We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but need a little work...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sebastian's on the Beach
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Palm Spring
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice but need a little work...”
Reviewed 14 May 2010

I enjoyed my time there and the staff and manager were very friendly. I would suggest adding screen door to the tropical courtyard room, not everyone want air condition daily/nightly....a little local island breeze will work fine if a person choose to relax that way...I strongly suggest they install screen door in the rooms located in the courtyard area.....also, the curtain in those rooms make the rooms way too dark..shades will work better or use lighter curtains with the option to darken the room if needed....overall, I enjoyed my stay there and will stay there again whenever i get back to Tortola..

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PreciousSansee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    164
    71
    19
    23
See reviews for
75
188
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Over and over again I read reviews on Tripadvisor about how unfriendly and unprofessional the hospitality workers in the BVI are. Yes, it's true, they don't smile and bow and scrape, but if you take just a moment to interact with them you'll find them warm and eager to please. Tortola is NOT an island where you'll find the sand on the private beach in front of your hotel raked every morning or be served gourmet meals prepared with fresh, organic, off-island ingredients. If that's what you prefer, this island is not for you.

That said, I give Sebastian's a big thumb's up. It's true the rooms across the road from the beach could use some refurbishment and that the power goes out from time to time (not the hotel's fault) and that the ubiquitous roosters crow regularly at 3 a.m. and 5 a.m., but the folks at Sebastian's and the setting itself have a way of creeping over you with an unmistakable charm. Our needs were met, the food was as good as anywhere on the island, and our room was clean and comfortable. And with paradise just outside your door, what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LordPercyPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Basic rooms reflecting the price you pay on this expensive island. You will have to have a sense of humour when confronted ( right word) by the staff, stunningly miserable as sin with no shred of customer service.
Beach is superb with some great surf breakers, and the lunchtime chicken wings saved the day. Rooms are dated and dark, and whatever people say about the cockerels, its not enough, the valley is full of them and the noise is 24/7, except if it rains!? Recommendation is simply because the price is so apart from anywhere on the island, but note the points above and go prepared!
No pool.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank matjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

our room was clean and the breakfasts were very good. Dinners were so-so with one poor night when the kitchen was overwhelmed. I would not go for the meal plan again. There are better places to stay at higher prices. Tortola and the British Virgin Islands are great places to spend a week. This is a popular spot for surfers

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

What can I say....BVI never really made it on the tourist cirucuit. That is what I like about the place. Your find those who really want to be there and can overlook some creature comforts that you would find in many other tourist locations.

Sebastian's is just OK. The rooms are a bit tired but adequate. They are in a great location and the prices are good. They should probably consider upgrading the rooms, with better furnishings and decor and remove the heavy drapes, worn bedding and update the bathrooms. I make these comments but would also say that I have stayed here many times. I have also stayed at Sugar Mill and rooms are better but not so much so to justify the much higher prices. If you love relaxing, unspoiled beauty, natives that are friendly but reserved, a safe location with great weather and beautiful beaches Tortola is for you. If you are looking for a highly developed tourist destination of which there are many than you should look elsewhere. Tortola is changing but definately and hopefully will never turn into the super-club, high rise condo, timeshare destinations that have negatively impacted many of its neighbors.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fcast2721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago,IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

I really tried to like this hotel. I know that in a place like Tortola, you have to go with the flow and can't expect your lodgings to be 5 star. That being said, this place really has very little going for it except for the view and proximity to the beach. I will say that this hotel is literally 5 steps to the beach. Besides that, it's really dingy and run down.

We requested and booked a second floor room (more privacy, all the rooms on the first floor were occupied by families it seemed) with a balcony. The view was truly breathtaking. Upon arrival, we found that our comforter cover was stained and that there were ants going to and from the bathroom. The balcony furniture was rusted and one of the three legs on one chair was so dented that you couldn't sit on it without tipping it over.

We paid 250 a night for our room and expected beautiful surroundings (check) and a reasonably clean room (not even close; I felt dirty just being in the room). If you decide to go despite what I've just said here and you are going with your significant other for a getaway, please request a 2nd floor balcony room so you can enjoy what little there is to enjoy of this hotel.

I highly recommend going to eat at the Sugar Mill Hotel, just a short hop and skip from Sebastian's.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allens11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

2nd time we've stayed and just as good as the last time. My wife and I stayed at the seaside villa, hibiscus 56, same as before and the view was just as spectacular. Comfortable bed, good air-conditioning, tv, spacious bathroom and convient kitchen and balcony with spectacular lookout of the ocean. Eating breakfast on the balcony overlooking the Ocean has to be experienced. Great location near Cane Garden Bay for swimming and several good restaurants such as Sugar Mill, Bananakeet, and Pussers. You need a car to get around which is easy to rent. Roadtown is about 1/2 hour away. Shopping not as good as St. Thomas, but otherwise not bad for picking up some souvenirs.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olympicoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
0.9 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.2 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
375 reviews
9.5 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
275 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#9 of 13 in Road Town
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sebastian's on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sebastian's on the Beach

Property: Sebastian's on the Beach
Address: Little Apple Bay | West End, Road Town VG1130, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Road Town
#1 Best Value Hotel in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sebastian's on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Beachfront property affords a spectacular location right on the beach at little apple bay in the west end of Tortola. We have a selection of accommodation that can be configured to suit the needs of singles, couples and families. Our in-expensive tropical yard rooms have long been a favorite for visiting yacht charter guests, scuba divers and surfer's. While our Beachfront rooms and our Seaside Villas are preferred for longer term stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sebastian's on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebastian`s On The Beach Hotel Road Town
Sebastians On The Beach Hotel
Sebastian's On The Beach Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing