We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great snorkeling and lobster”
Review of Anegada Island

Anegada Island
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Anegada or the "drowned island" is completely surrounded by shallow reefs, and has become the focal point of underwater diving due to the many historic shipwrecks that litter the island's underwater depths.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling and lobster”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our boat anchored and we took a taxi to the other side of the island to loblolly beach. Lovely shaded areas on the beach, the reef was a little far out , and we saw lots of fish and a huge manta ray!
After watching the most spectacular sunset, We ate that evening at Whispering Pines, had the best lobster EVER served with salad and sides.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    103
    28
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Anegada sailing adventure”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We sailed from Bitter End to Anegada, the seas were fairly quiet and the sailing is wonderful, the prevailing easterlies make it an easy and relaxing trip. Once there and you approach the channel it is shallow.. which led to some interesting conversations as we should have grounded some distance out if the boat briefing had been accurate. Having made it in the island is stunning and well worth exploring. Lobster is a speciality and it was good but we had to order at lunch for what we envisaged we might like in the evening - all restaurants we spoke to did this. A minor gripe but I never know what I want until the last minute ..! Everyone should go if they have the chance. It is quite stunning.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank r b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleming Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“The best day of our 8 days in the BVI”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

If you're chartering a boat in the BVI, do not hesitate to visit Anegada island. The cruising guide makes it sound difficult but the entrance to the mooring field at Anegada Island is relatively straightforward and simple. Just follow below the buoys and you can't go wrong. Once inside the cut, you can choose your mooring freely. Barry will visit you and collect your mooring fee ($30) and he also can take your trash bags ($3 each) and is very very friendly. He informed us that he has lived there his entire life and lives in a true paradise. This island is not to be missed as it is a true gem. I wish we had stayed longer than one night. See my review of the Anegada Beach Club.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“AMAZING Beach! You must see to believe!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I took a day trip to Anegada last week via ferry and was absolutely blown away by this place. From the moment you walk onto Loblolly Bay, you are surrounded with crystal clear blue water and white sand for miles and miles. Huge Lobster roaming around. Wild stingrays everywhere. Amazing! You have to see to believe! If you every visit the BVI, i HIGHLY recommend you visit this place! You will not be disappointed! Renting a scooter (the easiest way to get around) costs $40 per day. Island is only 10 miles x 10 miles wide so scooter is perfect for this situation. Cow Wreck Bay is also very beautiful, but Loblolly takes the cake.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Paymon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chambersburg, PA
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great Dive BVI trip to Anegada - outstanding in every way. The beach was phenomenal and a great way to spend the day. The lobsters were unbelievable. We had calm waters for our trip on the open ocean; this may not always be the case. SO glad we made this day trip from Scrub Island.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank graymar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anegada Island also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Anegada Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing