We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average rooms at extremely high nightly rates.”
Review of Maria's by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maria's by the Sea
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed here the night before our Moorings charter. Rooms were older and a little dumpy. Prices very high for what we got. Not a good combination and we felt a little taken advantage of. Will try elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markgi250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2011

A good choice if you're in the BVI on business. Clean, friendly. No more than a three star hotel however. No gym and the pool was very disappointing. The restaurant is also nothing too special. The hotel is very convenient however to the local courthouse and to downtown offices -- hence the attraction. BVI in general has nothing that I would qualify as a "business" hotel. I don't think this place would even be upto "Holiday Inn" standard -- but under the circumstances could have been a lot worse. Free and relatively fast wifi was most appreciated.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesinGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

After staying at the Moorings for many years we were ready to try some where more reasonable in price. Maria's was great, clean, great views, good food, friendly staff. We won't stay at the Mooring before of after our sailing anymore. Maria's is MUCH better!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tdog19111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

An acceptable place to stay in Roadtown. Pretty pool, fairly good restaurant, and within walking distance of the wonderful old government house and the Botanic station. I would rather see fresh flowers or houseplants rather than the faded plastic arrangements in the lobby. The fish omelette is a very good breakfast option.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VaNella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Best in Road Town and great location for ferry connections and restaurants. The rooms were clean, the staff helpful, WiFi in the lobby and fair value for BVI. Those who have traveled to BVI known that the words "cheep" & "inexpensive" do not exist on these islands or in their language .... so, if you are searching for "value" then this hotel maybe the best "value" in R.T. at $160+ tax ($184). On the downside there is no complementary continental breakfast (would be very nice) and the mattress in our room #103 was old and uncomfortable. Happy sailing.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fdoamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

The best food for dinner in the B.V.I.'s. They can actually cook food that had flavor and spice!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aleyadao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Pleasant stay Ocean side is quiet, dinner fine, nothing special either good or bad, but the location is superb.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
4.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
135 reviews
16.5 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.7 mi away
Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel
Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel
#4 of 13 in Road Town
177 reviews
13.5 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria's by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria's by the Sea

Address: Road Harbour, Road Town, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Price Range: £132 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maria's by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Maria's by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria`s By The Sea Hotel Road Town
Marias By The Sea Hotel
Marias Sea
Maria's By The Sea Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing