We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Dream Destination Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Dream Destination Wedding”
Reviewed 9 May 2011

My wife and and I were married right at the hotel back in March and we can't say enough about how great the experience was. The staff was incredible, especially Pamelah. We were in contact with Pamelah before our trip and she had arranged much of the wedding for us beforehand. When we arrived on the island there was little for us to do besides relax and enjoy the amazing setting of the small paradise we were in. The hotel itself is amazing. We had a second floor suite and the view from the balcony was spectacular. You are just mere feet away from the water and there is nothing like laying in bed and listening to the relaxing sounds of cascading waves. The hotel was so quiet and peaceful and having your own private beach is a plus. As far as the wedding it couldn't have been more perfect. We were married in the afternoon out on the private pier with the sun setting over the mountains in the distance. It was extremely romantic and picturesque and it was everything we wanted it to be.

From the food to the wonderful service we received the whole experience was incredible. We would recommend Fort Recovery to anyone and we look forward to the day we return. We would like to thank Pamelah and her staff once again. We appreciate everything they did for us.

Room Tip: I would recommend a second floor unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davidosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    105
    33
    35
    16
See reviews for
92
213
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We've stayed in lots of places in the Caribbean over the last ten years and our stay at Fort Recovery is by farrrr our best stay. We had a beautiful room about 10 steps from the water. The staff all made us feel like family. The only downside was that we had to leave.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank tessastowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We first stayed at Fort Recovery in the mid-90's. We've been back a number of times. This visit was different, because we usually bareboat chartered and then stayed on land for a few days. All we wanted to do on this trip was chill out -- with no pressure and no surprises. As always, each time we've come here, Pamelah figured out a way to make our stay better than before -- which is really difficult. Our room was exactly what we wanted, the restaurant meals were excellent. The friendly service and help from all of the staff was great. Pat loved her massage. Our day trip to Jost was a lot of fun. The other guests we met were so friendly. We had the relaxing vacation we wanted. Many thanks to Anita, Pamelah, and Matt for helping to make this another most memorable visit to the BVI.

Pat & David
Washington, DC

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortRecovery, Manager at Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Thank you so much for your review of your stay with us!

We are thrilled that you returned to the BVI after so many years and chose to stay at Fort Recovery again.

I'm very glad that the massage was enjoyed and have passed the compliments to Ivet! Folks are always so pleased with our powerboat excursions, they truly are a blast.

Hope to see you both again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubinpa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Had a true vacation away from every day life, great accommodations, service, view, meals and Caribbean experience. Staff was awesome, helpful booking side trips and adventures and securing cab service, very relaxing!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandmamadublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mosinee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2011

connecting with the bvi
as we selected a drop off point to stay before and after our bareboat charter,we selected fort recovery.
It exceeded our expectations.The perfectly appointed older vilias with screen doors,to the near perfect cleanliness,I can say that the view,food,amenities and hospitality deserves a 6 star rating.
No where have I stayed in such a relaxed,comfortable atmoshere with their main goal to provide you with a laid back yet comfotable level of service.
A must stay place for connecting with the real people of the BVI.
no worries
Dean Lee

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanmosinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2011

For years I have seen the ads for Fort Recovery in Tortola in the various travel magazines I subscribe too. You can never be sure if the ads speak the truth, but when a friend recommended it we gave it a shot. I love snorkeling. I love being directly on the water. I love looking out from the unit and seeing the ever-changing scenes of the ocean.

Sitting on the beach was like sitting on our own private beach, much like we have done at our Adirondack summer home for decades, only without the mosquitoes! The snorkeling in front of the resort was good. The beach is extremely safe for children as it is on the quiet side of Tortola. They have a unit which sleeps many people and there was a family reunion while we were there - several generations including 7 children who had so much fun.

We traveled with our adult son who is an avid mountain biker, and he enjoyed the challenging roads of Tortola, plus the nearby islands of Jost Van Dyke and Virgin Gorda, easily reachable by ferry. He rode them all from top to bottom and one end to the other. Even met the president of the Tortola Mountain Biking group when we stopped by chance at a mountaintop restaurant.

The owner of Fort Recovery lives on premises, and together with her manager Pamelah with an "h" and Matt they met all of our needs - even replacing a refrigerator in less than an hour of when I told them it was defrosting our ice cubes! No absentee management here. The grounds were meticulously groomed daily and the units cleaned daily as well.
The bed was very comfortable, which is important.

The complimentary meal included in a 7-night stay was delicious and we ate there a second night, although we also ventured out to sample some cute local waterfront restaurants. There are several within an easy drive of the resort, important when you are driving home on the left side of the road after dinner.

The complimentary snorkel trip to the Caves and the Indians was great - I have read about them for years as well as the Willy T - (a floating pirate ship restaurant)
where we stopped for lunch between snorkel spots.

The resort is quiet, with mature palm trees and is very easy to drive to either from the ferry at West End, the airport on Beef Island, or Roadtown, without having to battle the terribly maintained mountain roads and switchbacks of many of the other resorts.

I would like nothing better than to spend a month there in the winter rather than where we live in upstate New York, which is beautiful in the summer but not good for retired people to be stuck inside for months on end.

I highly recommend paying a little extra for a second floor "penthouse" corner unit because the views are wonderful and the corner unit's louvered windows give you great air circulation. We didn't use the A/C once, just the ceiling fans and the louvers.

Don't overpack. The resort and island, stores and restaurants are very casual.

Thanks Anita, Pamelah and Matt for a wonderful week.

Mary Ann, Alain and Thierry Blanchet
Clifton Park, NY

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABLANCHET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortRecovery, Manager at Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Hello there,

Thank you very much for your review of us!

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Fort Recovery on Tortola and that we were able to live up to your expectations!

We really do pride ourselves on being a family owned and operated hotel, when we first opened our doors in 1969. We firmly believe that having management and owners on-site is very important in taking care of all our guests' needs and keeping the property well maintained!

As a bit of interesting history, everything on property (except our historic fort of course!) was built from scratch by the owner. When the property was first built there was nothing here at all but the spectacular fort that stands fully in-tact. It is truly amazing to witness how the hotel has evolved over the decades and continues to do so every day!

Again, thank you for your review of us and I'm really happy that you enjoyed your boat trip, meals and villa.

We hope to see you again in the future and that you'll return to the BVI!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Great resort, beautiful rooms and wonderful staff. We (husband 15 year old daughter) had booked a 2 bedroom oceanfront, and were upgraded to a 3 bedroom, although we didn't need any more space the extra bathroom came in handy. This is a very quiet and laid back resort (which we loved) We vacation to rest, and unwind from the stress of real life, this place exceeded my expectations. The beach is small but very clean, and the view is one of the best we have ever had. We stayed for 10 days and rented a car for 8. There is no bar at the resort and the restaurant was closed a few nights,serves breakfast but not lunch. We like to venture out and ate at many other restaurants, so that really didnt matter to us. If you need bars, on site food at all times and lots of activities, this might not be the place for you. We went to Cane Garden Bat nice (Dont go there when cruise ships are in) and Smugglers Beach (it was too rough to snorkeling for me) Must see; Go to Virgin Gorda The Baths, (go all day and explore Virgin Gorda) Josh Van Dyke .....Famous Foxys...... Had fun on Willy T's pirate ship for lunch(good food) and painkillers, it was alot of fun! Thanks Pamelah for taking good care of us. We enjoyed Becky as she laid on our porch waiting for us to come out and play.........It filled the void of missing our own dogs at home. Thanks Matt for the tour of the "VILLA" maybe we will bring the whole family real soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonlit5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortRecovery, Manager at Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2011
Hi there,

Thanks so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your trip here on Tortola and that you chose to stay with us! I'm very glad that you got to see the island and the "neighborhood" and checked out VG, Willy T, Jost, etc. We really reccomend to all our guests to see as much as possible and love to arrange special excursions for them and point out the best "must see" spots! We are thrilled that you liked the Beach Villa tour and that you will perhaps bring your whole family here in the future. Many thanks for all your kind words and hope to see you again soon!

-Pamelah, Matt & the rest of the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
0.9 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
398 reviews
1.2 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
375 reviews
9.4 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
#6 of 13 in Road Town
228 reviews
1.1 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
723 reviews
11.4 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel

Property: Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Address: Towers | West End, Road Town VG1110, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Road Town
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel is a small, unique hotel located on Tortola, British Virgin Islands and is family owned & operated since 1969. Chosen by Discovery's Travel Channel, Fort Recovery was the only Hotel Selected on Tortola for their exclusive Caribbean showcase. They were also chosen as the Captain's Guide Magazine's "Best Resort," by the Reader's of the Captain's Guide Magazine. All suites are directly on the beach with Cable TV, A/C, free WI-FI, housekeeping, private balcony/patio/deck, living room, kitchen, master bedroom, full bathroom and more. Views are unmatched and completely unobstructed, right on the calm, Caribbean side of Tortola. On site is a full service Spa with professionally trained staff. There is an in-house, private restaurant also serving breakfast and dinner daily. 24/7 on-site management and knowledgeable front desk staff are always there at your service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa Hotel Road Town
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa And Suites Hotel
Fort Recovery Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Fort Recovery Beachfront
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing