We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
A TripAdvisor Member
“good place to relax”
Reviewed 12 March 2006

We had a good time staying at this hotel. The service and quality of food in the restaurant was very good and the rooms were much improved compared to what we experienced on our last vacation there about six years ago. We highly recommend this hotel to sailors and land lovers alike

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    76
    66
    29
    29
See reviews for
43
68
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 March 2006

Because The Moorings didn't send us all our itinerary on time we were stuck with staying two nights at their own hotel in Tortola. The rooms were small, dirty, falling apart, and cost almost $200 a night!!!! We were charged double for airport transfers and when we brought it to their attention we were given the runaround and never reimbursed.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Road Town hotels

Lodnon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2006

Just came back from a sailing trip in the Caribbean. The trip ended in the BVI. The Moorings Mariner Inn is a great place and location to call the end of what was a wonderful sail. The Inn was very much a under priced property for what was excellent service and food. I can't wait to return in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Akim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2006

The hotel is perfect for sailors who are staying for a pre-departure or a post-departure stay. The rooms were clean, the staff was kind and helpful. The pool was nice and quiet. I'd recommend having some snacks on hand and a few extra bottles of whatever you drink. Rum punch was $7.50/each, which can get expensive if you drink them like water. The bar food was great. We had dinner in the restaurant our 1st night there at dock. Although it was convenient, it was a buffet and pretty expensive.
Only a few issues such as no remote for our TV, but honestly I was able to survive for 8 days on a boat without a TV, so did it really matter?
Would I stay there again? We absolutely will whenever we are sailing. Would I go there for a lengthy stay, no. Happy Sailing!!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank em73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 February 2006

We went sailing with the Moorings which was fantastic. Upon our return we spent two nights at the Mariner Inn Hotel which we found to be very relaxing.

The staff from the receptionist to the maids paid special attention to our us and strived to fill our every need. We did not have to leave the hotel for any night life because there was live entertainment each night and the BBQ was great.

I had the experience of using my labtop from under a coconut tree pool side free of cost. Great addition.

Keep up the good work guys

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 January 2006

The Moorings is one of the most outstanding hotels I have ever been, and I have been to some awesome Hotels.

During our Island hoping, my boyfriend and i stayed there for a few days, we had a wonderful time. The place is beautiful and the rooms are comfortable and peaceful. The food is quite delightful and the staff are very easy o deal with. All in all we had a wonderful time and been back ever since.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 January 2006

While on vacation in the USVI, i decided to do some of the BVI. On my way to Tortola i did not have a hotel in mind, but the couple whom i was sitting next to in the ferry recommened the Moorings-Mariner Inn, because they had stayed there in privious time. So i decided to take them up on that recommendation. It was suprisingly warm and inviting, unlike most hotels that I have stayed in. The staff was most gracious and helped me with my every request. They even went beyond the call of duty, when asked for assitance with my travel plans to the other BVI. They were able to help me out tremendously with recommendations of places to go, and things to see in the other BVI for the rest of my travel plans. Thank you for a great stay. I will see you next year.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
4.9 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
4.8 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
401 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sugar Mill Hotel
Sugar Mill Hotel
#2 of 25 in Tortola
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#8 of 13 in Road Town
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
278 reviews
5.2 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel

Property: Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Address: 2 Wickhams Cay, Road Town, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings-Mariner Hotel Road Town
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing