We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sister restaurant to Charlie's located at Wickham's Cay II”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Hayward, California
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Sister restaurant to Charlie's located at Wickham's Cay II”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was more resort casual and great dining experience from a full day of activities. We had an early dinner, so the dining room was not at full capacity yet.

Tonight we ordered:
Tola Pasta - zucchini, basil and tomato, tossed in garlic butter w/fresh parsley, aldente pasta
Pan Seared Grouper served with seasonal vegetables and a black bean and corn salsa
As if the entrees were not enough, we had for dessert the Pressed Chocolate Cake and Pecan Pie.

We will sleep good tonight after a full day and great meal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flounder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    77
    66
    29
    29
See reviews for
43
68
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brea, CA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here overnight while waiting for our chartered catamaran to be ready. Had read reviews indicating the rooms were pretty bad, and therefore we requested the "newly remodeled" rooms, but we did not get them. The lobby, and shops are nice and lots of conveniences on the property for those going out on sailing trips (equipment rentals, small provisioning market, etc.) but the actual guest rooms are really shabby. We've stayed at other Moorings affiliated properties in primitive locations and found those rooms lovely, but these are poorly constructed, with peeling paint, mildew in showers, non-secure locks, etc. If we charter a boat again in this location, we will either search for a nicer hotel on Tortula, or get a room on St. Thomas after landing at the airport, and take the ferry over to Tortula early in the morning of our chartered departure. Moorings is a great company, but this property is not up to their standards.

Room Tip: Insist on a remodeled room. Based on other TA reviews, we requested when booking, but did not get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpanishRootsToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Road Town hotels

Northern Minnesota, USA
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The location is a bit out of Road Town, but walkable if you have little luggage. There are grocery stores nearby along with a French Cafe and local bakery that has the most amazing bread! Eating at Moorings is expensive, but convenient and good. The walk to town or to the cafe is very doable for meals. The rooms have mini refrigerators. While some Americans would think this place in need of an update, remember this is not America. The rooms were clean and well kept. Yes, there was wear around the floorboards and the tiles in the bathroom, but nothing unseemly. There was air conditioning in the rooms and ceiling fans.

The only issue that may arise for some, is the room key. There is only one per room.

I arrived much earlier than check in. The staff was very kind and helpful in showing me where to store my bag, as well as providing directions for various local sights. Since I was traveling alone, I was able to make good acquaintances with several staff. Eventually I met up with the rest of my group and they were surprised at how friendly, rather than just polite, the staff was. It cannot be stressed enough, learn the local customs, you are the visitor. Say good morning, good afternoon, good night, before conducting business or starting a conversation or even when entering a store.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, be sure to ask for a ground floor room. There are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stress free night before a charter. No taxi needed or hassle with luggage. Pricey but so worth the convenience. Nice big room with awesome shower, but make sure you request a remodeled room. Older rooms are pretty bad. Great bread bakery across the street to stock boat morning before you head out. Also, decent coffee shop on property.

Room Tip: Must request a remodeled room. The remodeled rooms are quite nice, the older ones are pretty bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Enjoyed relaxing before and after our sailing trip. The Moorings Mariner Inn and restaurant where very enjoyable. Good food, good friends, good times. The service was very friendly at both restaurants and excellent food.

Room Tip: Stay in the new refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoTravelerstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Very convenient, rooms between descent and very nice. Good outdoor bar scene. Biggest plus is that it is right on the marina and a short walk to boats. Don't over complicate if chartering a boat stay here

Room Tip: Upgrade to a premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSquared_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at the Moorings before and after our sail in the BVI. The grounds and personnel are delightful. The rooms are marginal at best. Great beds, especially after a week at sea in the cramped "stateroom" of a 36foot sail boat. The rooms are clean, but we had no hot water for showers. The bar next to the rooms is nice and the people are attentive.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
4.9 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
4.8 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
408 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#8 of 13 in Road Town
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
281 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#9 of 13 in Road Town
131 reviews
5.2 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel

Property: Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Address: 2 Wickhams Cay, Road Town, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings-Mariner Hotel Road Town
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing