We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moorings should be embarassed...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Laguna Beach, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Moorings should be embarassed...”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

When booking a bareback boat with Moorings and paying the price that you pay, I would have expected better accommodations the night before we sailed. The Mariner Inn was disgusting- the rooms are old, the bathroom was filthy and by far the worst- brown water came out of the sink! We waited to take our morning showers until AFTER we were on the boat the next day. The stay at Mariner Inn was worse than a stay at a Motel 6 but with the price of resort! The ONLY positive I can give this place is the convenience to the Moorings office- which is the only reason this establishment is still in business.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank veganista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    77
    66
    29
    29
See reviews for
43
68
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

While the Moorings, I am told is the best, You still need to check your equipment. Our radio didn't work very well, so I suggest getting a phone for back up $25 dollar rental fee on the dock and then cost of card came in handy to get in touch with different marinas when radio not working and luckily did not have any emergencies to speak off. However the pull came of the outboard motor on our dinghy. So we had to row our boat! We rented a 41.5 Sailboat not really fit for the 7 of us. Yes I did say 7.... 4 would be perfect 5 tolerable. Battery was always low and I don't believe the toilets were working as they should be. One towel per person for 7 days for both beach and shower doesn't work for me and neither do flat pillows..... Can't accuse me of being a "Ritz Carlton" girl because I was the only one who slept on deck the entire time so I consider the rest of the crew "Landlubbers". It was a great experience and the crew at the moorings did a wonderful job of responding to our requests. I just feel and perhaps that was our fault things should have been looked at carefully before we left.

Room Tip: Check at the Boat and Dinghy before you leave!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tangaroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Texoma
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Spent two nights before our Moorings 474MC charter and really ejoyed it. The pool and grounds are pretty. The staff was friendly. Food is expensive, but it was everywhere. Pool view room was quiet, comfortable and clean. It's a short walk to the charter company and there is a dive shop, small grocery, gift shops and nice boardwalk to watch the charters coming and going. There are two other restaurants within a very easy walk, less than a block. There's no beach because you are at the yacht harbor.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Gail U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

For the money there are a lot better rooms on Tortola. It is the perfect location if you need a room before or after a charter, but don't expect much more than A/C and a comfortable bed. There are clearly at least three sections of this hotel, some newly built, some newly renovated and some sections just need to be torn down and start over. You don't get the choice of paying more or less based on the rooms either - it's a crap shoot on what quality room you get and in what section. You'll see in the details that I marked "No" for high-speed internet - in reality they have free internet, but it was slow and blocked sites, for instance, I couldn't pull up any streaming media at all.

My bottom line is stay here if all you really need is a break from the heat before/after your charter and you want to be right beside the boats. Otherwise, find another place on the island, it's a pretty small island, better value rooms are close by.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank PA-VTFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Road Town hotels

Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I hope Moorings is embarrassed by reading the reviews of their customers who had to stay in the older section of the hotel. We spent $7,000 to charter a beautiful sailboat in breathtaking islands but first had to endure staying in a room that should be condemned. IT was similar to the other reviews -- looked like it was painted by an unsupervised teenager, furnished with poor garage sale furniture -- looked more like a shed that they threw in a comfortable bed and some old rusty patio furniture. Egads! My suggestion is to confirm you are staying in a renovated room (they are beautiful) and if they can't guarantee it I would stay on the boat or another hotel in town. It is a major disappointment and distracts from the vacation if you get stuck in the wrong side of the hotel.

Another suggestion, the restaurant on site, Charlie's is lovely but be prepared for a long wait for food -- order drinks, get an appetizer and relax because it may take 90 minutes before you ever see your food.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get booked in Room #36
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kwal59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, TN
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

What a dump. Pay the money and stay on the boat the night before departure.

Really, for 220 a night it is definitely. Not worth the money. More like a 29 dollar room.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annoddddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capitola, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

This is an excellent location if you're boarding one of the Moorings boats but EVERYONE must know, there are 2 parts to this hotel. We had friends with us and they stayed in the newer portion which was quite nice and clean. My wife and I were put in the older, and I mean OLD, section...a real dump. Even the stairs leading up to the rooms was patched with pieces of wood that were meant to hold together the rotted steps. The rain gutters were so full of holes, they'd just splatter water all over and just plain rain on your head would have been better.
The tile on the shower floor was only half there and the mini fridge/counter and sink look like pieces were borrowed and replaced with things that didn't fit or belong. It was really a dump.
However, the bed was very comfortable and for 2 nights, had a great sleep and at the end of the day, that's what counts. But seeing the complete difference in the nicer part and having to pay the same really burned us up. The staff was friendly and helpful and again, the location if you're boating is very convenient.
SO...SPECIFY WHICH PART OF THE HOTEL YOU WANT TO STAY IN!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uspastime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
4.9 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
4.8 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
440 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#8 of 13 in Road Town
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
281 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#9 of 13 in Road Town
131 reviews
5.2 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel

Property: Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Address: 2 Wickhams Cay, Road Town, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings-Mariner Hotel Road Town
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing