We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sebastion' by the Sea Resturant - Another one of Nature's Little Secrets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sebastian's on the Beach
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Dominica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sebastion' by the Sea Resturant - Another one of Nature's Little Secrets”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Although I live in Tortola my wife and I took one of our weekend jaunts to the beach, this time to Long Bay in the West End of Tortola. Passing by Sebastion's on the Beach Hotel earlier in the day, we decided to make arrangements for dinner that evening.

We were greeted by a huge smile from one of the hostesses who sat us down in a wonderful spot adjacent to the beach and in line for a beautiful sunset that was due to be with us within the following 30 minutes.

The food was exceptionally cooked and seasoned, I started with lightly fried calamari, my wife was with the soup of the day Lentil. We both enjoyed a devilishly delightful BBC (Baileys, banana & Coco Lopez), Johanna.s main course consisted of Fungi covered with shrimp in creole sauce and I enjoyed surf and turf (prime rib and lobster). Absolutely to die for, we spent the next hour following this gourmet experience sitting on two deck chairs watching the sky going darker and listening to the pounding waves of the Atlantic sea.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KenGui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    164
    71
    19
    23
See reviews for
75
189
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed in a double room on the beach side. This hotel is in a "locals" area - not a big resort with lots of tourists. But it was just what we needed on our last few days of vacation. So if you are looking for the big resort with amenities, this is not for you. The room was a good size, with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. There was a small store that carried beer, wine, rum (of course), soda, water, and just about anything you may need. The staff at this hotel were so friendly and helpful. Couldn't have asked for more. Small beach but very beautiful. I would definitely return if I am fortunate enough to go back to Tortola.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kayaktexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Really enjoyed this place but beware of the local drivers. I was not expecting the mountains and the steep roads. The hotel is very nice; rooms are large; staff is friendly and helpful; we had everything we needed. The beach is not real big but it is absolutely beautiful. Some of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mzb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My husband and I hopped over to Sebastians for one night based on the recommendation of a staff member of the Marriott at St. Thomas. I made my reservation ahead of time which was a little different than most hotels. I had to fax information..not a big deal...just take note. We had an ocean front room which was nice and inexpensive. You could walk straight out to beach but you share a patio with your neighbor...again no biggie as we didn't spend much time in room. One thing it is important to not is that there is no ATM close by. We had originally planned on going to the Soggy Dollar Bar but didn't have cash on us. We had to take a taxi to Cane Bay to get money. Ended up hanging on the beach there and chilling out for the day. The full moon party is very fun! People of all different ages attend and it is quite the experience. You are a two minute walk to the Full Moon Party at the Bomba Shack which was perfect! The front desk woman was so helpful to us. This is definitely a cool little location to hop to for the full moon party.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Withloveparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Perfect location for exploring the West End and for surfing. Close to the ferry dock for island hopping. The rooms are somewhat older, but are clean and roomy. For the price, the rooms are great. The hotel offer free WiFi at the restaurant only, not in the rooms. The restaurant is a pricey and the quality is ok; I suggest another restaurant if possible. The view and beach area are amazing. Great view of Jost Van Dyke. We have stayed here 3 times and will go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Mississippi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

After the week on a Moorings bareboat charter, my wife and I needed a layover place while we waited to take the ferry over to Anegada the following day. This was on a Saturday night and it was relatively quiet and not many people staying there. As usual, at least our experience anyway, when staying on Tortola, some of the staff treat you as if you are actually an inconvenience for them however, one lady in particular in the restaurant was especially kind and helpful to us. Her name was Annie. Anyway, the room was pretty clean, was comfortable with air-conditioning and the setting was easy enough on the eyes. We stayed in a garden unit and didn't really have any hiccups at all. All in all it was a decent 18 hours and we would probably come to Sebastian's again.

Room Tip: The beach units were right on the water but they are more expensive and if you're just doing a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marksmithTortola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This is no Ritz Carlton but you don't pay those prices either!
The room was standard and clean. I was in the back so it was quiet.
And since the humidity was high, the Ac was great!!!
So was the whole resort. Sunsets we're amazing! You feel like you are in the middle of nowhere. You ARE in the middle of nowhere. The Bomba shack was so quiet, no one was there so we never drank there. Its next door.
The drive here was HOLY $H!T let a cabbie get you here. But if you want to get around theisland, you'll need to rent a car.
Would come back here in a heartbeat. Food was good, the Roti was really good.
Our waitress was unimpressed that we were from the US ( just kidding) But one of our guests got her mad. By the next day she was laughing with us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
0.9 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.2 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
375 reviews
9.5 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
276 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#9 of 13 in Road Town
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sebastian's on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sebastian's on the Beach

Property: Sebastian's on the Beach
Address: Little Apple Bay | West End, Road Town VG1130, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Road Town
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sebastian's on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Beachfront property affords a spectacular location right on the beach at little apple bay in the west end of Tortola. We have a selection of accommodation that can be configured to suit the needs of singles, couples and families. Our in-expensive tropical yard rooms have long been a favorite for visiting yacht charter guests, scuba divers and surfer's. While our Beachfront rooms and our Seaside Villas are preferred for longer term stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sebastian's on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebastian`s On The Beach Hotel Road Town
Sebastians On The Beach Hotel
Sebastian's On The Beach Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing