We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Night's Sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Rolling Hills, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Night's Sleep”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed here after traveling twelve hours. There is no direct flight to Tortola from California. While we slept our charter boat was being provisioned. Hotel and Moorings staff very helpful and gracious. The two restaurants were great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mer90274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    76
    66
    29
    29
See reviews for
43
68
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at the Moorings for 2 nights on the front end of our trip and one on the tail end and were really pleased. Our room had been recently updated, and was modern and comfortable. The air conditioning worked great and we had a wonderful second story deck that overlooked the marina. A in room refrigerator was great for storing snacks and beverages that we purchased at the French Deli that is just a short walk away. We had night caps at Charlie's (the restaurant and bar located right there), coffee at the coffee shop and really loved having a fast, free internet connection. We chilled at the pool, drinking Painkillers, and enjoyed being able to walk into Road Town for shopping and dinner. It was quiet, clean and in general, we found the staff to be kind and helpful.

Room Tip: We loved our marina facing room! Just make sure you get the remodeled rooms - they are clearly in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pulpo_Grande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta Georgia
Level Contributor
323 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 623 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We have stayed here a couple of times over the past couple of years. Once in an unrenovated room and once in a renovated room. The pricing is absurd for a motel 6 (unrenovated room), and very absurd for a renovated room (about like a Marriott). But if you are chartering a Moorings boat, you almost have to stay here one night. Even though paying to stay aboard your boat the night you arrive seems steep, I recommend it. By staying overnight on your arrival night, you can cast-off, first thing in the morning, instead of in the afternoon. So, you actually get a half day for the price of your "sleep aboard." And you get to organize the boat, rehearse crew responsibilities, etc. the night before. I recommend a sleep aboard over renting a room at the Mariner Inn.

On our last charter, we rented a room at the Mariner Inn for one night before we went home. We thought that way we could make our last day of the charter a little more relaxed. But the problem was that we had to get off the boat at noon, but couldn't get in the room until 4:00 pm. They had our room ready, but when we asked about getting in early the clerk rolled her eyes. I have to admit that kinda got my goat. We won't rent another room.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I was there only for one night, the place is ok for one or two nights, it is a very simple hotel and the staff is very friendly. It is more a business hotel done a Holliday hotel. I believe that the idea is to sleep one night before or after your charter.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is a pre/post charter lodging facility in the Moorings/Sunsail/Footloose base. The location is very good for those preparing to leave on a charter and wish to not sleep aboard the night before. Beyond that, there is very little reason to stay here.

This property is like two vastly different hotels within one. The newer rooms seem to be of good quality, the older ones are inexcusably bad. My real problem was with the rates we were charged for the awful older rooms. We stayed here pre-charter, using three rooms for our group. The rooms were all pre-booked via Sunsail, were over $250/night, and were of really terrible quality.

Everything was worn-down and in desperate need of maintenance and refurbishment. The rooms were rusty, smelly, and outfitted with prison-cell lighting. This might be more acceptable if the rooms were half the price and advertised as extremely basic - but they are not. The good location alone does not justify the price, even in the BVI. The price really needs to be adjusted to match the state of disrepair of these rooms.

The base facility itself is very convenient. Staff are kind and informative. The pool was pleasant enough for the family to enjoy while some in the group went about provisioning, attending briefings. Charlie's Restaurant on site was pretty good with contemporary Italian, but of course had understandably high island pricing. But that is the thing - the high prices were justified by good quality. That is not the case with the older rooms at Mariner Inn.


By the way... We did ask for better rooms but were told none were available.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DedicatedTravelerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Road Town hotels

Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at the Mariner Inn/Moorings the night prior to picking up our bareboat charter at the Moorings. We were picked up promptly at the ferry landing and brought right to the hotel. The checkin staff were delightful. Not too helpful about general activities around the island, ferry schedules, etc, but nice. Our room was stunningly and luxuriously decorated but had some physical problems. The lock on the balcony sliding glass door was broken and the safe lock was broken. The manager came up after a call down (we waited for a while) and he could not fix either so they switched our room. The switch was tough after a long day of travel but I was happy that they offered it since security is important to my husband. The food was pretty good at the main restaurant but they are not too flexible about leaving out the wonderful flavors of the islands for kids who like things simple...for instance, making plain chicken or eggs rather than West Indian fare. The kids did use the pool and we had to be quiet because it is right next to the bar (and they inadvertently splashed a woman who had sat with her laptop next to the pool). I got the impression that the pool is rarely used.

Overall, a pleasant enough experience. The price was quite high but I believe that even in shoulder season we are paying for the convenience to be at the marina. There are offsite hotels that would offer a better bargain.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Aroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We recently stayed here for two nights. The first night was prior to getting our sailboat and the second was for the night we returned and turned the boat in. Now for the review:

The first night we arrived late and were really looking forward to something to eat and some sleep. The driver who picked us up at the airport made sure we called ahead and ordered pizza which was a great call.

Our room was a Motel 6 quality room at a much higher then Motel 6 price. However, it seemed clean and the air conditioning worked great. We had two twin beds in the room and they were ok. In the morning when we used the shower there was a lot of brown water. The front desk clerk said the water just needed to run for a bit, there were two of us with two showers and the water was still brown at the end of the second.

Over all it was fine as we were getting our boat the next morning and the hotel was not really part of our trip. Come to find out there are two parts to this hotel, a newly renovated area and the old building. We also found out you could upgrade to a new room for $25. We upgraded for our return night and was pleasantly surprised.

The room was completely upgraded and appeared to be more adequate for what we paid. A couple things we noticed that were kind of bummer. It was really hard to control the water temp for the shower and every time you flushed water would come out the bottom of the toilet.

If you are planning on staying here be sure to upgrade to one of the newer rooms. You will be much happier you did. If you eat at Charlies the pizza is good and stay away from the hamburger. For breakfast the buffet is a good option.

The Moorings and the hotel are actually two separate companies and the Moorings can't be blamed for the hotels shortcomings. The staff for both of them were great and very helpful. We had a great vacation and am very happy I went.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for one of the new rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blgarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
4.9 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
4.8 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#8 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#9 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.0 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel

Property: Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Address: 2 Wickhams Cay, Road Town, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings-Mariner Hotel Road Town
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing