We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay before and after sail charters”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hummingbird House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Road Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hummingbird House
Ranked #1 of 3 Road Town B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The place to stay before and after sail charters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

Yvonne couldn't have been more hospitable. Arranging food from the excellent deli in our room fridge for our late arrival. Looking after our luggage while we went sailing for a week and letting us relax and use all her facilities (pool, shower room, honesty bar etc.) when we arrived back at 9am. Even had our room ready by 11am. Breakfast was excellent. Location very convenient. The view was lovely and the wild life (cats, dogs, humming birds and other types of small birds, lizards, even a tiny snake) kept us amused for hours. (The snake was a rare visitor and probably brought in by one of the cats so do not be put off by this!)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    19
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
27
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
364 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Another success thanks to Tripadvisor reviewers.

Everything as shown on their web site - the rooms a bit "fussier" & " frilly" than I expected - think " doilies " but very spacious, very clean & secure.

Can see why it reviews so well although it's not really my sort of place - too many cats & ornaments. But, but really pleased we stayed . Only has 4 guest rooms but plenty of space around the pool & honesty bar. Great views from the terrace, lots of hummingbirds and a great breakfast.

Walking distance of the Sunsail base if yr luggage has wheels. Great sports club opposite offering good food, low prices & great service. Yvonne happy to store your luggage if not able to pick yr boat up until 6pm.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elestoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Mississippi
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Over the holidays we visited the BVI primarily to spend some time on beautiful Anegada. While in transfer we stayed on Tortola and decided for the 1st time to stay at Hummingbird. The location is excellent if you want to be based in Road Town as a lot of the area's attractions are within walking distance. The accommodations were very good and Yvonne was very hospitable and her breakfast was outstanding. There is a little restaurant right down the street that has excellent service and food and the pricing is very affordable.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marksmithTortola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We’ve stayed in Road Town many times in 20 years, and this was the best. The Hummingbird is wonderfully located about 7 stories up a hill, yet only a half-mile (an easy walk without luggage) from Moorings/Sunsail/Footloose. There are only 4 rooms, and ours (5 nights) was clean and comfortable. The pool and patio were also clean, and surrounded by beautiful flowering trees and many birds, and good Wifi. The honor bar was well stocked, and the warm breakfast was very good. Because of the hill and the breeze, we never even considered the A/C. Yvonne, the owner/hostess, treated us very nicely.

Previous notes described problems we found unimportant. There are several cats and a few dogs there, and they sleep all the time, only in the public areas, and really ignore the guests. Unless you are severely allergic or really HATE animals, this isn’t an issue. The notes about how to flush the toilets is important . . . they function differently in the Caribbean than in the states.

Having lived on a sailboat throughout the Caribbean for six years makes us more objective. Staying at the Hummingbird is like staying with an aunt or a sister at her upper middle-class home in the Caribbean, and you are treated exactly like that. The five well-deserved circles on TripAdvisor are not the same as “5 stars”. And we’ll go back to Yvonne’s anytime.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We arrived late at night after a LONG journey from Manchester UK - hungry and thirsty. No food, but Yvonne offers a well stocked "honesty bar" by her pool - it was a lifesaver!
Nice room with en-suite, both immaculately clean and everything worked properly. Free WiFi worked well.
The cooked breakfast was good and served promptly. We paid $150 + tax per night, good value for Tortola, but this place has just 4 rooms so it can be difficult to get in.
Yvonne has some cats around the place but we didn't find them intrusive. (No chance of rodents here).
Very hospitable and well appointed sports club just below the house which does really good bar food and there's a fab French Deli 5 minutes away for lunch etc.
Don't expect executive standards, this is a guest house, but we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Good location for Sunsail / Moorings marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ludomcgurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed here the night before our bareboat charter. Yvonne has a charming place with many guest room options. Our room was wonderfully appointed and the bed was comfortable. Beautiful grounds, great views and a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shark2th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

This is a lovely inn where you can sit and watch the clouds over the water and sip a glass of wine next to the tiny pool. If you are animal lovers such as us, you will be in heaven with the entourage of rescued cats and dogs, and lovely birds up in the trees. You will need to either rent a car or hire a taxi to get most anywhere on the island. LARGE CAVEAT: . . . there is grumpiness here, and if you don't like being told to flush the toilet and mind your manners perhaps you should book elsewhere. The nights are loud with roosters and barking dogs and it is difficult to keep the mosquitos off while you sleep.

Room Tip: If you are going to use AC, ask for the smallest room possible. If not, ask for the large room next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aichilik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
0.0 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#7 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Village Cay BVI Hotel
Village Cay BVI Hotel
#11 of 13 in Road Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Tamarind Club
The Tamarind Club
#12 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hummingbird House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird House

Property: Hummingbird House
Address: Road Town, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Road Town
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hummingbird House Hotel Road Town
Hummingbird House Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing