We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising and delicious”

French Deli & Gourmet Shop
Ranked #3 of 36 Restaurants in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Delicatessen, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: We are the only specialized French and European high end gourmet and delicatessen shop in the British Virgin Islands. Come in for coffee or lunch and browse our wide selection of gourmet items, cheeses, meats, wines, champagnes, imported directly from France and our delicious breads, pastries and chocolates.Enjoy a comfortable, relaxed atmosphere, friendly service and affordable priced food.
Smartsville, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprising and delicious”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a nice quick and tasty lunch before departing on a week long sailing charter, and this was the perfect option, close to the marina, relatively good value, yummy food, etc. Delicious sandwiches and the air conditioning was PRIMO!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MsMindyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrenchDeli, Manager at French Deli & Gourmet Shop, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for your positive words and for taking the time to write about your lunch experience. We are delighted to learn that you found value and tasty food. That is a plus in our book. Thank you for your business. We hope to see you again when you visit the British Virgin Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    51
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
112 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Average lunch, slow service”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Had lunch at the French deli one day during my stay in Tortola. The baguette was ok but far from a really nice truly French baguette. Worst of all, it took forever to cut a baguette in half and add some cheese, lettuce and meat.
The cakes that had on display looked pretty and the almond tart was tasty

Helpful?
1 Thank Droesje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrenchDeli, Manager at French Deli & Gourmet Shop, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.
We are pleased to read that you liked our pastries. We really appreciate your feedback regarding our products and staff. We regret to hear about your wait and the sandwich did not meet your expectations. We have passed on your comments and concerns, so they may address this situation with the team, and ensure that we deliver better & speedier service. Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Food is tasty. Service is on the slow side. They could be a little more friendly. Menu is diverse. They have daily specials.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveling98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrenchDeli, Manager at French Deli & Gourmet Shop, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed the food and found variety on our menu. Will talk to staff about being a bit friendlier. But hopefully they were helpful and professional. The service speed is a difficult one, because this is the Caribbean and the pace is slower in these parts. It's one of the reasons vacationers like you, choose to come here to unwind and relax. We look forward to have you next time to come to the BVI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
302 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT froxen croissants!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Our boat Captain from the Tonina buys these frozen croissants here. Just put them in a cold over before you go to bed and in the morning after they've risen, turn on the oven and bake until perfectly brown, best I've ever tasted!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hawkro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrenchDeli, Manager at French Deli & Gourmet Shop, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for the positive review on the frozen croissants. Along with these we offer an extensive product line in the frozen and partially baked (par-baked). They make your life much easier, at home or on the boat. We do the work, you get the compliments! Nothing like waking to the fresh baked goods. WE are please you had a great time on "Tonina" and look forward to your next visit to the B.V.I.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Wa.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Poor service and food nothing special”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

we came for the breakfast and it wasn't anything special at all. Service was bad. it looked like they had lots of specialty meats and Cheeses to buy but we did not try this. Can only rate the breakfast and service

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kjell_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrenchDeli, Manager at French Deli & Gourmet Shop, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to put in writing.
We regret to hear that the service & food did not meet your expectations. We have passed on your comments and concerns, so they may address this situation with the team, and ensure that we deliver better service. We are mainly a Delicatessen offering a very simple breakfast menu added recently, responding to clientele's demand. Our "forte" is lunch, offering salads, sandwiches and a very simple hot plates; soups, beef, chicken, pasta, seafood & risotto menu. The latter changes weekly. We look forward to your next visit to give us the opportunity to show you that we can do better. Bring this, with you to remind us. You'll get a discount when you come back, to make it up to you. We sincerely hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed French Deli & Gourmet Shop also viewed

 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to French Deli & Gourmet Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing