We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Charter on a Great Boat from a Great Company” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BVI Yacht Charters

BVI Yacht Charters
Ranked #7 of 25 Tours in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The British Virgin Islands are widely considered among the world's finest sailing destinations and for the past 20 years, BVI Yacht Charters have been the first port of call for those looking to explore Natures Little Secrets. Unmatched for choice and quality of yacht, island knowledge, contacts and customer service, BVIYC have every base covered to make this the vacation of a lifetime. The 60 islands that make up the BVIs are not just about sailing. They are famed for their amazing scuba and snorkeling spots, historical wrecks, delicious food and great nightlife. The fantastic BVI Yacht Charters team will guide you through everything from the initial enquiry to returning to dock, meaning you have a stress free experience.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful Charter on a Great Boat from a Great Company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We chartered Oxia (a 42' Lagoon sailing catamaran) from BVI Yacht Charters as a group of 11 Sea Scouts and Scouters. Several of us have lots of sailing experience, and a couple of us are ASA trained to cover boats like this. BVIYC did a great job on almost every conceivable aspect of this charter. They answered emails completely and promptly. They were forgiving with delays in payments. They provided a great boat with (almost) everything working on it. Certainly all of the major pieces were all in working order. They provided a very helpful briefing on navigation, including points to avoid and ways around them. They also gave us a comprehensive tour of the boat. The check-out captain was in a hurry and was a little grumpy due to that, but he served his purpose and left his mark on the boat. They provide a cell phone that worked whenever we needed it. Calls to other BVIYC charters and their base are free, and we did make use of that service to verify some navigation questions and get weather approval for passage to Anegada. Mid-week we noticed a tear at the head of the jib. They came out promptly and replaced the sail at Spanish Town on Virgin Gorda. When we returned to the dock, a communications mishap between myself (at the helm) and the dock crew resulted in a crack to the bow of the port hull. We were able to negotiate a reasonable sharing of the cost to get it back to like-new condition. I wouldn't hesitate to use them for this type of trip in the future. Thanks for all the help and hand-holding, guys!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Glimfeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    9
    7
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

For our first BVI bareboat charter, we chose a 38' catamaran from BVI Yacht Charters. Our selection came down to price and value, and we don't regret our choice. They are not a first tier company (the boats tend to be older) but their prices reflect that. The boat we chose was in decent shape, very clean but had a few issues. The biggest problems we had:

- Broken anemometer: while the boat had all the modern instruments, the anemometer was not working for most of the trip. Since we had only sailed monohulls up until then, and never in this area, it would have been very helpful for us to know the wind speeds. This came out in the checkout, so the staff knew about this in advance.

- Lack of windex: no excuse for that one. I want to know where the wind is coming from. If the anemometer is broken, there needs to be a windex.

- The dinghy: We couldn't start the dinghy motor the first time we tried to use it (we should have insisted on trying it during the checkout). The dinghy was also under-inflated, which prevented it from planing. And by the end of the charter, it was noticeably soft.

On the bright side:

- Support from the staff was prompt and helpful. A chase boat came out immediately to replace the dinghy motor, for example.

- The location is very conveniently located near Riteway, which made provisioning very easy.

- The boat was very clean, and well appointed. We were supplied with wind scoops to help ventilate the cabins, each cabin was equipped with a fan and LED reading lights, we were given a cell phone with $10 credit which came in very handy, etc.


We would charter with BVI Yacht Charters again without hesitation. The staff is friendly and very helpful, the location convenient and the choice of boats is excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank magdiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carribean territory
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Sail away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Another option for sailing around the Bvi! Each charter company is unique in Their own right, give them a try
You won't be disappointed! A lot of their customers patronize my business and they all seem happy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank corsairofmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Time on Celavie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We just returned from a great charter on Celavie, a 44' FP Cat. The boat was in great condition and sailed well. We were two families with 4 boys and never felt cramped for the entire week. We visited Cooper, The Dogs, North Sound, Anegada, and Peter Island. If you do make the trip to Anegada take a cab to Loblolly Bay and plan on lunch at the Big Bamboo, it's worth the trip.

Provisioning was done through Riteway, all food was delivered, stowed, and was of good quality. We also rented SUP's and Kayaks through BVIYC. Check in and check out were easy and efficient. Thank You BVIYC for a great trip!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“6 days Sailing in March”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We have just returned from our sailing holiday on one of the BVI YC boats. My husband and I took a 31 ft Beneteau for 5 nights and sailed out to Norman, behind Peters Salt and Cooper, back into Cooper island beach club, Spanish Town, North Sound, Jost Van Dyke and back to Road Town. A great trip.

Check in was rather slow. We were told that we should arrive get our provisions, get the boat checked out and have a briefing at 10am. Briefing was 10:30 and we had still not had the check out. So much for heading out early as we had been promised on booking. Make sure you are not planning on sailing too far on day 1!


There were a number of problems with our boat, we took mooring bouys at most overnight stops. When we needed to anchor at the Baths we were unable to work the windless to lower the anchor. We have quite a bit of sailing experience between us and i have no idea when the anchor was last needed but it just did not work. We ended up motoring into Spanish town and taking a berth in the marina. After further examination we were still unable to sort the problem so called Anthony on the mobile who suggested we try all the things we had already tried (good to know we were not being stupid!). An engineer came out to us several hours later, a waste of a day really but he figured the windless system had been broken and replaces the parts needed. Too late for use to anchor at the baths on our trip - next time!

The check out at the end took a bit of time. We were leaving straight away on the CIBC boat back to cooper island for our last few days, so we needed to turn around in reasonable time. We were glad we left Jost at 6:30am to get back with more time than we thought we needed - as we needed it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaTwickenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BVI Yacht Charters also viewed

 
Road Town, Tortola
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to BVI Yacht Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing