We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sebastian's Delivers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sebastian's on the Beach
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My group of 4 stayed 9 nights after deciding on Sebastian's based on reviews. I thought I would give my take on Sebastian's.

I had the second floor beach front corner room. It had a nice balcony, but the view was even nicer. I was very comfortable in the room. We had a few glitches with the a/c and room safe, but they were remedied by a nice maintenance man who made a hotel room call.

I was also pleasantly surprised at how good the food was. Breakfasts were especially good. If you asked for eggs over medium, they came exactly as ordered. The specialty dishes were also nice. We had a favorite waitress, Cynthia. And a few others that were very good. Of course, there is always one or two not so good waitresses that have trouble getting your order right or they make you feel like they would rather be anywhere else than taking your order. Fortunately, this was not the norm.

We also had a glitch checking in. We were confirmed a price and then it changed when we arrived. The manager didn't add in a service tax and from our conversations, I got the impression that she wanted us to pay for her mistake. When we checked out they made good on the confirmed price, without any argument. I also got the impression that she was going to withhold the service tax from the wait staff and not make the adjustment elsewhere like lower the price of the room. I can't say how she worked it out. We always tip so we made sure the help were compensated on our end, even if the hotel took the error out on them. This didn't make a good impression on me but because they honored the confirmed price, which they should have, they did right by the customer, which should be their first priority.

If you are a surfer, you will love this place. The waves to the right of the hotel close to the Bomba Shack were very high and lots of people were out surfing and paddle boarding the waves. I think I saw about 8 at once.

I was in the water every day, but it was a work out trying to get through the surf. If you are a weak swimmer, you may want to avoid this hotel. It would be a good base if you want to go to other beaches that are close by, or make this a stop after your sail, which others have done. We went to Smuggler's Cove for a day and the water was very calm and nice. Smuggler's is about 15 minutes by car.

We really did enjoy our stay at the hotel. It was a good value for the money, the food was excellent, the room comfortable, the views incredible, and most of the staff were very sweet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BostonTia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

Reasonable perch on the lovely beach just around the bend from Long Bay's nearly one-mile stretch of powdery sand. Sebastian's has the vibe you're looking for if you want the real island experience. Garden rooms two steps from the beach front and the restaurant offer quiet comfort with ac and cross breezes with ceiling fan. Best room for two has a queen and double bed, or a tight family room for up to 4. Roomy fridge keeps your drinks and snacks handy. Very clean with daily housekeeping. Friendly, helpful staff. Restaurant quite reasonable, breakfast (try the Rum French Toast), lunch or dinner. Music Sunday eve was a suprise extra for us. Altogether a good value and we'll be back. Would love to see a fresh water shower just off the beach or even in the garden.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Patti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed here with a buddy for two nights in January 2014. Rooms were quiet and clean and the restaurant was right on the water. Great food and the Sebastain's rum shots after the meal are complementary! Friendly staff, reasonable rates in a great location. Loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jpm9690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here before going on a weeks sailing.Small hotel on a lovely beach.I thought for the very reasonable price the hotel was very good.The thing that most impressed me most was how clean the rooms were.The curtains even looked like they were washed daily. Everything was spottless. If I returned the rooms on the beach looked amazing ours was on the other side of the very small road.The restaurant looks over the sea but is in quiet position with little around.Beware the bar around the corner by sports field,girl charged us double price for our beers on first night.not knowing how much they should be.
only downside was the lady in reception not at all friendly but the guard at night was lovely.Also had electric power cut Take a torch

Room Tip: beach rooms fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treasure1Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in a garden room, the room was nice, not the Ritz, not fancy, but it was clean and comfortable, but next time I would spend the extra money and get a beach view. We didn't see the rooms but being in the back off the beach was disappointing. It was comfortable since we didn't spend anytime in the room except to sleep, the bad point was that we were in the very back side and during the holidays the neighbors PARTY HARDY! So there was a few sleepless nights, I guess we should have invited ourselves to the party, the music was great, but got old when you wanted some rest. You are about 25 minutes from Road Town if you are wondering how far away that is.

The front office had a really nice young girl working there and one slightly older one that was not very friendly and didn't make you want to even come in the office. The maintenance guy was very nice as were the ladies cleaning the rooms. If you are going here RESERVE a rental car, we didn't and they were out of them so we had to take taxi's which if you are going over to Road Town can run you about $15.00 per person each way. But the taxi drivers we finally found by the names of Erik and Tad Pole were amazing! So helpful, friendly and make you want to come back to the island. They gave us tips on where to go. They work so hard and long hours, be sure and tip these guys! If you go to the office at Sebastian's they can call them up for you so you are sure to get them.

Bad point, Sebastian's advertises they have snorkel gear, WRONG! All they had was junk that was un-rent-able. If you are going to be on the islands for over a week, BUY YOUR OWN! Do not buy the junk a K-Mart, we did and it lasted 3 minutes, the flippers are made out of cheap plastic and snapped and broke right away, they took it back, but we should have gone to a local dive shop right away and spent $90 to purchase a decent set. Live and Learn and take it home with you for your next trip.

We ate many times in the restaurant, the banana pancakes were yummy, omelets were noting special and too much money for what you got, no potatoes, but they did give you some banana bread and a couple muffins that were not very good. Dinner, steak and lobster was great, tender as can be. Lunch, sandwiches were good. Drinks were good, nice wine selection. Service was good for the most part, but some ladies were very nice and made you feel welcome, others made you afraid to order anything and not want to come back. We were thankful to find Bananakeet's up the hill where the service was outstanding and they appreciated your business and wanted you to enjoy your experience.

The beach was beautiful here, some nice waves for people surfing a bit, they provide beach lounge chairs.

Would we go back? Probably not, they just didn't make you feel welcome for the price you are paying.

Room Tip: Do a beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candyandrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My family recently stayed at Sebastion's but wouldn't recommend. The food and mixed drinks weren't great and were overpriced. This was especially unfortunate as there aren't really any other eating establishments within walking distance (with the exception of the lovely - but expensive- Sugar Mill restaurant).
In general the staff at the restaurant and front desk weren't that friendly. The manager (or owner?) was quite rude.

Room Tip: Myetts in the next cove was fantastic! Excellent location on the beach, friendly staff, great food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Feedback724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I and our 3 teens just returned from a 5-night stay. The best selection for us was Room 12 and Room 11 (connecting rooms) with Room 12 having direct beachfront views on second floor with great balcony with privacy. We had a king bed (2 doubles pushed together) and the kids had 2 doubles in the other room. There was a refrigerator and microwave in our room, as well as a coffee pot. We could access the free WiFi from our balcony, which was a plus. The rooms are clean but not at all fancy, as other reviewers have pointed out. It was so wonderful to walk down the steps and be right at the beach. The kids loved to rent paddle boards. The waves are strong at this time of year, so be careful of rocks if you are swimming, but the beach was very nice overall. Great for surfers. The restaurant was also very good, but remember it is on island time, so you will wait for everything to be served. This was just fine for us, as we brought a book, game to play, or just had a good conversation! I loved sitting on the restaurant patio with the gorgeous views of the ocean and Jost van Dyke. We rented a car for a couple of days, and it is very easy to explore Road Town from this location, as Zion Hill Road cuts across the island just outside Sebastian's (just beware of very steep hills if driving). I personally loved going to Smuggler's Beach, which is a short drive from Sebastian's and has calmer waves and some good snorkeling. We wish we had time to do some sailing, but our short stay prevented us from this. We hope to come back again and plan well ahead for sailing.

Room Tip: Beachfront view rooms are the best - loved room 12 on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank familytravelermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
0.9 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
4.5 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
131 reviews
4.5 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
12.5 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sebastian's on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sebastian's on the Beach

Address: Little Apple Bay | West End, Road Town VG1130, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Road Town
Price Range: £142 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sebastian's on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Beachfront property affords a spectacular location right on the beach at little apple bay in the west end of Tortola. We have a selection of accommodation that can be configured to suit the needs of singles, couples and families. Our in-expensive tropical yard rooms have long been a favorite for visiting yacht charter guests, scuba divers and surfer's. While our Beachfront rooms and our Seaside Villas are preferred for longer term stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sebastian's on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebastian`s On The Beach Hotel Road Town
Sebastians On The Beach Hotel
Sebastian's On The Beach Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing