We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sheets and soap stunk of mildew”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Elm Beach Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Road Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elm Beach Suites
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sheets and soap stunk of mildew”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

Beach dump. Bed sheets stunk of mold. Pillows were stained, old and dirty. Soap wrapper was browned around edges from mildew or mold. TV reception was horrible, no TV in room.

Location was great for attending the BVI music fest! We were right on the beach near bars, restaurants, a grocery store and the main stage for the music fest.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CallwoodCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    14
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

If your looking for 5 star this not your place. If your looking for a clean one bedroom apartment with a kitchenette, comfortable bed, friendly staff, restaurant and bar within steps of your room that also fronts the beach, this is your place. Nightly the Happy Table is the center of Cane Garden Bay where you can meet and have a few cocktails with locals. Prices are reasonable and you are within walking distance of 7 restaurants and a grocery store.

Room Tip: The second floor has better views but when your this closeto the ocean any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mstanton_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed on Tortola Nov 13-23, 2011. Our original villa we had rented through a website called vrbo.com was a dump. It was horrible. So after 6 days at that place we couldn't take it anymore. We were spending most of our time at Cane Garden Bay, so I asked if they had availability for the remaining 4 days of our stay, and thankfully they did. This place is so basic, but at least it had A/C and no sewage problems so I was happy. I don't think we will ever return to Tortola, it was hard coming from Anguilla first, and nothing compared to that. But, if it happened that we did end up back here, then I would choose Elm.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirl5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUISIANA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

Don't know why this place is getting such bad reviews ,We have stayed here for the past 2 years and have res. for Dec 2010.Yes, it is a little run down and the view out the back window shows alot of stuff that could be moved or thrown away.But the Beach view is great ,the beach is 15 steps away .The ladies at the beach front shops are very kind (Monica & Marsha) ,Restaurants, Bars & grocery store all in walking Dist, !00 yds.
If you're looking for the Hilton on the beach this is not it ,but a small place with just two staff members who will do everything they can too please you !!
We have stayed at many Island hotels and try to stay away from the Big name hotels with all the fanfare and this one fits Perfectly for us!!!!!!!!!! It's the hotel without the Fanfare!!!!
It's the Island people get over it!!!!!!!
Ron & Deena

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LouisianaCougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

I recently stayed here with my friend and literally did regret paying all that money.
1. Super dirty rooms - we had cockroaches in our first room and had to go to another room which had ants. When we complained about this, housekeeper told us to wait for the manager who was playing music in a band during that time and never showed up.
2. The Rooms are very humid and smells like mold. Old tile floors, dirty dark curtains, an air conditioner that is loud and old fashoned and more...
3. The Staff is never around - god forbid you need something.
4. The Staff behave like they are doing you a favor by letting you stay at this place (i dont even consider it as a hotel)
5. Both rooms we stayed had dirty beds and sheets.

Overall, it might be our luck that everything went wrong but I really would not suggest anyone to stay here. For the amount of money you'd be paying, you can stay at so many other yet nicer places. There is even a hotel called Myett's just next door which has a lot more to offer if you really want to stay around Cane Garden Bay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magnetar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Road Town hotels

NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

I have to agree with the last review. It's just not what it used to be and after 3 trips to Tortola in the past 6 years, this will be the last time we stay at Elm Beach. I thought the last reviewer (who had also stayed there previously and was always happy with it in the past) was maybe expecting too much or something like that so I ignored the review. Was that ever a mistake! I should have listened to her faithfully. The change was so radical that I asked the people at Myett's (the much nicer place next door where we will be staying next time) if the Elm Beach had changed owners but they said no. They implied that the owners had simply changed the way they did business, and that it was inexplicable to them also. My recommendation for anyone heading to Tortola is to stay at Myett's.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caribbeangeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2008

This review really troubles me. My husband and I have been going to Elms off and on for 11 years every Thanksgiving. I agree no Four Seasons back then but now it just a mess. We were always welcomed by Jackie and Sandra, exchanging Christmas cards and the welcome of Jackies baby daughter.

We took a chance 11 years ago on ELMS, loved Cane GardenBay, the beach and the great restuarents. Kept coming back, there were sea grapes, beautiful view, clean grounds, the rooms kept up and of course the roosters woke us up. I told my friends "I found my slice of Paradise"

It changed about 5 years ago, the hurricane left a gaping hole in front of the property,(still there) Elvert left to "run a resort" and the cruise lines found a a beautiful beach to bring in a few hundred people a day.

ELM's was the greatest on Cane Garden Bay. Quitos was going condo, Myetts was always overpriced. Rhymers was always just a little shoddy. Always great BBQ at ELMS

We did a family cuise this July, we rented a 4 x 4 and drove to ELMS, It was still a mess, worse then 3 years ago. We met our buddies, Juian, Jackie. So sad to see this once lovely b and b run down. We did not see the rooms, the exterior spoke for itself.

Going back to Tortola this Thanksgiving, a first in 3 years, but not staying at ELMs

  • Liked — Close to Beach,entertainament
  • Disliked — property maintance
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tanji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
2.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.1 mi away
Icis Villas
Icis Villas
#10 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Heritage Inn
The Heritage Inn
#11 of 25 in Tortola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.7 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#7 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Beach Suites

Property: Elm Beach Suites
Address: Cane Garden Bay, Road Town, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Elm Beach Hotel Road Town
Elm Beach Suites Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing