We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sebastians by The Sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sebastian's on the Beach
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sebastians by The Sea”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

The rooms are your standard beach room. Beautiful view . It really is time for this place to be updated.
Would we go again ?? NO
The noise level is unbearable . When the drunks next door came back at 4a.m. and started slamming doors, yelling and fighting our sleep was over for the night . It sounded like they were OUR room. There is a bar/party palace about 3/4 mile down the beach and they party from sundown to sun up. They must have speakers the size of a '58 Buick. We had to deal with this all 5 nights we were there.
Once you are at Sebastians , you better have a lot of money for cabs if you want to leave the place . $50 is the standard cab fare from airport to Sebastians or anyplace else. The restaurant is very nice .. Good breakfast and great dinners, and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfsong328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    164
    71
    19
    23
See reviews for
75
188
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Enjoyed our visit very much. Quite surprised by the room, which was on the second floor overlooking the beach, like other reviews have said most are mediocre. Beautiful view. It's now "our place"! It was great to open the windows and fall asleep listening to the waves right outside our balcony. Maid service was excellent and left the room smelling wonderful, not damp and musty like some beach places can be.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are worth the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri_CPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Don't let the latter half of my review make you overlook this place! The hotel is a gem. We stayed with 4 other couples at Sebastian's on the Beach Jan 19-21, 2013. All were looking for some decompression to island time before we headed out on a bareboat charter. The room we shared was very nice, if not a little cramped for two couples (but who spends time in the room, eh?). Fridge in the room, AC, clean, friendly maids, pretty courtyard and a well-stocked little store by the front desk. Just like staying anywhere on land in the BVI, there were roosters who have no concept of time. The beach is beautiful and there are plenty of lounge chairs. Wifi is only available if you sit in the patio area near the restaurant and it's slow (as is true all over the BVI). Even slower is the restaurant. Rude waitstaff are on hand to make you wait over an hour for your scantily prepared meal, beg for water and over charge you on your bill that takes another 1/2 hour to prepare. Skip the restaurant entirely. Walk just a short ways east down the road and enjoy wonderful food and service at Sugar Mill. Take a longer walk west (about 1.5 miles) and have a lovely breakfast at the hoity-toity resort down the road (Long Bay Resort).

Room Tip: Spring for the beach front rooms - they are much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzaru7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We have stayed at quite a few places on Tortola--most are mediocre even if they are expensive.

We stayed in a junior villa just up the road from the office and restaurant. I was shocked at how nice it was. The room has your standard quilted hawaiian print bedspread, but everything else is pretty nice--especially the marble bathroom. I loved the bathtub fixtures so much I took a picture of them. I also loved the carved mahogany furniture. We had a microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. There were some dishes and silverware. There might have also been a toaster.

The sea was crashing on the rocks below our room. You could see the ocean spray hit our balcony. Now the balcony was narrow, but still, there was a little table and chairs and a lounge chair out there. We enjoyed eating our lunch on the balcony. Another positive is that the roosters don't seem to hang-out near the villas. Or maybe the crashing ocean drowned them out. The three nights we spent there were probably the only nights on Tortola over many years where roosters didn't wake us.

You could get WiFi in the courtyard by the restaurant. Just a short walk.

Most of the staff was very nice--which was a surprise. Uschi is a joy, we've had dealings with her before. The staff that cleaned our room and took us to our room were great. One of the ladies who seemed to be behind the counter all the time in the office was rude and had attitude, but the other young ladies were lovely and nice.

This wasn't our first time at the Sebastian's restaurant for dinner. It was busy yet there were only two servers. Ours was older and had the usual restaurant attitude that so many servers in Tortola have. You get water if she wants to give it to and only when she's good and ready. Other tables may get water right away, but some don't. Service was slow, but every table was served in turn. First table there got served first. I was surprised at how good the food was. The kitchen may be slow, but whoever is cooking knows what he/she is doing.

You could easily stay at Sebastians and not go anywhere else. You can get breakfast, lunch, and dinner there and spend your time on the beach or on your computer. You could also take a risky walk uphill and down to Long Bay where there is a great beach and a couple of restaurants and bars. We rented a car which is what we usually do there because we like to visit other beaches and go to Sopers Hole. Renting a car is much cheaper than taking taxis. The trouble is that driving on Tortola can be very scary. Not only do you have to stay left you have to drive up and down hairpin turns praying the brakes have been maintained. What makes it worse is that there are lots of rain showers that make the roads slippery. And driving in Road Town and to Road Town can be downright crazy--especially when you get to the traffic circle. For some it might be better to take taxis---even if they are expensive. Be prepared, however, to pick-up locals the taxi driver knows and drives for free. One year the taxi driver took a long detour on my sister's dime to take a friend to the prison on the way to the airport. The prison is not on the way to the airport. My sister didn't have to pay extra for this island tour.

We liked Sebastians and will stay there again. In January we paid about $200 a night for three nights in a junior villa. With taxes and fees it came to about $700. Keep in mind that Sebastians is on the west end of the island and the airport is on the east end--probably at least a $50 cab ride. Road town is about in the middle of the island. Sopers Hole is on the west end--but across the island from Sebastians.

Room Tip: I don't know if there are any bad rooms there, but I've only stayed in the villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HapColumbia_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Thinking of going to the WORLD's BEST FULL MOON party at the Bomba Shack? You can't miss with a stay at Sebastians! Clean, neat, on the beach and walking distance to the Bomba Shack. Book early - this 26 room boutique hotel is known for its over the top customer service. Friendly does not even begin to describe the staff - everyone - and i DO MEAN everyone - cannot do enough for you to make your stay a blissful experience. Enjoy a great local menu in a romantic setting - you can sit a few yards above the rolling waves and experience total relaxation while you make your selection from their daily specials or regular menu - all delicious and reasonably priced. We keep going back and are always delighted!

Room Tip: beachside rooms for ultimate romance - courtyard rooms for great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CARIBBEANonlinemagaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Trip Advisor suggests booking directly by phone and mentioning the Trip Advisor discount. The hotel didn't want to take the reservation by phone, only over their internet site, and said they knew nothing about Trip Advisor or any rate discounts. I'm looking for another hotel. When their staff is this confused about the most basic function of a hotel, taking a reservation, that does not portend well for what may follow.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rlmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We loved our 4 night stay at Sebastian's. For a simple clean room, close to the beach it was perfect. At first we were a little put off by no TV in the room, but quickly got over it as the beauty of the area is more than enough. Stitchy (or Vernon) was awesome...from helping us get our bags to the rooms, suggesting great places for dinner.. Or just being kind enough to drive us over the hill to Carrot Bay for free. The front desk staff was also the best. We even managed to get a coffee maker despite the fact our unit wasn't equipped with one.
The manager let us hitch a ride to Roadtown, saving us $30 easily. Everyone was so nice! We will be going back again soon!
Tip on dining... The day time staff seemed to be nicer than the lunch and dinner shifts. Make your way to dinner about an hour before you think you'll be hungry. Service is on island time, so plan accordingly!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanniBinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
0.9 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.2 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
374 reviews
9.5 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
275 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#9 of 13 in Road Town
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sebastian's on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sebastian's on the Beach

Property: Sebastian's on the Beach
Address: Little Apple Bay | West End, Road Town VG1130, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Road Town
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sebastian's on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Beachfront property affords a spectacular location right on the beach at little apple bay in the west end of Tortola. We have a selection of accommodation that can be configured to suit the needs of singles, couples and families. Our in-expensive tropical yard rooms have long been a favorite for visiting yacht charter guests, scuba divers and surfer's. While our Beachfront rooms and our Seaside Villas are preferred for longer term stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, West Indies, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sebastian's on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebastian`s On The Beach Hotel Road Town
Sebastians On The Beach Hotel
Sebastian's On The Beach Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing