We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review”
Review of Maria's by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maria's by the Sea
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Rooms were exceptionally clean. The air conditioner was a little hesitant, but worked. Sorry we did not try the restaurant and pool. Both were inviting. We used this as a bridge between our charter and our ferry ride th next morning. We could walk and not need a taxi

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mittens11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

One would think that a downtown hotel would be noisy, not at Maria's, it is a quiet and restful place directly on the Road Harbor. This hotel is located within a walking distance from the ferry dock and to many local restaurants. Maria's restaurants have a beautiful view of the harbor for breakfast lunch and dinner. All of our meals were good.
We were fearful that the hotel was not located on a beach, yet the hotel has a very nice pool. We rented a car and drove around the island, there was plenty of parking at the hotel.
We had a fabulous room on the third floor, very private with a loggia that over looked the harbor. Our bed was comfortable, the room just lovely and clean.

Room Tip: ask for a room that overlooks the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharleen172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We have just had our annual meeting at Maria's By the Sea. The conference center was state-of-the-art, with a great set up for the sessions and having the Breakfasts and Coffees right in the next room. It was great to have our meeting right in the center of Road Town, with so many great options for lunch and dinner. Maria's restaurant was also a great option for meals and served an excellent breakfast, although a few days the service was slow; we were visiting with friends so it didn't matter too much. Dinner was also excellent with very nice menu choices and the prices were very reasonable. This was our first time staying at Maria's, having come to Tortola for more than 15 years; (the meeting had always been somewhere else). We have already booked our meeting for next year. Being right on the harbor, watching the cruise ships sail in and out each day was delightful and the sunrises were breathtaking. Thank you Maria's for making our stay so wonderful. We are missing the sounds of the surf at night.

Room Tip: We stayed in the older section and wanted an ocean room, which definitely did not disappoint. We we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The swimming pool is beautiful with a view of the sea and clean without any chemical smell. My husband said his Corned Beef Hash in the restaurant for breakfast was the best he had ever had!

Our room was clean and the personal patio is generously sized for relaxing with a drink.

Room Tip: Mention the online price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed in superior room with nice view of the sea. Room was large and clean. The staff was friendly but quite slow. It is Caribbean. No rush. Although the hotel is just by the sea there is no chance to swim in. For this it is necessary to get a ride somewhere else. Just a swimming pool.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tkarlikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I visited Maria's by the Sea in December of 2013 the rooms were clean and modern however, my television reception was poor to non existent. The food at the restaurant is affordable and good value for money. The views from the room are excellent in addition, it is located close to Pussars restaurant which has a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Maria's by the Sea was in walking distance of the ferry dock. The setting was beautiful and location was great. We stayed one night prior to a sailing trip. The rooms were adequate, pool, restaurant and bar area were very good. Only complaint was the lack of hot water. We had a maintenance man twice, who was unable to correct the problem. The same problem existed in my son's room who was on another floor.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Park S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
4.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
135 reviews
16.5 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.7 mi away
Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel
Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel
#4 of 13 in Road Town
176 reviews
13.5 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria's by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria's by the Sea

Address: Road Harbour, Road Town, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Price Range: £132 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maria's by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Maria's by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria`s By The Sea Hotel Road Town
Marias By The Sea Hotel
Marias Sea
Maria's By The Sea Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing