We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“renting a catamaran from the Moorings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
White Rock, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“renting a catamaran from the Moorings”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We just got back to BC after nine days sailing in the BVIS on a 48ft. Lagoon catamaran that we rented from the Moorings. The sailing was wonderful but we had nothing but problems with the boat. The heads were not working properly which made for a stinky uncomfortable trip. We are quite certain the Moorings people were aware of the problems but rented us the boat anyway. There are many other boat charter companies that may be a better and cheaper bet! The Moorings group did not really care that our trip was ruined!

Room Tip: Rent your boat from someone else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    76
    66
    29
    29
See reviews for
43
68
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Bugs on the counters, outdated bathrooms, no microwave but have a fridge, and unfriendly staff made my stay horrible. I will never stay at this hotel again. The town is dirty and full of litter too so I also don't plan on returning to Tortola. No gym either if you are looking to workout.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Road Town hotels

Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We rented a sailing catamaran from the Moorings and stayed in the hotel.
The hotel is nothing special, and overpriced, but the boats are wonderful, and the staff is Fantastic.
In the face of cancelled flights and other problems, Avril, at the main desk, was absolutely wonderful! She helped with flights and accommodations in an exemplary way.
The rest of the staff was also consistently friendly and kind.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XavierNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

After an incredible week sailing I spent my last night at the Mariner Inn. Like everything else I experienced with Moorings, this was an excellent experience.
My room was deluxe in every way, really comfy bed, nice appointments, luxury bathroom, patio overlooking the marina, good food. I was missing a corkscrew for my bottle of wine so the restaurant people not only supplied one, they opened the bottle for me.
The spa was exceptional. This will be a "must do" after every sailing holiday.
I can hardly wait to return.
Thanks Moorings and Mariner Inn

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurellbayntun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stayed here night prior and after Sunsail bareboat charter. Excellent experience. Marina view room was remodeled 2nd floor unit.Small refrig, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, shampoo, soap, safe, TV, good beds and nice linens. Great A/C. Balcony with comfy chairs for a glass of wine and view of all the boats. Internet access.

We dislike sleeping on our charter boat at the marina the night before or after, so this was a good choice for us. Pleasant to have a hot shower and amenities after a week or so of sailing. Gives us a chance to repack bags for travel in the cool room.

If you come in on the weekend, there was music in the bar and restaurant so you might want something mid-hotel to have less noise.

Room Tip: Music & bar noise Saturday night can be loud. Ask for a room further away from the action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJaneSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Since the renovation a few years ago this property is my favorite place to stay while in Tortola on business. The rooms are clean and well kept, the hot water is good and plentiful, the pool is clean and the food is surprisingly good. Breakfast of spinach Benedict was very good and on Friday nights they set up a hibachi kitchen which is fun and pretty darn good. I've stayed here at least 6 times and it is always a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I recently stayed here and held a business session at the Mariner Inn. The place was recommended by a local whom I have a business relationship. While Tortola may blow you away, the location of The Mariner Inn may not. It is located right on a major marina so there are boats as far as the eye can see. The nearest beach, however, is 10-15 minutes away by foot. The biggest surprise was the comfort of the beds at this hotel. I travel quite a bit for work in the US and a fair amount in the Caribbean for pleasure. These beds were as comfortable as most places I stay in the US and more comfortable than just about any that I have experienced in the Caribbean. I used the conference facilities (which were more than adequate) and had lunch catered in (which was uninspiring), but did not experience the resorts restaurants otherwise. The location is nice in that there are some small stores located here to make your shopping for souvenirs easy. Overall, this is a good place to stay for business, a great place to stay if you are going to take a boat/ship somewhere, but not the place to stay if you are wanting a beach vacation.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 14. It had been recently renovated and is located on the main level with a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Playa03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
4.9 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
4.8 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#8 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#9 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.0 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel

Property: Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Address: 2 Wickhams Cay, Road Town, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings-Mariner Hotel Road Town
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing