snorkeling, restaurants, and walking I can't say enough good things about Cane Garden Bay and especially Donna and Tom!! Even losing electricity, and mosquitoes didn't ruin our fun experience..... just use bug spray and carry a flashlight!!! We took the ferry to Virgin Gorda to see The Baths, and it was a wonderful day!! We enjoyed talking to the people who live on Tortola, learning the history of the Island. Donna, makes a map for each cottage providing us with lots of information needed to help make our visit so much easier.... I brought mine back home as a momento..... The beauty of the water, Island, and the people made us so Thankful that we chose Agape Cottages for our anniversary!!! We tried to bring back to Fl. the relaxed and slower pace.. the onmly negative was that we only had 1 week there, but we plan on going back!!!!!

Room Tip: We loved being in J1, a 1 bedroom/bath with a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Agape Cottages exceeded my expectations, and a lot of that had to do with Donna and Tom. First of all the cottages are just above Myetts (and other nice restaurants/bars) at Cane Garden Bay. Others have complained about the steepness of the hill they sit on but you can think about the fact that it works of calories and you wouldn't have such a fabulous view of the entire bay if it wasn't on the hillside! It really isn't that bad of a walk unless you have physical issues. Besides the fact that the unit had everything we needed, and the view, the view, the view, Donna and Tom were such gracious hosts. Our luggage was left in JFK and Donna went out of her way to keep calling locally to try to get it delivered. She even offered toiletries and was so kind. They really are wonderful hosts. We have spent time on the island before and loved being able to drive out in the day to Smuggler's Cove, our fav beach, and then in the evening walk down to the beach for a cocktail and for dinner. I prefer this side of the island both for the beaches and restaurants (don't mind sunset at Bananakeet Cafe!), and this was truly a perfect spot and much better than staying at a hotel. Thanks again Donna and Tom, we will be back!!!!

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eurobimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

As two travellers from Alberta, Canada, having read all the reviews, is there anything more we can say about Agape? We spent three amazing weeks with great people as hosts, wonderful view and our own personal tour guide in Donna. She provided information on best restaurants, tours, and sites. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My girlfriend and I just spent a week at Cane Garden Bay and we loved our stay at Agape Cottages. The cottages are very comfortable. The view is amazing. Tom and Donna are wonderful hosts. We would not hesitate to go back!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Evan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

If you are planning on visiting Tortola, consider Agage Cottages at Cane Garden Bay. We stayed for 10 days and had the best time. The owners, Tom and Donna, were just wonderful and very helpful to make our experience the best. I would recommend this place to everyone. Our cottage was very clean and the view was breathtaking. We sat on our deck and watched the boats go by, the activity in town and even the chickens. If I ever get a chance to return I would stay here again. And it is within walking distance to all the resturants and beach. I would choose Agape over a five star hotel. It was comfortable and I felt so at home. I'll be back someday....

Room Tip: We stayed at J2 and the views were breathtaking. Really nice deck to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vjreth10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortola hotels
2.8 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
133 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
3.8 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ke Villas
Ke Villas
#1 of 1 in Carrot Bay
33 reviews
2.5 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
284 reviews
5.3 mi away
Turtle Bay Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
#13 of 25 in Tortola
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agape Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agape Cottages

Address: Cane Garden Bay, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Tortola
Price Range: £91 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agapé Cottages is a family-owned vacation rental business where hospitality makes the difference. We take pride in offering you a family-oriented, Christian-centered atmosphere where you can relax and feel completely at home. Choose from one of our six fully furnished units; all you need is your swimsuit and sunscreen! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agape Cottages Hotel Tortola
Agape Cottages Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing