We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sebastian's on the Beach
Nearby Hotels
Fort Burt Hotel(Road Town)
US$134
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$294
US$284
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sea View Hotel(Road Town)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveller rating
143
183
73
22
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
183
73
22
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbomba shackbeach frontbeachfront roomsugar millapple baywest endlong bayseaside villasfull moon partybeautiful beachjost van dykecoal potsurf breaktropical gardensecond floorprivate balconylaid back
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 446 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We just returned from our vacation to Tortola, and everything was great except the staff at Sebastian's. Everyday was a new story of how rude the office and restaurant staff was to us. There were some staff members in the restaurant, and the grounds keepers that were very nice, but everyone in the office and majority of the restaurant staff were awful. I understand the greetings in the BVI are different than most cultures, but the level of just plain rudeness was nothing like we experienced anywhere else. Thankfully the location was incredible, and the waves were good right out front. We stayed here because of the price and the location, but next time will spend a little extra money to rent our own house. Dealing with these staff members on a day to day basis left a sour taste in everyones mouth, on an otherwise incredible trip.

Room Tip: Rent a villa or house and avaoid staying in the rooms here.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We loved our time here and the property was beautiful. We stayed in a beachfront room and the patio area was beautiful. This was the nicest place we stayed during our trip and all of the staff except for the front desk was very friendly and accommodating.

The beach was very pretty and the surf is some of the largest in the BVI. Several people were surfing everyday. The beach is small and isolated so you might want to travel to other beaches if you're staying for more than a day or two.

That being said we (3 couples) all had poor experience with the lady at the front desk, she was unfriendly and rude. We traveled to 5 different islands over 12 days and she was the only one we found that was outright unfriendly. When we approached the manager with feedback about the front desk, our concerns were dismissed and we were told she was the best employee she had. This was very disappointing and may keep us from returning. We are experienced BVI travelers, a combined total of over 25 separate trips between the 3 couples, so we understand the greeting process and behavior protocols that are required in the islands and this lady was just not a good choice for a front desk.

Room Tip: The Beach front rooms are great. I was not impressed with the tropical courtyard room area.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We spent 4 nights at Sebastians and loved it! We had a beachfront room on 2nd floor. The room was large and very clean. The bathroom was clean with 2 sinks and a large shower. We ate most of our meals at the restaurant, breakfast, lunch and dinner. My husband is a chef and we thought the food was very good and presented nicely. We did not rent a car (crazy drivers and mountainous hairpin turns) and found the taxi fares and ferry fares to be quite expensive, so we spent most of our time laying on the beach, relaxing, which is the kind of vaction we wanted. We did walk to the beach on Long Bay (beautiful) and to Smugglers Cove, also nice. We ate at The Sugar Mill for dinner one night (fairly pricey but delicious) and had lunch at their beachside dining room which was beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful. We preferred the more remote west end of the island of Tortola over busy St Thomas. We will definitly stay here again! You can't beat the price for the beachfront rooms steps away from a beautiful quiet beach.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beckyb825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed in this lovely hotel with our two kids. Great location and great service. We rarely stay in hotels when in the Virgin Islands, but we made a little detour to Tortola to check out the surfing -- which was a lot bigger than we expected. Bomba's, though a must see for many, is not a must-see for an 8-year-old and 10-year-old -- big mistake to take our kids there! The thing that sets this lovely hotel apart is the caring and personal service by the professional staff. I would easily trade luxury for excellent service any day.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marcyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

A quick excursion to Tortola for the last Full Moon Party of the year at Bomba's Surf Shack. We stayed at Sebastian's for the first time. It is very comfortable, secluded and a short walk from Bomba's. The room was clean and comfortable. The A/C was cold and the shower was hot. The food was hot and the beer was cold. Beautiful scenery. VERY Quiet and the surf was incredible on a nice sand break. A Wonderful weekend excursion!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citabria411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews