We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience”

Kuralu Private Catamaran Charters
Ranked #2 of 25 Tours in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kuralu is a 50’ Catamaran offering the best daysail trips in the BVI to stunning islands and beautiful snorkeling spots. Sail in complete comfort to Sandy Spit, White Bay at Jost Van Dyke, the Indians and Caves at Norman Island. Snorkeling equipment, open bar and a gourmet lunch is included. No overcrowding and private groups a specialty. Safe for children, plenty of shade and a freshwater shower. Voted number 1 for a reason!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We did this tour on June 11 with Gary, Rowan and Grommet and had a fantastic time. Snorkeling on Sandy Spit was one of the best I've ever done, and the beach at White Bay was magnificent.

And the courtesy and service provided by Gary and the gang was superb.

Cheers to my fellow Canadian for a great day in Tortola.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luc Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    8
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best time of my entire vacation”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was the best trip ever. Gary had Eddie(taxi) meet us at the cruise pier on time and was easy to find. Couldn't find a better crew, very warm and welcoming and made you feel like it was your catamaran while onboard. Grommet was an added feature that I didn't expect but was so happy she was there. Lunch & drinks were amazing. If you're coming in on a cruise to Tortola don't hesitate to book with Gary. I will have to admit that I was worried about booking something you have no idea about that far from home & being worried about making it back to the ship on time so you won't be left behind, DON'T WORRY! Gary makes sure you are picked up & dropped off on time. This was the best time of our entire trip! Wouldn't hesitate to go again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MljohnsonRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous day sailing in the BVI”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We went out on the Kuralu today, sailing from West End, Tortola to Sandy Spit for some great snorkeling then on to White Bay, Jost Van Dyke for some beach time and lunch on the beach before sailing back. The hospitality of Gary, Roan, and Grommet is beyond measure. Unbeknownst to us at the time, we were pre-greeted by Grommet while we were having a cup of coffee at Soper's Hole before our departure. She is the real captain of the crew, she just lets Gary or Roan drive for her. She is a lovely, friendly dog that welcomes everyone on board and makes sure all are aware of noisy boats passing too close!

Gary has been sailing these waters for many years and his expertise clearly shows. He knows where he is going and what he is doing and we felt completely comfortable sailing with him. The first mate Roan is a native of Tortola and provided a lot of insight from a true local's perspective.

The boat itself is great! There is room in the shade in the back, there is ample deck space with lounge cushions in front if you want more sun. The drinks, of whatever type you are up for, are available and flowing freely all day. A particularly welcome addition was the fresh fruit offered after the snorkeling stop and after the White Bay beach stop. Nothing like a piece of fresh pineapple to wash the salt water out of your mouth!

We could not have had a better experience today ... so much so that we are going back out on the Kuralu the day before we leave to head home from our vacation.

If you are in Tortola and are looking for a day sail from the West End, I HIGHLY recommend you go out on the Kuralu!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Twohooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Riding, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“receipe of the day: Instant Stress Relief”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

From the moment that Capt. Gary and Grommet greet you in the picturesque port of Soper's Hole, you'll know you're in good hands for a day of fun and sun on the Kuralu.
It's hard to describe in words alone the feeling of total relaxation you feel while gliding across the turquoise waters of the BVIs. Capt. Gary runs a first class operation catering to his guest's every whim. The vibes were real, the food healthy & scrumptous, and Roan kept the rum punch flowing with good cheer all day. Our experience felt more like a laid back private charter amongst friends rather than a over-crowded "tourist bus on the sea".
We're looking forward to our next adventure with Capt. Gary & crew.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lupea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Day cruise with friends”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We had the best time and enjoyed sailing on the the Kuralu this past week. The lunch was so delicious and healthy! The rum punch wasn't bad either. :)

Helpful?
2 Thank dlarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kuralu Private Catamaran Charters also viewed

 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
West End, Tortola
 

Been to Kuralu Private Catamaran Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing