We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
Oceanport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We loved this resort. Great bathing and snorkeling right from the beach. Quiet setting. Not far from some of the fantastic coral beaches like Smugglers Cove.

The mgt was cordial and helpful beyond belief; obviously the manager Pamelah was a respected member of the community and a real resource for all activities on the island. She arranged our activities or advised us on just about everything we did during the week. The support staff was spectacular and above all very friendly. And the rooms were immaculate. The only person who did not treat us royally was the taxi driver from the resort but he was still ok and we really can't complain. The complimentary welcome dinner for our family was a big plus and much enjoyed after our long first day of travel, and the free snorkeling tour with the resort boat was a bonus. The pool was a good way to cool off after a hot day at the beach.

We had a great time also meeting other guests and enjoying steel drum music at the beach house. In fact, the unexpected socializing with like-minded guests looking for comfort and relaxation was a real plus and made possible by the laid-back ambience of the resort.

This is a great place to stay, if you don't want onsite dancing or high life every night. We'll certainly try to repeat a visit here soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    105
    33
    35
    16
See reviews for
94
213
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We loved this resort. The mgt was cordial and helpful beyond belief; obviously Pamelah was a respected member of the community and a real resource for all activities on the island. The support staff was spectacular and above all very friendly. And the rooms were immaculate. The only person who did not treat us royally was the taxi driver from the resort but he was still decent enough. We had a great time also meeting other guests and enjoying steel drum music at the beach house. A great stay and we'll certainly repeat it soon. - Tom and Carola

great stay!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We had a five day stay here in July, and found it to be a lovely place! The atmosphere was beautiful and peaceful, and our back door was directly on the water! Fabulous! The rooms were comfortable and bright and very clean and fresh. We had a one bedroom villa which has a little living room and a kitchen. If we come back (which is a good possibility!) we would buy some groceries at the supermarket in Road Town which is about 25 minutes drive from here, and cook in our rooms. The only store nearby is kind of a convenience market, and doesn't have much food selection. Fort Recovery has a little restaurant on site, but it's pretty pricey ($35 per person - dinner), and it's hard to justify that expense every day. Breakfast was about $13/per... there's a complimentary continental breakfast, but that's just toast, orange juice and coffee. Wish there had been more options there. We ended up eating at other places around the area which had more choices and less expensive. Other than that tho, everything was fantastic. They have a boat on site, and they took us to some gorgeous snorkeling sites. Too bad we didn't book it for 7 day, cause that would've been included in the deal! The staff is very nice and helpful, and the atmosphere is casual and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this place to stay... It's priced affordabley and is well worth it. As I mentioned before, if we come back, (and Tortola is a spectacularly beautiful place to come back to) we will stay here again!

Room Tip: Summer season has less people, great weather and off season prices. definitely a bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gandk1_164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

My family stayed in a beautiful 2 bedroom condo-style villa (#9E) at Ft Recovery for 4 nights as part of a 9 day tour of the British and US Virgin Islands. My sister had sailed the islands many years ago, but the rest of us had never been before, so we wanted to see as much as we could during our 9 days. We were on a budget and Ft Recovery offered everything we needed and more at a true bargain price. After we left Tortola, we went to St. John and stayed in a similar style accomodation. At the end of our trip, my husband, sister, daughter, and myself discussed our favorite parts, and I was a little surprised to hear all of us pick our stay in Tortola. We purchased a restaurant & spa package at Ft Recovery and enjoyed everything tremendously. In fact, our package included yoga as well, and somehow we just ran out of days (sorry Pamelah, I was looking forward to that!) Anyway, we dined on-site for breakfast every day, and several nights for dinner as well. The food was always excellent, and it is obvious that they take pride in their service. One special lady went out of her way to pick local breadfruit from her home and cook them for us for breakfast one day. It wasn't something on the menu, she did it because we had expressed an interest in learning about their native foods. Quite yummy with salt & butter, by the way. The small spa was fabulous as well. After being massaged, then coffee & sugar scrubbed (and it was as luxurious as it sounds!), I walked into the ocean wrapped in a sheet to wash off the scrub. She was waiting for me with a nice fluffy towel as I discretely dropped the wet sheet to the sand. Made this old girl feel very sexy and my skin felt "baby butt smooth" for days! My sister and daughter loved their reflexology, deep tissue massage, and manicures as well. Pamelah quickly and expertly arranged all of our adventures in Tortola including a great last minute sail trip (to Virgin Gorda, Jost Van Dyke, & Copper Island on the White Squall II), a fabulous tour of the island (including Caldwood Distillery, Cane Garden Bay, etc.), and a wonderful dinner at the restored Sugar Mill Restaurant. Since we are budget minded travelers, I would rent a car next time as we easily paid for the rental fee in taxi fares. But, then again, it was nice to have a local tour guide for our first visit. The whole island is breathtaking and I know there is much more that we didn't get a chance to see. No one was staying in the massive Beach Villa/Grand Beach House (sleeps up to 16 people) and Doug gave us a tour right before we left. I am so glad we did because I now know where our next family reunion will be - it is PERFECT in every way. This is getting quite wordy, so I will sum it up for you. Our condo-style villa was fabulous - it was relatively new, clean, and very well taken care of. They thought of everything we needed and had it waiting for us, including a welcome basket of foods and champagne. But I believe the thing that sets Ft Recovery above other similar lodging I've experienced is their staff. We truly enjoyed getting to know everyone on a personal level.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yukon, OK
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

My wife & I stayed in a 3 BR suite the night before leaving on a Festiva sailing trip out of Nanny Cay. upon our return, we stayed in a 1 BR suite. we had a great time on both occasions. Fort Recovery is very close to Nanny Cay. it's 30-40 minutes to the Beef Island airport. The suites were very nice with covered porches/decks literally next to the Caribbean Sea. It has a beach area with chairs, tables, etc. the pool area is very nice as well. The restaurant was most accommodating for all meals. The hotel staff was great! I'd go back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

This was our fist trip to the BVI, and we were very pleased. Villa was oceanfront,airy and very clean. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Perfect resort to totally relax!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoAnnKscotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

This is a small, family-run hotel. Owner and staff were very obliging re giving advice, arranging taxis, printing out boarding passes, etc. The beach is small and not as attractive as many others on Tortola, but view from our balcony was nice. Room on second floor was actually a suite, adequately furnished with all of the basics. Location is out of the way, requiring taxi rides between $20 and $40 one way, ride to airport was $50 as I recall. Island style dinner is served, limited menu, no bar. Not much to do on site. Price was fair but not a steal or a great bargain. Swimming pool very small.

Room Tip: We were glad to have been on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wgd35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
0.9 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
402 reviews
1.2 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
382 reviews
9.4 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
726 reviews
11.4 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
4.3 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel

Property: Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Address: Towers | West End, Road Town VG1110, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Road Town
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel is a small, unique hotel located on Tortola, British Virgin Islands and is family owned & operated since 1969. Chosen by Discovery's Travel Channel, Fort Recovery was the only Hotel Selected on Tortola for their exclusive Caribbean showcase. They were also chosen as the Captain's Guide Magazine's "Best Resort," by the Reader's of the Captain's Guide Magazine. All suites are directly on the beach with Cable TV, A/C, free WI-FI, housekeeping, private balcony/patio/deck, living room, kitchen, master bedroom, full bathroom and more. Views are unmatched and completely unobstructed, right on the calm, Caribbean side of Tortola. On site is a full service Spa with professionally trained staff. There is an in-house, private restaurant also serving breakfast and dinner daily. 24/7 on-site management and knowledgeable front desk staff are always there at your service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa Hotel Road Town
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa And Suites Hotel
Fort Recovery Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Fort Recovery Beachfront
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing