We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”
Review of Sea View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea View Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Reviewed 5 February 2007

I stayed at sea view for a week. I was on a tight budget so the cost was ideal compared to others on the island. All in all it wasn't a terrible experience but it lacked the finesse I would have hoped for but it was ok. The staff were pleasant, rooms clean and I felt that I was given alot of privacy. However.............it would have been nice to have a phone in the room even if only to receive incoming calls and it would have been nice if there was a bar, with a little TV some music etc. There was a bar but it was closed up, looked old and had probably not been used in a long time. It has the potential to be a great little place and i hope the owners are reading ths and make a few changes!!!

Stayed: February 2007
4  Thank roseau76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2006

We recently just stayed at the Sea View Hotel in Tortola for a two nights. We used it as a branching off point so we could take the ferry to Virgin Gorda and then have a place to stay when we returned. The Sea View has a great location right in Road Town and is great for the money you pay. We payed 65 Canadian for a room with a bathroom and a fan. You can upgrade and get air conditioning but for the time we were actually in the room it wasn't worth it. The rooms are clean, modest and have maid service each day along with a nice pool in the center of the hotel. If you are planning a beach vacation do not stay here as you will be very disappointed because it is right in the heart of the city. There are so many other beautiful and relaxing places to stay but I'm glad we stayed here before our visit to Virgin Gorda (a definite highlight) and then moved on to enjoy the beautiful beaches the BVI's has to offer. Overall I would definitely reccomend this place for a one to two night stay and for the money you can't beat it.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mdigz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2006

Hotel was above average for the island, except for those who want luxury accomodations (and willing to pay a High Price). Saffia was very pleasant, greeted us warmly despite our late night arrival. Coffeemaker and kitchenette were pleasant surprises. Bed was fine. While simple and austere, the room was very clean. We had some time to walk around the area the following morning and found the Seaview Hotel to be excellently located near the ferry and many of Road Town's attractions. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. I found none of the problems encountered by the previous reviewer. The pool was a very refreshing treat and afforded a beautiful view of the hillside above it.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Galoshes2Heels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bahamas
115
Reviewed 31 March 2005

This Hotel is for the budget traveller, and should always be considered this way. However a group of us where guests in this Hotel, we arrived on the Friday afternoon for a wedding. Only one of the rooms had running water and the staff where informed of this and immediately tried to fix it.

However nothing was fixed and after 5 minutes they gave up. The next morning (the morning of the wedding) they finally decided to call a plumber. We had to share a downstairs bathroom (seemingly the only one with water but still no shower head) to be able to shower. There where no aplologies for this or admissions that this was a major inconvience. They just told us individually that the other members of our group where not complaining and to stop being so nagative.

Once the water problem was fixed (though no Hot water) the Hotel owner / manager complained that we where disruptive, and vindictave and alledged that we deliberately sabotaged the water supplies! Then the story changed and they said that there had been no problem and it had worked all along!! Management refused to give us discount and threatened us with the police if we did not stop complaining.

Definately the worst service I have ever received and I live in the Caribbean where the service as a whole is dire.

Only stay here if there is nowhere else to go!!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paulina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
0.1 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
131 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Road Town
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
0.5 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
283 reviews
1.3 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Hotel

Address: 2 McNamara Road, Road Town VG1110, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Price Range: £65 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea View Hotel is an intimate family owned and operated hotel. Located in the quiet McNamara neighbourhood of Tortola in the beautiful British Virgin Islands, Sea View is a few minutes' walk away from the sights of the territory’s capital, Road Town. Sea View Hotel offers low cost, high quality accommodations including both Standard and Studio rooms with complimentary wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sea View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing