We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We had high hopes for our visit to Fort Recovery - it came recommended and we saw plenty of positive reviews on Trip Advisor. However, it was absolutely oversold. The grounds border on shoddy - broken concrete, mud. The rental car Pamelah 'arranged' was filthy, had a cracked windshield and bald tires - and cost more than we would have spent at Hertz - the 'convenience' was not worth it. "Continental Breakfast" was white or wheat (not whole) toast, juice, coffee. No 'delicious pastries' as billed. Big heap of sand at one end of beach, as described by another reviewer. Cockroaches in room. We arrived as it was getting dark, expecting to eat dinner in the restaurant, and were told that Thursday night is chef's night off. Then we found out the restaurant would be closed an additional night due to a holiday - our last night. Especially given the price we were paying, a simple notification by email about the restaurant's unavailability on these two nights would have been appreciated - and honestly, not too much to ask.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keokagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2010

We've stayed at Ft. Recovery 3 times and it is always exciting when I know we are going back! It's laid back atmosphere amidst the jungle surroundings sets the tone for a super relaxing getaway. The suites are beautifully decorated with breathtaking views of St. John and the St. Francis Waterway...great for picture taking. This suite also has a microwave, refrigerator and dishes, etc. Nice to be able to go to the grocery store for essentials to snack on. And, of course, the water...the warm, blue water.

The staff is fabulous and treat you like family whether you are there for 1 day or 10 days. There is a lovely inground pool, and a restaurant. I know there are spa services, but I haven't tried them yet.

I highly recommend Ft. Recovery to anyone who wants to experience this relaxing getaway in the BVI.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linny913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

The resort was OK but the information and on-line pictures made it sound and look much better than it really was. Pamelah helpful; Ivette & Lelitha the best. In fact all the hardworking staff were delightful.

Food: One suggestion is that guests should be told that they have to place their dinner order by a certain time if they plan on dining in the restaurant. We didn't know that and just showed up one night much to the displeasure of the dinner staff. We were served however. We also did not know that the restaurant is closed on a particular night and just by luck found out that it was going to be closed an additional night due to a holiday. The continental breakfast was just toast, juice and coffee, rather blah. The full breakfast was OK. The dinners were very good.

Room: The sheets/towels/bath mats left much to be desired. Shredded towels, bleached out bathmats and bath cabinets falling apart--the bathroom in our room needs to be gutted. Air conditioner which we needed a couple of nights VERY noisy. Overall impression is that they are doing the bare minimum just to keep the place going and things seemed somewhat shabby. But, perhaps this is the way it is with Caribbean resorts. In fairness, we did receive all the amenitites we were promised.

We met people who return year after year--we think mainly because of the staff. The people who work there do the best they can with what is available and we commend them for that. Management should do all they can to hold onto them--they are invaluable.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABS2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

We go sailing in the BVI's every two years. After a week at sea, we spend a day on shore before our trip home. Fort Recovery has been the ideal place to recover our land legs.

It's a beautiful place on a beautiful island on one of the most beautiful bodies of water in the world. Our beachfront villa (living room, kitchenette, bedroom, bath and outdoor terrace) was spotless and wonderfully decorated. The sandy beach is right outside the door. The grounds are beautifully landscaped.

Pamelah the manager and her staff always make us feel very welcome even though we stay only one night. This year we had the pleasure of meeting the owner as well as some of the regulars over a great breakfast at the restaurant.

This was our 4th time at Fort Recovery. I look forward to many more and definitely recommend it, for sailors in need of a bit of "recovery" as well as for landlubbers who just want to relax in a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noelp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We had just come off friends' boat, and arrived at 6pm to be told that the restaurant and bar were closed, there was no way to get a drink, even a glass of water, and zilch in the minibar....So we had to walk about a half-mile to a very rough little shop along a busy road to get a few provisions. As it was getting dark.
And....the mobile phone they proudly provided did not work, the beach was half-covered in tarpaulin over a new sand delivery, they forgot to book our taxi for the airport, the food(when the restaurant did open) was inedible....do not under any circumstances order the omelette for breakfast.
The sheets, much discussed in other reviews, were great the first night but were disgusting patterned polyester the second night. So much for the Proprietor's promise to sort things out.
Pamelah welcomed us and told us that the air-con had been put on in our apartment by her personally.....WRONG! It was not on, and the room was sweltering. Never mind, she looked happy with life as she drove off in her brand new Audi convertible.
This place is a joke, outlandishly expensive for what it is......three-quarters empty....but ironically, the rooms are some of the best we have ever stayed in in the Caribbean!
PS We forgot to mention the (fortunately) dead cockroach by our bedside when we arrived.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank almosr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We renewed our vows at Fort recovery this past January. It was our first trip to the Virgin Islands. A trip we thought would be beyond our budget. But after reading several reviews about Fort Recovery we contacted Pamelah and worked out a package including room, several meals and a Jeep that was within our means. Pamelah worked with us in the weeks before our visit to plan our renewal. She arranged for an officiator (Vicki) and a photographer (John). Pamelah also ordered our cake and she and her staff made sure everything from hair to flowers were perfect. Tortola is a beautiful Island and I would highly recommend Fort recovery as a place to stay while you visit. I recommend a rental car as their are so many wonderful beaches to visit and sights to see near by. I would also recommend a visit to the Island of Virgin Gorda. We took a water taxi from Road Town with taxi service to the Baths and lunch for $96 for two. The people of this Island are friendly and we felt safe touring around on our own.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike-deb-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Absolutely the best vacation ever! An unbeleivable setting, very relaxing, fun, and great PERSONAL servic by a great staff!

Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
2  Thank larscentralpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
0.9 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
9.4 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
1.2 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
733 reviews
11.4 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
4.3 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel

Address: | West End, Road Town VG1110, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Road Town
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Road Town
Price Range: £221 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel is a small, unique hotel located on Tortola, British Virgin Islands and is family owned & operated since 1969. Chosen by Discovery's Travel Channel, Fort Recovery was the only Hotel Selected on Tortola for their exclusive Caribbean showcase. They were also chosen as the Captain's Guide Magazine's "Best Resort," by the Reader's of the Captain's Guide Magazine. All suites are directly on the beach with cable TV, A/C, free WI-FI, housekeeping, private balcony/patio/deck, living room, kitchen, master bedroom, full bathroom and more. Views are unmatched and completely unobstructed, right on the calm, Caribbean side of Tortola. On site is a full service spa with professionally trained staff. There is an in-house, private restaurant also serving breakfast and dinner daily. 24/7 on-site management and knowledgeable front desk staff are always there at your service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa Hotel Road Town
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa And Suites Hotel
Fort Recovery Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Fort Recovery Beachfront
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing