We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely relaxing stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sebastian's on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sebastian's on the Beach
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lovely relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our group of 6 assorted family and friends stayed at Sebastian's on the front and back end of a sailing vacation. We needed rooms that had two beds and they were happy to accommodate us. Unlike standard hotel rooms in the US many VI hotels have only one bed. The beach was lovely, and it was the perfect place to relax after a week on a boat. We stayed in the garden rooms and really appreciated the lush and beautiful landscaping. The rooms and the grounds were clean and well kept.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytrailsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebhotel, General Manager at Sebastian's on the Beach, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor, you mentioned that you were guests at Sebastian's before and after your charter vacation, I am also a charter captain and know first hand how much fun it can be. Thank you for staying with us and I hope we can serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    157
    66
    18
    23
See reviews for
71
177
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at Sebastian's for two nights before moving into our House rental. We had booked 3 Beach Front Rooms and were happy that the rooms were ready when we got there and check-in was smooth! The rooms were nice, the beds were very comfortable and the rooms and grounds were very clean. I noticed that all 3 rooms were different, but each member or our group was happy with their room. With views like that, I don't know how you wouldn't be!! We didn't leave the area the entire time we were there. It was a great way to decompress. We ate breakfast and dinner there. Food was good. Our first dinner there we realized things got done on "Island Time" But again, with views like that, we were in no hurry! Our second night there we had great service and a blast with apps, pizza, and drinks at the bar and Roseanna..it was a great time! They have a small store with limited food, beer, wine and other items if needed. Snorkeling equipments was abailable to rent but we didn't see much in the area that made it worth the renting. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. And yes, we did made our way down to the Bomba Shack for a few drinks during the afternoon. (It was definitely interesting to see. ..)

Room Tip: Beach Front rooms are worth spending a little extra!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLT_Librarygeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebhotel, General Manager at Sebastian's on the Beach, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor, we work very hard to ensure our guests enjoy their vacation in Tortola, I have lived here for 25 years and Little Apple Bay is my favorite place. I am also pleased that you managed to experience Rosanna's special talents mixing her wonderful creations behind the bar. She was thrilled when I showed her your review. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery Bay, Calif.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Wow where do I start so many great things about this property. The Staff and Management treated us like Family,they also treated each other the same way.It was a breath of fresh air and thank you Christine for the hug before we left. The beach is the best I have ever been to and great swimming or just chilling. Stayed four days after an abandoned Boat trip.Sebastian's saved our vacation. The food was excellent Breakfast, Lunch,and Dinner, got up every day to see the Soup special and try the ribs they fall off the bone,oh and the salads and garlic bread.YUM! and it is right on the beach. The room was great and had a beautiful view a few steps to the beach. Giving Hawaii a run for their Money. We want to bring the whole family back. Happy in California.

Room Tip: the beach view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okfine_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in one of the garden rooms at Sebastian's for a week recently. It is a basic room but had got all you need. There is no television but didn't really miss it when surrounded by beautiful beaches and landscapes. The location by the beach is perfect and really enjoyed breakfast overlooking the clear blue seas.
The villa rooms are a lot nicer, but also a lot more expensive.
Some reviewers describe the staff as rude. Didn't experience this myself, although some of the staff didn't excel at being friendly either.
Nearby places to eat are good, especially enjoyed bananakeet up the hill along the northern coastline.
Considering the price, would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Droesje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed here for one night before a charter, in a tropical yard room. It was clean, the bed was huge, the towels plentiful, and the beach was right across the street. The beach is not long or wide, but the sand was soft and the wave action was minimal, so great for swimming. There is not a lot going on here, so I can't see a long stay unless you are using it as a base for excursions and have a car, but it was perfect for the night. Sebastian's has a nice restaurant as well, on the beach, although I didn't eat there. There is a nice local restaurant right down the street - Da Coal Pot - where I had a tasty roti with excellent service for dinner. All in all, good value for the money and a pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Tropical yard rooms are not large but fine for one or two people for a night or two. The beachfront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiminiSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Thirty three years ago my wife and I spent our honeymoon bare boating out of Tortola, but she wouldn't do the boat this time. We found Sebastian's on the Beach through the Internet and booked their holiday package plus a few nights more. We were also able to get our grown sons to get some time off from work and come with us. The last time in Tortola 33 years ago we flew on a puddle jumper from San Juan to Beef Island. This time because of our large surfboard bag we took the ferry from St. Thomas. BTW don't bother going to Red Hook go to Charlotte Amalie you'll waste less time in the van, and spend more time out in the sunshine. Get the Catamaran if your in a hurry.
Oh yeah Sebastian's: great location, surf break is very close although not that consistent but still fun. Rooms were clean well maintained, made up on our terms. Coffee on our lanai in the morning was usually fetched by me, which is what I'd rather do. The island woman who ran the morning dining room we affectionately named the Coffee Nazi. Chastised me every morning because I wanted to bring the pitcher to the room, but we both got over it. We ate a lot of meals there because of convenience, the plan, and it was pretty good. A lot of people must have thought the same thing because we often got crowded out if we didn't make the reservation early enough. After a while though it got kind of repetitious and although the type of fish changed the sauce remained the same. A quick walk down the road brings you to,Bomba's Shack the home of the full moon party. We didn't sample the tea, but the pain killer was the best in the BVI's. plus the late night burger with a fried egg and sides of rice and beans were also memorable.
I'll save the full review for Bomba's own. Although we've been around the Caribbean and Mexico, my wife said it was the most relaxing vacation she's ever been on. I would highly recommend it, I only hope the new owners keep the mellow relaxed atmosphere and homey comfortable accommodations.

Room Tip: Go for the garden rooms for privacy, cost and quiet. for the ocean for the view go upstairs. Quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galax, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was a quaint small hotel with clean, spacious rooms. Our room was maybe 20 feet from the water. It was absolutely beautiful and a perfect lay over place before our 7 day sail. We enjoyed every minute here. Ate all our meals in a beautiful outdoor restaurant that gave us a sunset seat every night. The food was really, really good. The service great. The restaurant and bar were a bit pricey but "mon, you are on the island" I would go back, I would extend my stay and I would recommend this.

Room Tip: I love ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LPoole2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
0.8 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.3 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
3.6 mi away
Icis Villas
Icis Villas
#10 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#6 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
9.0 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
7.8 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sebastian's on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sebastian's on the Beach

Property: Sebastian's on the Beach
Address: Little Apple Bay | West End, Road Town VG1130, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sebastian's on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Beachfront property affords a spectacular location right on the beach at little apple bay in the west end of Tortola. We have a selection of accommodation that can be configured to suit the needs of singles, couples and families. Our in-expensive tropical yard rooms have long been a favorite for visiting yacht charter guests, scuba divers and surfer's. While our Beachfront rooms and our Seaside Villas are preferred for longer term stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Sebastian's on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebastian`s On The Beach Hotel Road Town
Sebastians On The Beach Hotel
Sebastian's On The Beach Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing