We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bait & Switch?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boat House - CLOSED

The Boat House
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bait & Switch?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

The menu presented on January 31 in no way represented the description of the food on their web site. Perhaps it is appealing if you want everything covered with cream? We left without ordering which wasn't hard given the lack of service. One reviewed called the food imaginative. I'd call the reviewer imaginative.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hard to beat for fabulours food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

This is one of our favorite lunch stops on Tortola..though dinner on Fridays and Saturday is terrific too. The menu is inventive..from wraps to pizza to a delicious talapia to pastas and steaks. The staff is always friendly and Jenny the owner is a gem. Many locals frequent " The Boat House" which is a sign that its a great all around place. Jenny has even done some special Scottish nights and threatens to do a roast beef and Yorkshire pudding special..I say bring it on! If you are between West End and Road own heading east look for "The Boat House" on your right..you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Manpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

Located at the Manuel Reef Marina just before Sea Cow's Bay, the Boat House is tucked away on a second floor. I went with a large group so take lightly my service score of only 3. It took a bit to get food for a large group out together from a rather small kitchen. It didn't matter to me. The view was great and I was on island time. I had their mahi-mahi with mango chutney. Nicely plated and very tasty. Dessert was a simple chocolate cake, unfrosted but moist and satisfying. Friends ordered the strip steak with peppercorn sauce- grilled perfectly. All members of the parties seemed to enjoy their meals. If you order the apple strudel for dessert, plan to share, In reality it's a very large piece of apple pie. Also, be wary of ordering water. We go surprised by a cost $8.00 per pitcher. All in all, I would definitely go again.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank da91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

My wife, our four children (12 to 22) and I had a delightful dinner at the Boat House on the last night of our stay in the BVI's. It was a great meal, and great value, sitting at a wooden picnic table on the terrace of this restaurant. The owner (Jenny) was wonderful and her place is well run. Very tasty food! John (and Debbie, Monica, Sean, Alex and Grace)

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnCameronToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best in the BVI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

I spent 11 days cruising around the BVI, and we tried a number of local restaurants--the Boat House at Sea Cow's Bay was, by far, the best. We ate there three times, and it was excellent every time. The food is fresh and carefully prepared. The atmosphere is quiet and scenic, overlooking a marina. I especially enjoyed the grilled tilapia with mango salsa, served with carrot rice, perfectly steamed veg, and a green salad garnished with grilled grape tomatoes. This was a lovely meal, but every thing I tried, from the pizza to crab-stuffed portobello, was beyond fabulous.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happybunkygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boat House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing