We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and food nothing special”

French Deli & Gourmet Shop
Ranked #2 of 38 Restaurants in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Delicatessen, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: We are the only specialized French and European high end gourmet and delicatessen shop in the British Virgin Islands. Come in for coffee or lunch and browse our wide selection of gourmet items, cheeses, meats, wines, champagnes, imported directly from France and our delicious breads, pastries and chocolates.Enjoy a comfortable, relaxed atmosphere, friendly service and affordable priced food.
Reviewed 6 May 2014

we came for the breakfast and it wasn't anything special at all. Service was bad. it looked like they had lots of specialty meats and Cheeses to buy but we did not try this. Can only rate the breakfast and service

Thank kjell_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrenchDeli, Manager at French Deli & Gourmet Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to put in writing.
We regret to hear that the service & food did not meet your expectations. We have passed on your comments and concerns, so they may address this situation with the team, and ensure that we deliver better service. We are mainly a Delicatessen offering a very simple breakfast menu added recently, responding to clientele's demand. Our "forte" is lunch, offering salads, sandwiches and a very simple hot plates; soups, beef, chicken, pasta, seafood & risotto menu. The latter changes weekly. We look forward to your next visit to give us the opportunity to show you that we can do better. Bring this, with you to remind us. You'll get a discount when you come back, to make it up to you. We sincerely hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

What a nice surprise to find this shop near the Moorings marina. We visit annually and have made this a must-stop in provisioning our boat. There are great sandwiches and provisions, but also delicious pastries and frozen foods.

Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrenchDeli, Public Relations Manager at French Deli & Gourmet Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your great review and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you liked our shop and products. We are happy to hear that you make a “must-stop” for your provisioning. Your business is much appreciated. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

.............Superb sandwiches and deli provisions. A decent wine selection and some of the best rhums in the islands. Clement Rhum specifically. And it is impossible to make it to the cashier without grabbing a delicious pastry........or two. I also found this to be a great value for such fine products on this pricey little island.............

Thank NomadKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrenchDeli, Owner at French Deli & Gourmet Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

It is our pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our sandwich and product selections, as well as finding value for you money. Thank you for taking the time to write about it. We look forward to your next stop by the Deli.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Other in my group had sandwiches which looked great. I had a hummus salad, which ended up being quite a bit of food. There are so many choices, but not much seating. Be prepared to order to go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrenchDeli, Owner at French Deli & Gourmet Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you for your positive review. Hopefully the next time you come by, we have moved to a bigger place. We appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Tasty sandwiches, fine frozen croissants, canned and packaged foods from France, wines, all overseen the the former owner of a fine French restaurant. A delightful surprise.

Thank DHKNIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrenchDeli, Manager at French Deli & Gourmet Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thanks for your positive review. We look forward to your next visit to our shop, when you come back to the British Virgin Islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed French Deli & Gourmet Shop also viewed

 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to French Deli & Gourmet Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing