We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit Fawlty Towers”
Review of Fort Burt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fort Burt Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A bit Fawlty Towers”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

With several crew members coming in from various parts of the world (we chartered from Conch), we booked a 'semi-suite' as well as a standard room with the idea of doing our own catering for the 4 days we stayed. A spacious but shabby room overlooking the water but the kitchenette was virtually unequipped. The nice but totally clueless receptionist sent me to the kitchen to ask for utensils and plates. But the kitchen is separate from the hotel and they were reluctant to hand over much more than a couple of spoons and plates. However, the lovely cleaning housekeeper next morning managed to obtain everything we needed. The AC barely worked and the 'nice but totally clueless' receptionist was no help but eventually a technician arrived that night and it improved slightly. My husband was fascinated about how 'mickey' the mickey-mouse wiring was ... Breakfast is not included in room rates and our one-time breakfast was served by a decidedly grumpy lady (most untypical of these friendly islanders). The room rates seemed high, but then hotels are really expensive here, so I suppose the rate was fair for what we got.
So for fans of Basil Fawlty, this is your place.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TicaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    43
    34
    23
    7
See reviews for
23
57
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the night before meeting with our bareboat chartering companions next day. The room overlooked the bay and it was only a standard suite! The gentleman at the front desk was pleasant and helped bring luggage to out room. The price was very reasonable I thought. The pool, overlooking the bay, was CRYSTAL clear, beautiful really, with tiled workmanship.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishetri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Spent one night here before picking up our boat from Conch Charters. About a 10 minute walk to the hotel from the ferry dock in Road Town. Nice hotel up a steep hill from the main road. Great views from the bar area and very friendy and helpful staff. Rooms were a little older but the AC worked great and room was pretty large. Nice balcony outside offered great place to hang out also. Nice option for a night or two.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IslandBoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We were recently bareboat chartering a yacht from TMM and needed a Road Town hotel the night before, in order to do our provisioning and get set up for our holiday.
We chose The Fort Burt due to it's location, literally across the road from TMM Marina.
The hotel more than exceeded our expectations.
Our airconditioned room had great views with a balcony and was more than adequately sized for our family of 4. Although the room was a bit dated, for the price, we thought it was great value.
The hotel staff were very friendly and attentive, assisting to store our bags for a late check out.
We thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant breakfast with the views of the bay around us, before a short walk into town to get our sailing provisions.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, it definitely exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Holiday101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I only stayed here one night but the staff, especially the night desk guy Duane, were so friendly and helpful I had to write a review. My partner needed a computer/printer for an urgent travel arrangement situation and was accommodated no problem, and when a lightbulb went out in our room it was fixed by the time we got back from dinner. I really like the room, it's simple but has everything I'd want - air conditioning, balcony with a nice view, big bed, TV etc. The only note I can think of is the lever to switch to the shower probably needs work but it did work for us OK anyway. I just wish we'd stayed longer so we could have tried the onsite restaurant, which also had a pretty awesome view over the harbour as the sun set, and the pool, which likewise overlooks the harbour pretty unbeatably, and even hung around in the lobby/bar, which was very comfortable and quite a cool space.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Eddie and his team are doing a great job. Staff goes out of their way to help you (Roosevelt rocks), food for breakfast was delicious and location to our charter boat couldn't have been better. Rooms have air conditioning and balconies and everything was neat and clean. Have stayed in many hotels in Tortola but we will come back to this one because of the staff. Job well done!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansboro
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I have been to Tortola several times and stayed on the beach. This time I wanted to be close to ferry dock so I could day trip to Anegada. I chose the Fort Burt for location, but am pleasantly surprised by the place. Magnificent views, nice rooms; deluxe one has vaulted ceilings, nice comfy bed, very clean. The best part is the staff. So friendly and accommodating. The breakfast cook walked with me downtown today to make sure I found the Botanical Park (a must see in my opinion). The Internet works in my room, cable tv a bit fuzzy sometimes, but with the views, tv is optional. The reception area and restaurant are lovely. Yes, there are stairs but I love the climb. The grandson of the owner that checked me in said he would gladly have someone carry the bags, just ask...I truly love the place and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Go deluxe if you like vaulted ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank djbdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
4.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
401 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
0.5 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#8 of 13 in Road Town
43 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sugar Mill Hotel
Sugar Mill Hotel
#2 of 25 in Tortola
643 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
#6 of 13 in Road Town
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Burt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Burt Hotel

Property: Fort Burt Hotel
Address: Waterfront Dr | P.O.Box 3380, Road Town, Road Town, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Road Town
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fort Burt Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Fort Burt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Burt Road Town
Fort Burt Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing